Ratings based on 2,102 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marco Island, FL

Nice hotel in many ways but would not stay again

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Outdoor amenities like awesome fire pits, perfect location on a safer part of A1A (compared to northern part where there are many more homeless people
Cons: Free parking, some free food even basics like fruit would be nice
Location: You can walk to things but you are not in the heart of action like the boardwalk or tourist stores. But it is also quieter than North a1a
This hotel is super nice if you want to sit at the ocean on their expansive, gorgeous outdoor deck which comes complete with three amazing fire pits with ample room for many. The down sides are that they charge $14 for parking your own car and not using valet, there is no free food or complementary anything other than the free water in the lobby. We also were not crazy about the shower only being a stand up shower and the sink being one of those plate kind of sinks where water can easily splash out. Also, the slider going to the balcony (we had room with balcony on beach) needed serious grease as it was tough to open and close. All in all I don't think you get a lot for your money...next time I would definitely pick a Hampton Inn or Holiday Express where you don't have to pay for parking and food is included in the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Daytona

Beware hidden fees

Posted Dec 13, 2017
Whilst the price may look attractive on Expedia, especially with any members discount, beware all the costs surrounding your stay which DO NOT show up in your Expedia total!!! $17 per day parking! Over $35 per day hotel fee! Restaurant is expensive and not included! It all quickly adds up to being almost double what you wanted to spend! Also, double check the room descriptions. A room with a balcony has a picture of a lovely sea view, but unless you have specifically chosen that you'll be in for a lovely view of the car park! Otherwise, the staff were friendly and it is right on the beach so if that's what you're after it could be just for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While we’re happy you appreciated our beach front location and friendly service we enjoy providing, we do regret if you were not made aware of some of our parking and resort fees. We’ll look into ways to better communicate this to our guests. Thank you and we hope that you will visit with us again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Very close to beach

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Close to beach but it wasn't a good day. Rainy and windly
Cons: The cost to park and the cost of dinning is out of our price range.t
Location: Didn't find a very good restaurant to have dinner. It was too rainy and windy to do anything.
Found it overall very pricey as if you had a rental car the cost to park each day was $17 or use the valet service fro $22. Dining was also out of our price range.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. While we are pleased you appreciated our convenient beachfront location, we do regret if the weather was not cooperating and that you didn’t find our parking and restaurant to be of good value. We hope to have the chance to greet you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Terrific value

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: Old Florida feel, exceptionally maintained
Elegant building, pool and deck superb. Staff very friendly,eager to help with directions, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
How wonderful to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the warm welcoming service by our staff and elegance of our resort. Thank you for sharing your review of The Shores Resort & Spa. We look forward to your next visit with us and hope it is soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disappointing Stay at a Quality Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Great location, gorgeous lobby, and overall comfortable facilities
Cons: The staff could be trained to follow up on guest requests, such as a phone call to the room to make sure problems are resolved.
Location: Right on the beach, with easy access to nearby restaurants and miniature golf.
The hotel itself has a beautiful lobby and overall excellent facilities. But we had several issues with our room which were not resolved during our 3-day stay. These included a non-working refrigerator, clothes drawers which were jammed shut and unusable, and a slow draining shower. Although we reported these issues, only one was resolved during our stay. When paying top dollar for a high quality hotel, I expect more. Not having a refrigerator to store our food (and save some money) was the most disappointing. Although we spoke in person to at least 3 different front desk staff, not one asked what they could do to make things better, and no one followed up to make sure we were comfortable or that the problems were resolved. I left feeling very disappointed with my stay and would not choose to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We want your stay to be perfect and regret that we missed the opportunity to assist you. Our management team will address this with our staff. We are pleased to announce we will be updating our guestrooms in the spring and hope you will visit with us once completed to enjoy our new refreshed look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Rooms with a view

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Proximity to the beach, clean spacious rooms with balconies, nice pool area and hot tub, live music at the tiki bar, and the fire pits.
Cons: Bed was sagging, some lights did not work, bathroom ceiling needed work, need real mugs for coffee in the room.
Location: Location is great for those wanting to get away from traffic and crowds. Drive up the beach and there are so many restaurants and fun things to do.
We've stayed at The Shores off and on for many years, and have seen a few changes that make us feel that we may have to shop around a little more for our next trip. The Shores is a beautiful place, with nice big rooms with good views and balconies. This trip we noticed the bed was sagging in the middle, the ceiling in the bathroom was looking cracked and old, some of the lights didn't work, and the remote probably needed new batteries. Also, although very clean, the only blanket available was ready for retirement. I would have loved to have a real mug for my morning coffee instead of the sealed paper/waxed cups. That is nitpicking, but it's part of the enjoyment to take a steaming mug out to the balcony in the morning. These issues are small, yes, but when we pay upscale pricing for a room, we do expect a little more. The self parking is convenient, but pricey too. The free smores packet is a nice touch, and we always enjoy that. One of the elevators was acting up- would not go to the lobby despite several tries, and was looking a bit shabby with a floppy loose panel- kind of scary for those of us with elevator-phobia. Overall, we consider staying here a special occasion, and just wish they had been as top notch as they had been in the past.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
While it was great to have you visit with us and to read you enjoyed our location and amenities we provide, we do regret if you were not impressed with your guestroom. We are planning to remodel our guestrooms starting next April and hope you’ll visit once completed to enjoy our new refreshed look.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Charlotte, FL

Relax and Enjoy....

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: From the bed to the linens, the shower head to the décor, everything is great!
Cons: If I had to make a suggestion it would be to put taller commodes is as the current ones are way too low to the ground!
We have chosen to stay at The Shores many times and each time we stay, we love it! From the bed to the linens, the shower head to the décor, everything is great! Choose The Shores and you will enjoy it as well as we have.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your loyalty. There is no better compliment than getting to welcome back familiar faces time and time again. We are happy to hear you enjoy the comfort and luxury we provide and are looking forward to your next visit with us at The Shores Resort & Spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

On beach - great place

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Staff was nice and friendly. They assisted us when necessary with no effort.
Location: Daytona Beach!!
This hotel was a last minute choice as we arrived late. Awesome view although we were only on the 2nd floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review of The Shores Resort & Spa. We’re glad you found our staff to be friendly and appreciate our beautiful beach front location. We can't wait to share your feedback with our staff and look forward to being your hotel of choice when in our area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Decent hotel on the beach.

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff, the pool, the closeness to the beach.
Cons: Laundry type things. Parking.
Location: There are lots of things to do nearby, as well as places to eat.
We loved that the hotel was right on the beach, that's part of the reason we booked it, as well as how good the reviews were on it. When we first got there, we thought man this place is beautiful, then they told us how we had to pay for parking. We chose the valet, as there wasn't a huge difference. When we booked, it said we had a room with a view, well the view part meant river view, not ocean view. The room was decently clean, but there was some things about it that set me back, like not having a fitted sheet. The mattress had a regular sheet put on it versus a fitted sheet. The food and drinks there were expensive, as to be expected at a hotel. We loved getting the s'mores pack and the fire pits were very nice. The pool was very nice but we had no pool towels, which would have been okay if we even had them in our room. Which we did not. They took our towels that were hanging up and didn't give us anymore. So we only had 1 towel. The staff were very pleasant at the hotel though! All of them!!! That was one of the best parts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. Although we are happy you appreciated our friendly staff and amenities we provide, we do regret any inconvenience you had with our linens. We will address this with our housekeeping team. We look forward to your next stay with us at The Shores Resort & Spa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

great staff

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: fast elevators, lounge area,layout and staff
Cons: give more notice on parking and entertainment extras.
Location: location nice easy to get ever where but take maps
Nice place with very friendly staff and very helpful. Hotel clean with good lounge and lounge food. Outside by ocean very nice with great fire pits. We were ther 8 nights and enjoyed it for the most. Weekly rate was comparable to other hotels but was not expecting the valet and entertainment task extra 350.00 (that hurt,read fine print) Our room was not cleaned one day and glasses and coffee were never replaced and towels only every second day(that was fine with us). Was kind of disappointed with restaurant gave it 5 out of 10
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Although we are pleased that you appreciated our friendly service and picturesque views, we do regret if you were not made aware of our resort and parking fees. We’ll work with our team to better communicate this with our guests. Thank you for sharing your impressions of our resort.