Ratings based on 2,126 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel is under renovations, no access to pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Butler, IN

Nice, but EXPENSIVE

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The room was good.
Cons: Have coffee FREE. Fix parking lot elevator. Don't charge a resort fee when pool is out of order. Charge the same for a parking lot space.
Location: We went for bike week. Plenty to do. Need to drive somewhere to eat as the restaurant in the hotel is really expensive.
I splurged and decided to stay here for bike week for a win/win with my wife. They closed the pool and couldn't use (wife not happy). Elevators did not work at parking lot across road. Still was charged $15/day resort fee. They charged double for my trailer that didn't take any more space than a car in lot. With truck and cargo trailer it was $45/day. After 5 days, a cool $320 with tax just in resort and parking fees. I expected hot coffee in the lounge in the morning and found out it cost $4.50!! Breakfast around $15/person. We went elsewhere. I guess I expected more for what if costs. It was quiet and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by h, Hotel Management
We deeply regret we missed a number of opportunities to impress you during your visit. We wish that we could’ve provided you with a better experience and will address your review with our team. It’s our hope you'll give our resort another try so that we may provide you with a more satisfying stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Only complaint is that it was 5 pm before I could check in. I bought one of the higher priced rooms and they were very slow to get it ready.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We truly regret any delays you experienced when checking in. It is important to us that our guests be able to relax when they arrive and we will address your feedback with our team to make improvements. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again and thank you for sharing your review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
It was awful not accommodating at all I would never go back or recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is disappointing to read your stay was not positive and we apologize for your experience. Our management team will look into your review and address this with our entire staff so that we can continue to improve the service we provide. We hope that you will reconsider and visit with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cabana Room on the Beach

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: I liked the beach front and location away from downtown Daytona.
Cons: Staff were responsive but not very friendly. With added fees of daily resort fee and daily parking fee, they should offer free coffee for guests.
Great room, off season so pool work was being done in front of it. Otherwise, lovely view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Although we’re pleased you enjoyed our beach front location, we do regret if anything we amiss during your time here. Your feedback about our staff and amenities we provide have been shared with our management team so that we can pinpoint areas we can improve upon. We hope to welcome you back again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Was not happy with the surprise charges once we got to the hotel....dirty drapes....pool was not open...old patio furniture on our balcony...elevator was out of order for the over the road bridge....
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Hearing that you were not completely impressed with your stay is disappointing and we apologize for any miscommunication you received about our price. We also regret any disappointment you had with your room and we will have our team address this right away. It is our wish to have you visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was right on the beach which you can drive o

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Hotel was ritzy. The sand was perfect. The hot tub was nice but a little hot especially for Florida.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re delighted to have had your stay with us and to learn how much you enjoyed the luxury of our hotel and beauty of our beach! Your feedback about the water temperature in our Jacuzzi will be looked into by our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Shores Resort & Spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Excellent hotel and staff. Fantastic experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We love reading that you had a great time here and enjoyed our welcoming staff and ambiance of our hotel! Thank you for your positive review of your time here at The Shores Resort & Spa. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and provide you with another pleasurable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great views hear the waves crashing in room

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Daytona was Amazing the resort had nothing less than great views and great customer service
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Nothing like relaxing to beautiful views and listening to the waves coming in! We’re thrilled you enjoyed this along with our warm welcoming service we love to provide. Thank you for your wonderful review of The Shores Resort & Spa. It’ll be a pleasure to welcome you back again and we hope it is soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Local

Nice Hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Valet parking - great outdoor environment - fire pits - cabanas for rent (expensive) - pool and hot tub. Rooms nice,
Cons: Service - Doors slamming - the doors weigh a ton - Landscaping has been very neglected.
Location: Right on the beach on Daytona Beach South Shores. Not alot to do close by. A quick drive on A1A takes you to restaurants/putt putt golf.
Even though this hotel is very nice offering hot tub (it was so dirty,and surrounding landscaping dead), pool with poolside food service (took approx. 50 mins to get a salad and fish sandwich served to us, frozen drink delivered in a soupy state) - meal was "comped",fire pits are a wonderful bonus. Room very nice( view, more dead landscaping)- cabinet door fell off and onto my husbands foot - he was wearing flip flops - front desk asked if it was a cabinet draw or dresser door, no concern about the foot which was cut and bleeding! Doors from other rooms SLAMMING ALL NIGHT and early morning and fridge HUMMED all night long in the room. On departure management addressed our concerns - there apparently were other guests complaining with their stay. We were offered a free night with ocean view. Plan to give this hotel another try since new management has recently just taken over. There was a wine and beer and food tasting for $39.99 each - we were NOT told this did NOT include the food advertised - had to spend an additional $20 on food tickets. There was not enough seating,Thankfully we had been offered $10 off because of the poolside lunch disaster BUT it was still way over priced. Would not recommend this event to anyone.