Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Jurassic Coast

Location! Location!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Just outside city centre but close to museums & other attractions. Ooud Pip area nice cosmopolitan atmosphere.
Hotel is very well run - staff very efficient, friendly & helpful. Rooms a little quirky but bed was very comfy & shower first class. Location is really good, 10 min walk to museums and list of reasonably priced cafes & restaurants nearby. Away from the hurly burly of the city centre but a nice walk into it when required. Xpress bus 197 from Schipol to Museumplein very regular and just 5 euros each way. Easy 10 min walk from bus stop to hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel, watch out for check in times!

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: general artistic look, extra services- taxis ordering, free drinks on arrival, bike hire, well mannered staff.
Cons: Just needs a freshen up, sort out the check in debacle.
Location: less touristy, awesome cafes, restaurants, bars, close to markets, museums, coffee shops.
Nice high end hotel in the De pijp area in a less tourist area. Arrived on a very wet Amsterdam day, all the party was soaked, got there at check in time stated, however was told that the rooms weren't ready, 1.5 hours later sitting in wet clothes we complained and got a upgraded room, which was helpful. hotel was a dark, tables scratched in rooms, electrics blew in the morning. I highly recommend breakfast. staff warm and welcoming, cant fault reception staff overall very good, but I have stopped in better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Noortje, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Braker, Thank you for sharing your experience at Sir Albert via this review. Unfortunately we were unable to provide you with your room in time for the guaranteed check in time, for which I would like to apologize. Additionally, please note that we have addressed the issues mentioned with regards to the state of the desk as well as the electrics, for which I would like to thank you in providing us with an opportunity to improve on. Thank you also for your kind words with regards to the staff and the breakfast. I hope you will provide us with a second chance should you return in the future, so we can offer your the SiRvice we are often praised for. Warm regards, Noortje de Vries General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely Boutique hotel in a charming, lively area

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The hotel has a quirky, stylish decor. The bedrooms continue this theme, with controllable lighting from remotes you can use from your bed.
Cons: Better sound insulation for the first floor rooms.
Location: Excellent market nearby, and lots of lively cafe's and bars. Easy walk to the Museums.
Lovely hotel that lives up to its reputation. I wanted to stay in a quiet area of Amsterdam away from the busy red light district and all its rowdy stag and hen parties. The hotel is in the De Pijp district, and is very relaxed and quiet. The hotel greets you with a glass of prosecco, a really nice touch. In the rooms, you will find a box of goodies and a mini-bar. But be warned ! Inside the box of goodies there is an information card, secreted away at the back of the box, stating that you will b charged for anything you use from the box ( at inflated hotel prices, of course ). I only have one real complaint about our stay. Our room was on the first floor, and at night, if you are early to bed, you will be treated to the DJ downstairs in the ground floor bar ( the sound penetrates through the floor, especially the bass ) This continues until 2am or more !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by Noortje, Hotel Management
Dear Graham, Thank you very much for taking the time to share you experience at Sir Albert’s private mansion online! Great to read that you liked the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed the prosecco at check in. I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback about the noise encountered from your room. I am very sorry for the inconvenience. This has been discussed with the necessary department. I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future! Warmest regards, Noortje de Vries Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nartey

Best break

Posted Aug 20, 2017
From when we arrived, the staff here were so amazing. They took our suitcases before we could even pass the threshold and offered us beverages. The rooms were so nice, we were happy to spend our entire break there. Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Noortje , Hotel Management
Dear B, Thank you very much for your kind words! Great to read that you were happy with the service. I hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Warmest regards, Noortje de Vries Hotel Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed. Not the service we expected.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
The first room we were given was a let down and after we complained that the room did not match the description we were moved from our second night to a room of the standard we expected. Overall not impressed with the fact the hotel didnt seem to care about the experience we were having. In this quality of hotel this was not acceptable, I dont expect to have to complain about the basics on vacation. (We stay in Amsterdam regularly in hotels in this price bracket and above).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Noortje , Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, I would like to thank you for your valuable feedback about your experience. It saddens me to read that we were not able to live up to your expectations. the last thing we would want is for our guests to feel like we do not care about them and I am very sorry you felt that way. I do hope that one day you would be willing to give us a second chance to right our wrongs. Warmest regards, Noortje de Vries Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NY

Love the Sir Albert!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The beds were so comfortable!
Cons: I wish the breakfast was a little bit less expensive because it was awesome. I would also like to have a room divider for privacy when showering.
Location: The location was perfect. All the museums and Vondel Park were close. There were lots of pubs and restaurants nearby. The Tram was close also.
Love the Sir Albert! It was located within walking distance to the Rijk, Van Gogh, and Heineken Museums. It was very comfortable and the staff was wonderful. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Noortje , Hotel Management
Dear Debra, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in the form of a review! Great to read that you slept well in your bed and that you were happy with the service and the location. I would also like to thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the breakfast price and the layout of your room. I hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future! Warmest regards, Noortje de Vries Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from amsterdam

Nice hotel in a quiet area

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Amazing experience! First time going for me and my girlfriend, staff at checkin was brilliant. Comfortable hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Noortje , Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in the form of a review! Very happy you both had fun in Amsterdam and that you are positive about the service! Hope to be able to welcome you back soon! Warmest regards, Noortje de Vries Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Great hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Me and my wife loved the hotel from the moment we stepped in . The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful , the only thing I didn't like about the room was that they joined two beds together to make us a king size bed and that was annoying and the toilet door is hard to open , other then that everything went fine and they have a great restaurant on the premises.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Museum Area Place

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Staff, Shower, Restaurant
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Museums are close and shopping, Cafes and bars. A little bit of the red light experience outside of the red light district.
Staff was courteous and helpful. They even assisted me in finding my lost phone. Room and shower were top-notch. Attached restaurant was 4 star quality
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Ok hotel in nice area

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Good location and nice, helpful staff. Discovered A.C. was broken in room so asked to move rooms. Halfway through day, TV and outlets stopped working, no big deal, but not good impression. Staff was good but had no recommendations or advice on restaurants, airport transportation or activities. If we returned to Paris we may try another place for a bit more cash.