Ratings based on 1,691 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Technically had an ocean view...

Posted Nov 3, 2015
That ocean view was from the balcony covered in the running condensation from the room's AC unit and the dripping condensation from the room above's AC unit. Not a nice place to hang out. The cramped bathroom was tolerable, and the room was clean, if somewhat shabby. Checking in and out was painless and quick. The room's coffee pot was barely functional, and everything felt very much in need of updating. A broken elevator caused long walking to the room, but overall, it wasn't horrible. The pool/hot tub area was a standout, and who wouldn't rather spend time there anyway?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Refund Given

Posted Nov 2, 2015
We were fortunate that the staff at La Playa were kind enough to give us a refund. This hotel is extremely dated but they are currently undergoing much needed renovation. I think with 6-9 months of extensive work, La Playa will be a great family resort.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Pleasant stay

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: The rates, the staff, and ease of shopping.
Cons: Appliances, paint, put some softner in the towels.
Location: There was a shopping center and restaurant across the street and down the street a couple of miles was Ocean Walk &l ots of tee-shirt and beach shops
This hotel is a little dated but it was clean. The staff were very nice and helpful. We booked an ocean view room which was nice but overlooked a parking lot. We could see a small portion of the beach but they upgraded us to an ocean front as soon as rooms became available and we spent 2 wonderful days watching the ocean from our balcony. Other than older appliances, really scratchy towels and some chipped paint, I saw nothing wrong for the price. The pool was very nice other than really cold (it's Oct.) and access to the beach was easy, All in all, a very pleasant stay. If you want luxury, this is not the place but for just relaxing it was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Close to the beach is the only good thing.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Well we first reserved an "ocean view" room that you could not even see the ocean from. It looked only at buildings and the street. The room smelled old and stale and not clean smelling at all. So we were able to move to an ocean front room that we were wanting in the first place. It was the same unclean feeling and smell. As soon as we turned the lights on a few roaches scattered from it. The longer we stayed the more roaches we saw crawling on the counters and walls and when they came to the bed that was it for me. We got out quick. They tried to charge us for that night that we didnt even stay but luckily we reserved through expedia so they refunded the money. Still just an awful experience and will not be going back.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DFW, Texas

Old, But Still Good

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: The kitchen facilities and the Towel Swans.
Cons: Well, the front door was hard to close - looked like the frame had warped a bit in the weather - and the back door's deadbolt was inoperable.
Location: Well, I'd be happy just sitting reading a book, but the Kennedy Space Center, the restaurants and the variety of architecture was cool.
This was my first vacation to any sort of "spot" and it was not a bad experience. I don't really have anything to compare to, but was pleased with the experience. Well, except that it was on the 8th floor and, having a fear of heights, stepping on to the balcony to see a terrific view had me terrified. I did like the towels shaped into a pair of swans on one of the beds to be a nice, pleasant touch. Made me feel like I was in a fancy place. I also liked the kitchen amenities; the fridge, stove, sink, pots and pans, plates and saucers and flatware. That was kinda cool. Overall, I enjoyed myself, until the motorcyclists showed up for Biketoberfest - the roaring crescendo was borderline painful to the ears. How those bikers retain their hearing is beyond me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from daytona beach

Hidden charges,

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Was told I could keep a trailer there that was untrue hidden charges for resort fees not told about
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

right on the beach but hotel needs upgrading

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Cons: hotel needs to be refurbished
would not stay there again. they need to re do the place.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

We knew what we were getting into.

Posted Oct 7, 2015
We are frequent visitors to the Daytona area and have stayed in many of the hotels on the beach. We booked this hotel despite the bad reviews because we were looking for something cheap this time. We had the sheets changed immediately because of the musty smell but overall the room was clean. The view was wonderful and very relaxing in our oceanview room. What was disappointing was that the only 2 electrical outlets in the room were so old that nothing would stay plugged in. The plug would simply fall out of the outlets. Our cell phones and lap tops could not be charged. The main elevator and ice machine was out of order. We were told by a staff member that the hotel was being sold. It was obvious the owner cares nothing about maintenance and is interested only in selling rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud and dingy

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Very loud guests next door to us and hotel staff did nothing about it. I feared for my car in the parking lot because other guests (and I mean several) didn't know how to park so my car had to be squeezed into spaces. This was NOT a good experience. Do not stay here. Pay the extra 20 a night for a decent hotel with decent people surrounding you.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Up state NY

Great ocean view and location

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Location and rates.
NIce pool and the access to beach is right there. Awesome beach and the view from the room was the best. Front desk lady was very friendly and helped us check in and out very easily.