Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent hotel right on the beach.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: nice views of the ocean from balcony
Cons: update appliances and clean the whole place better, update the dirty carpets in hallway.
Location: small restaurant in lobby. decent amount of shops nearby to buy the essentials.
stayed previously at a residence inn not too far from this hotel in Daytona beach. that hotel was booked so I thought I would try this one based on amenities and location and reviews. Not too good. first I was told at check inn that I would need to pay an additional $90 for an upgrade due to the room I booked did not have a full kitchen. Not really a big deal. I paid. But the upgraded room was very cramped, the appliances looked very dated and had a very noisy ac system. the stove was not cleaned and when it was turned on smelled of whatever was left on their and burning and smoking.On my last day here a giant cockroach was on the bathroom floor. Never saw that before in a hotel.. And I mean giant. not the small ones. So there must have been a lot more in the hotel elsewhere. Very disgusting. Would never stay here again. Much better hotels nearby. Do not waste your time and money here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Great time on the beach. Hotel was oceanfront with easy parking. Near the pier but away from the hustle and bustle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leawood, Kansas

On the Beach

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Clean, affordable and great location
Cons: Better bath towels!
Location: Its all about the beach which is right there!
Staff could not be more accommodating and pleasing! Place is immaculate. Been going there since the late 80"s
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska

Beautiful view and great staff

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Great staff, very clean facility, one of a handful of indoor pools with beach views. Building is obviously old, but everything is clean and is fresh smelling. Towels available for Pool and beach. Our room had a small fridge and microwave, peering into others they had kitchenettes. Look into that next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Florida

Excellent value, great stay!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: This a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, quiet, comfortable beds, right on the beach. Our rooms even had small kitchens.
Cons: We were pleased with our visit. Would like to come more often.
Location: Good central location right on the beach. Shopping and restaurants nearby, close to International airport and the international speedway.
We reserved two beachfront rooms for Monday: friends coming from England. At last minute, we decided to go on a Sunday. We arrived early, and Gwen placed us both Sunday and Monday in the same room and a great room for our friends on Monday, too. Our room included a small kitchen with stove, fridge, and microwave. The room was clean and looked recently renovated, had two comfortable queen beds, nice bath with tub/shower. Balcony with great ocean view. Phone with free local calls. Hotel has an out-door and a heated in-door pool; both were clean. Smiles and ready assistance from all the staff. We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel restaurant. Friendly service and very good food at reasonable prices. Good central location with plenty of free parking. We had a good time. Our English friends were as pleased as we were with the entire visit. We highly recommend the Tropical Winds Beachfront Hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colo Springs

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Location was good. The interior and exterior needs an update.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The hotel staff was friendly and informative and the room was very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
The ocean was a little chilly but my kids and I still loved it. Wasn't in season so we pretty much had the entire beach to ourselves. Was disappointed in the boardwalk. Very few rides and those were expensive. The arcades are kind of outdated and it just felt like things have been let go. There is an area near the pier with restrooms and a fountain and benches to sit. A very nice place but it has become an area for the homeless and not sure who is responsible for taking care of the area but it appears the restrooms are rarely cleaned and definitely not kept up which is sad because this is a really nice area.