Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Family Friendly! But quiet enough for Seniors

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Beachfront!!!!! Beachfront!!!! Beachfront!!!!!
Cons: Hot Breakfast buffet!!!!!
Location: Very convenient to stores, sites etc. We went parasailing!!! Daytona Beach Parasailing well worth time and money!!!! Very Very fun!!!
Very friendly staff! Clean room! Pools beautiful! Like the fact hoses to wash sand off your feet available! Would have liked hot breakfast buffet, but kitchenette was very usable and well furnished! We had breakfast in our room!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Nice, family friendly facility. On the beach and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Highly recommend the sun Viking

Posted Apr 22, 2017
The hotel is right on the ocean/Daytona beach- great price & loved having kitchen $aved a lot money on food Can't wait to go bk next yr!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby England

good clean hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: A very pleasant atmosphere at this hotel and close to the beach
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated but were kept clean so that's ok
Location: A good location with shopping and eating nearby
A good check in experience with friendly staff. The hotel room was very clean the best we've stayed at in Daytona. Good facilities and all very clean again. The bathroom was a little dated but spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa,Canada

Home Away From Home

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: This hotel has an activity coordinator. Bingo at 11.00 am is by far the most popular event where both young and old play together for prizes.
Location: The Daytona 500 track and museum are close by as well the Daytona Flea Market is great fun. Ponce Inlet has a working light house and marine rescue.
When your away in another country you often feel far from Home and usually are. What happens when things go wrong. You get the flu or your car breaks down, you don't have friends or family that can come right over like at home. This hotel has many staff that have worked for this hotel for years, and year after year I meet up with them again. There are many guests who spend months at this hotel each year to escape the Great White North and repeat customers who come to meet there friends each year from around the U.S and Canada. But what develops are friendships each and every visit and when you visit you are now among friends. This is the kind of hotel the Sun Viking is. Its a family owned business. Not a big corporation. Were your business matters and repeat customers are most welcome and rewarded with VIP rates. The hotel is clean and well maintained. There is always staff around cleaning, painting, planting and there for you if you need them. The outdoor pool and indoor pool are heated throughout the winter when most hotels turn off their heaters. The hot tub overlooking the ocean is a wonderful way to relax at the end of the day. The beach is always amazing with beautiful sunrises and hours of walking on a unique hard packed sand. This hotel has rooms with kitchens so you can still enjoy simple meals and get back to the fun in the sun. At the end of the day if your looking for a different experience you might want to try the Sun Viking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, right on the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The room was incredibly clean, every single member of the staff that we encountered was so friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. On top of all that, the food at the Viking Kafe was delicious and very reasonably priced. We didn't have the greatest weather for our stay in Daytona Beach, but there was plenty to keep us busy at the hotel. There were activities for the kids (the activity director is great!!), between that and the indoor pool we were happy even when it was raining. We didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pool and waterslide, but we will be back and hopefully next time we'll get a little more sun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south bend

Great family hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Made vacation easy. Perfect for kids and adults. Great hot tub. Great pool with slide. Perfect for my 8 and 9 year old boys. Amazing view in spacious suite. Kids activity director does a great job
5 out of 5
by Laura

Daytona hot tub resort

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed the weather in Feb. Also walked barefoot on the beach. Enjoyed the hot tub by ourselves. Quiet , clean, and great location.!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Incredible stay, in fact I am still here. While I acknowledge everyones right to their opinion. If you have a negative opinion of this place, where the heck were you staying. I am so glad i read the reviews and did not go off of photos alone. There are certainly much more upscale hotels to stay at in daytona beach. But the experience you get here is impressive. This is my first time coming to sun viking lodge, but I will be back. From the time we arrived the staff was amazing. I have been to plenty of hotels where you dont see an enployee beyond the front desk. People everywhere here cleaning, helping you out with whatever, and organizing activities for the kids. The rooms were more than adequate and very clean, again not all the bells and whistles i am sure you can find elsewhere but nothing that i missed. The view and beach access are amazing as are the pools and water slide for the kids. My kids took part in bingo, water balloon toss, and a scavenger hunt today all free by the way... awesome. Oh and did I mention the view, it is daytona beach after all. Pretty sure I mentioned it. Heck even the other guests are waving to us while we are out on tbe balcony, just something about the aura here. Ok the negatives, windows didn't open so I propped the door open to hear the ocean. Ssshhh don't tell. Also a ping pong table would be great, I love ping pong. So in conclusion fantastic time had by all and I love ping pong. Oh p.s. the pool broke my wifes phone because she took it for
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Hotek

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very clean but in need of updating. The rooms are dated, beds not very comfortable.