Ratings based on 2,804 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Fl

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: The location, the staff, the room, the pool, and overall look of the hotel.
Cons: The store was being remodeled, there were areas that needed repair and painting, which maybe they were in the process of finishing.
Location: the hotel was located in a good area with restaurants close by, you are able to walk to the boardwalk, which is great place where you can see attracti
Wonderful experience, the room was very clean, and the hotel was located in a good area with restaurants close by, you are able to walk to the boardwalk, which is great place where you can see attractions, restaurants, stores, and fish at the pier.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

great location, fantastic staff.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Character hotel in a great location. The rooms are slightly dated but clean and comfortable. Love the staff, they really create a great vacation experience. Helia was a great manager and Robin has tons of personality at the Lobby bar. This is the only place I would stay in Daytona from now on, I highly recommend it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from addario

Not what I paid for!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I paid for a King suite with a living room. What I got was the smallest room on the whole floor, next to the stairwell! Very disappointed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Augustine

On the beach

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Location: On the beach! There for racing weekend at Daytona Speedway
Recovering from the hurricane. Very pleasant staff. Clean and inviting. Have booked another stay there in 3 weeks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

on the beach

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: pretty much everything
Cons: the ledge at the bottom of the sliding glass door (too easy to trip over) and in-house restaurants are over-priced !!!
Location: right on the beach and close enough to walk to Ocean Walk and the pier, touristy-type shops, and some restaurants.
excellent staff, comfortable and clean room. had one small issue and the staff took care of it immediately.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel in need of repair

Posted Jan 28, 2017
The hotel was in a good location, the rooms were somewhat updated and comfortable but hurricane Mathew caused damage to the hotel that has not yet been fixed, some cosmetic, some functional. The Veranda lounge to eat in an open air environment is closed. We were there during 2 tornado warnings and the staff didn't seem to have any knowledge of an emergency plan. It was probably one of the nicer places on the beach but Daytona just seemed very old and run down in general.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, FL

Under renovation

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff
Cons: Get rid of high resort fee
Location: Located on the beach near the convention center.
The Plaza has been one of my favorite hotels to stay when I go to Daytona. This visit was not as enjoyable as my past visits. I was in town for a conference and my wife came to stay the last night with me. We were charged a $20 fee for parking for the second vehicle. Now this is on top of the $30 a day resort fee after paying a premium price for the hotel per day. Asked about the resort fee, and you receive 24 access to the miniature gym (something almost every hotel in world offers for free) 2 free bottles of water ONCE, not per day, free WIFI that was slow and sluggish (couldn't even use it) and a one time $12 credit at the bar (even though you pay the $30 fee per day.) The front desk was as nice about it as possible and did extend a few more waters. However, I will be looking for other places to stay next time I head to Daytona. If you are OK with the high resort fee, the rooms are very spacious and have a mini bar and parking is free for the first vehicle. Staff is always super nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Fl

One of the best hotels in Daytona

Posted Jan 22, 2017
This hotel was right next to the beach, beautiful gateway for a couple or family, and they give you free water bottles plus twelve dollars to spend on anything you want. The only downside I would say would be the 20 dollars of resort fee they charge ! Too expensive but besides that an overall great hotel would definitely recommend 👌
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W.

Great customer service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
My family and I had a wonderful stay at the Plaza after having a bad experience at a nearby hotel. Kirstie was exceptionally helpful in not only quickly getting me a room but also in accommodating an ocean view room. I really appreciate the empathy extended towards me when learning of my bad experience at a nearby hotel. I will definitely stay at Plaza upon my return to visit my daughter while there in college.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Beach front older hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Nice hotel, they are still updating. The room was ocean view but really couldn't keep the door open because of traffic noise. Overall a nice experience and would stay there again. I'd ask for oceanfront, not Oceanview.