Ratings based on 2,145 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valdese, NC

Oceanfront, super cushy!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
We had such a wonderful stay at The Shores! We loved the fire pits, s'mores, clean pool, super spa staff, delicious grouper sandwich and chicken salad wrap poolside, and a lovely stretch of beach! What fun! A definite repeat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to provide you with an amazing experience so that your stay was unforgettable! We are pleased that you enjoyed our outdoor pool area and delicious menu options we serve. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Shores Resort & Spa again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Upscale resort but fell short of expectations

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Our first time staying here, may give them another try. MAYBE. Elevator for self parking was broke-all week! 10th floor ice machine was broke, had to get ice from another floor. And had we known that the hot tub was broke, we would not have booked at this time. Staff was friendly and room was nice and quiet. May stay again because of the room but just not what we expected out of this resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We regret that your stay was not as you had anticipated. We apologize for any disappointments you had and will have our team address your comments about the elevator in our parking area and ice machine. We are pleased to say our whirl pool is now open and hope to have the chance to welcome you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable full service resort

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We stayed here for two nights in April. Check-in was not smooth but everything else was. S'mores kit was a nice touch and breakfast as Azure was delicious. Complementary water bottles daily were also a nice touch. Fire pits were lit each evening poolside. The only negative would be the total lack of chairs and umbrellas on the beach. You had to rent them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are delighted to have you stay at The Shores Resort & Spa. We’re pleased that you enjoyed the many special amenities we provide along with our delicious breakfast options we service. Your feedback about your check in experience will be look into by our team. We look forward to seeing you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view from room was great since I paid for it

Posted Apr 12, 2017
They don't clean and don't provide what we need. Only good thing about this hotel is the view. Customer service is horrible. I checked in and opened my fridge in the room and stinky old food from previous customer wading there still. Asked front desk to take care if it but it took them 3 days to clean the mess. Room never gets clean and I had to call front desk everyday for them to re-do it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are truly disappointed to learn the challenges you faced with our housekeeping and we apologize for your experience. We want your time here to be perfect from the moment you arrive and we will address your review with our team to make improvements. Thank you for sharing your valuable review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Incredibly disappointing!

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Terrible customer service from the moment we checked in. Staff attitudes are awful, they act like they're doing you a favor by just being there. No appreciation for your business or repeat business. Management is clueless. Will never go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is truly disheartening to read that your stay at our resort was not positive and we apologize for your experience. We never want our guests to leave disappointed and we’ll continue to work with our team to make improvements in the service we provide. Thank you for sharing your valuable review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Terrible service, overpriced.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Once again, terrible service, incompetent management, customer service was a joke. Unfortunately it has been this way for years, this was my last attempt, they don't take customer feedback seriously because nothing ever changes for the better. What a shame.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We regret that your experience at our resort was not the pleasurable stay we want you to enjoy. We take our guests experience very seriously and will address your review with our entire team to improve the service we provide. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in The US

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The hotel ia worst that staying in a motel on the highway. The service to the rooms are awful the cleanliness is bad. The maintence is zero
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Mold in bathroom. Bathroom sink leaked was not river view like told it was a parking lot and construction on the building next door that woke me up at 7 am every morning
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We regret if your stay was not as you had anticipated and apologize for any disappointments you had. We do our best to accommodate guest requests for an ocean side view when available. We’ll have our team address your feedback about your bathroom and hope to have the chance to welcome you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel is under renovations, no access to pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We value the time you have taken to share your review and offer our deepest apologies for any disappointments you had. We do regret if you did not know we are updating our pool area and will work with our team to better communicate this. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back once completed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Well, we've had better!! The hotel is nice, but they should not have rented this room to us, no heat and it was cold at night, plus the hallway was freezing no heated pool and we were wanting that very disappointed!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We truly regret any disappointments you had with your room and our pool and apologize for your experience. Please know our staff is always available should you need assistance and would have like to help you with the air temperature in your room. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again.