Ratings based on 253 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ormond Beach, FL

Room smelled stuffy

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location. Cost.
Cons: rooms and hallway should be deodorized.
The room had not been thoroughly cleaned. Items from recent guests still under bed skirt. Hallway and room smelled a bit stuffy. Probably due to humidity, but they should use some deodorizer. Also side door was not secured for guests only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

nice place

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: location to my activities
difficult to find at first, but nice place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Julie , Hotel Management
I'm so glad you enjoyed your recent stay here with us at Howard Johnson. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prairieville, LA

Nice hotel in the middle of the action.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Clean
Hotel was clean. Not enough washcloths, but quickly taken care of by the friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bike week

Posted Mar 15, 2017
I personally like destination Daytona. Great parking, alot of vendors. only negative everything seems to close up a bit early
4 out of 5
by Kimberlee

Rolex 24 2017 week getaway

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Staff is amazing . We had a room issue , my husband went to desk and they moved us asap . Would have giving it a 5 this time but we had a big room issue where we had to move all of our stuff to another room . We do stay here all the time and never a problem till this trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice place, walk to dinner, small rooms

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, quiet. Walk to dinner.
Cons: Provide chair in room. Provide second trash can.
Location: 13 miles from Daytona International Speedway.
Nice place, good looking room. One great strength was the ability to walk to get dinner. Also, plenty of cable channels to watch the race on. Reasonably close (about 13 miles) to Daytona International Speedway. OK continental breakfast with good hours. Quiet despite proximity to I-95. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Large bathroom. Room small so no space for chairs (would really like to have a chair in the room). Only one trash can (slightly inconvenient). Needs more convenient electrical outlets.
2 out of 5
by Evan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
Clean , updated , friendly staff
5 out of 5
by Marty

A very nice and clean hotel with great service

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
The person at the front desk was awesome. Not only was her customer service skills were great but she went out of her way to make my stay a very pleasant one. Continental breakfast was suppose to start at 7am but when she knew I had to leave before 7, she set up the breakfast herself for me and my family so we could before our departure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great Staff members at hotel, not at Expedia

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: Location, Staff, and the room itself
Cons: The continental breakfast
When I received confirmation of the booking, the dates were wrong. I immediately called the hotel. A very friendly hotel representative told me that because the reservation was from Expedia, there really was nothing she could do. BUT, she walked me through how to contact Expedia to get the issue resolved. I called Expedia who were their usual unhelpful selves. They had no idea why the dates did not match what I had chosen and then told me the reservations were non refundable because of the hotel's policies. When I complained more forcefully, the Expedia representative agreed to call the hotel and see what she could do. After waiting on hold for SEVERAL minutes, the Expedia rep came back and told me that they were able to get the dates changed but I would have to pay an additional fee to the hotel. Later that evening when I arrived at the hotel, I met the young lady that I had spoken to and she was appalled. There was NO ADDITIONAL FEE charged by the Hotel. Whatever fee I was charged was imposed by Expedia, not them. The young lady could no have been more understanding and more professional in trying to handle the situation. Maybe Expedia could learn from them