Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't tell us about hurricane Matthew damage

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness, balcony overlooking ocean
Picked this place because of outdoor pool and exercise room, neither were in working order. Pool was closed due to damage from hurricane and work-out room had been flooded and was closed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hotel comfortable and relatively clean.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Pool was not repaired in time for my visit.
It was a shame the pool was not available due to the recent hurricane.
4 out of 5
by sebastien

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Junie from Orlando

NON SMOKERS BEWARE!!!!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
BEWARE, NON-SMOKERS PLEASE READ!! It should be mentioned and highlighted that SMOKING is ALLOWED everywhere in this building. I didn't find out until I had already booked and paid for the room. I also hold hotels.com somewhat responsible for this. Once you book the room, your confirmation shows up as a smoking room. I called the hotel to request a non-smoking room only to be told that there are none. I would never have booked this hotel had I known. There also seemed to be some shady activity going on. When I mentioned it to one of the front desk employees, she basically told to mind my own business. In this day and age, I adhere to the motto from law enforcement: "See something, say something". I guess she's didn't care or was involved. The hotel is directly on the beach which is nice. I will never stay at The Tropic Sun hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost Perfect

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great view of the ocean and absolutely appreciated the cleanliness of the facility. Everything we needed was included in the condo. The staff and other guests we encountered were all cordial and helpful. The stay was generally pleasant and uneventful until we returned to the facility on the third night and our lobby entry code would not work. We received no notification that it was being changed. This put us in an inconvenient and embarrassing situation as we had three small children in our two family party. Guests should not be placed in such an awkward position.
4 out of 5
by Stephanie from Graham, NC

Nice stay

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, the hotel and staff are nice. The room size is adequate. The bed and sleeper sofa are comfortable. The kitchen is nice, well stocked, and roomy. The outdoor pool and surrounding areas are clean and maintained. Check in and check out were quick. The location is great- close to shopping. Beach is beautiful. Minor complaints: the elevator didn't work on one occasion. We stepped in, the door closed, pushed the floor level, and nothing. The air conditioner stopped working for several hours. We believe it was caused by the sensor, although the doors were closed. The door and walls are thin. We could hear people talking and walking in the hallway, above us, and next to us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 of us on the beach at Daytona! Fun!!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Real nice place and the staff could not have made our stay any nicer.
4 out of 5
by bob

3 day getaway

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
kitchen wasn't very clean,the bed was not very comforitable and only had two pillows that were terrible.we went and bought some and left them for the next guest.But we still had a nice time!
5 out of 5
by michael from West Valley Ut

Affordable Beach Front Room

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
I paid less than $100 a night and got a balcony suite facing the ocean!! The beach was busy but not crowded. Could rent a two chairs and an umbrella on the beach for $30. The kitchen was fully equipped and nice. I can't believe we got such a great room for the price. Beware this is more condo than hotel so no daily cleaning. We got in late and check in was strange and had to go down the following morning to finalize check in. Not many restaurants near by but a few good ones within .5 mile.
4 out of 5
by Cindy from Acworth, GA

Quick visit to see my son @ ERAU

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay! It was very clean & updated. My only complaint was the hot water ran out before I could get half washed.