Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby England

good clean hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: A very pleasant atmosphere at this hotel and close to the beach
Cons: The bathrooms could be updated but were kept clean so that's ok
Location: A good location with shopping and eating nearby
A good check in experience with friendly staff. The hotel room was very clean the best we've stayed at in Daytona. Good facilities and all very clean again. The bathroom was a little dated but spotlessly clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa,Canada

Home Away From Home

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: This hotel has an activity coordinator. Bingo at 11.00 am is by far the most popular event where both young and old play together for prizes.
Location: The Daytona 500 track and museum are close by as well the Daytona Flea Market is great fun. Ponce Inlet has a working light house and marine rescue.
When your away in another country you often feel far from Home and usually are. What happens when things go wrong. You get the flu or your car breaks down, you don't have friends or family that can come right over like at home. This hotel has many staff that have worked for this hotel for years, and year after year I meet up with them again. There are many guests who spend months at this hotel each year to escape the Great White North and repeat customers who come to meet there friends each year from around the U.S and Canada. But what develops are friendships each and every visit and when you visit you are now among friends. This is the kind of hotel the Sun Viking is. Its a family owned business. Not a big corporation. Were your business matters and repeat customers are most welcome and rewarded with VIP rates. The hotel is clean and well maintained. There is always staff around cleaning, painting, planting and there for you if you need them. The outdoor pool and indoor pool are heated throughout the winter when most hotels turn off their heaters. The hot tub overlooking the ocean is a wonderful way to relax at the end of the day. The beach is always amazing with beautiful sunrises and hours of walking on a unique hard packed sand. This hotel has rooms with kitchens so you can still enjoy simple meals and get back to the fun in the sun. At the end of the day if your looking for a different experience you might want to try the Sun Viking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, right on the beach

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The room was incredibly clean, every single member of the staff that we encountered was so friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. On top of all that, the food at the Viking Kafe was delicious and very reasonably priced. We didn't have the greatest weather for our stay in Daytona Beach, but there was plenty to keep us busy at the hotel. There were activities for the kids (the activity director is great!!), between that and the indoor pool we were happy even when it was raining. We didn't get a chance to use the outdoor pool and waterslide, but we will be back and hopefully next time we'll get a little more sun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south bend

Great family hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Made vacation easy. Perfect for kids and adults. Great hot tub. Great pool with slide. Perfect for my 8 and 9 year old boys. Amazing view in spacious suite. Kids activity director does a great job
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Hotek

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very clean but in need of updating. The rooms are dated, beds not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New caney, Texas

Beautiful view and very quiet

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: I loved the beautiful view.
Cons: An inside or closed pool area would be amazing~!
Location: It is near little restaurants, beach side, and near other hotels.
I loved our hotel. The staff was super friendly and even gave us great restaurant recommendations. I loved this location. It was close to a lot of places, except the boardwalk (which does not have much going on anyways). I loved the peaceful vibe. The computers available were very helpful. I originally had rented a different room but it turned out to be facing another hotel. It was my mistake. The welcoming staff let me know they had an upgrade for $15 a day. I took it and it was way worth it! We had a kitchen, great room, and beautiful view. There is an outside pool and a Jacuzzi. Would have liked an inside pool as well since the weather got chilly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old and dirty

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
this hotel was very outdated and needs a a lot of work the kitchen was not very nice I would not cook anything in it I should have looked for another hotel to stay in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Cons: Room décor a bit outdated.
Location: Close to restaurants and grocery store.
Nice little place. Comfortable room with everything we needed. Even a little Christmas tree. Kids loved the outdoor pool with water slide. There was even pool games for candy! Right on the beautiful beach. Staff were friendly. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub,water slide

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Indoor and outdoor pool, hot tub and water slide were great. Hotel is Beach Front where you can also drive on the beach. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Real nice room

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
It was very nice had 3 granddaughters 6-8-10 had a blast