Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Just what you need...clean.& comfortable

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: High ceiling, nicely decorated
Cons: More options for breakfast and meals
Location: Location is easy to move around
Very accessible location, the room is spacious and clean?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Oodles of character & super stylish

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Great kerb appeal - a very characterful hotel. Apparently there was supposed to be a welcome drink voucher which I didn't get...Couldn't be bothered to ask but nice touch. Room 203 is in eaves. Great character and smart use of space. Smaller room but didn't feel it. Bed was spacious and linens were soft. Loved the pillows. Toiletries smelled fab. Bathroom floor is heated. Bar is stylish for an evening drink. A notepad and pen in the room would have been helpful-minor I know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Beautiful Hotel, Beautifully Located

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: There was a slight problem with the table lamps in the room. They had to be plugged in manually to make them work. They should have had switches....
Location: See under experience.
I am glad I selected the College Hotel. It is an excellent facility in a beautifully renovated former girl's school from 1894. The room décor was quit lovely with the nice high ceilings of a school. My room was on the first floor (one up from street level) front of the building and looked out directly over a walled in small formal garden and a key area of Amsterdam with the convenient Tram #24 across the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They made sure the mini-bar was stocked properly. But for me the location was the best thing about the hotel. It was only a fifteen minute walk from the Concertgebouw and the Museumplein and it was located on the edge of the Pijp/Oud Zuid neighborhoods through which I did a three hour walking tour. These are very lively districts including the Albert Cuyp market street. I had one dinner and several good breakfasts in the Farinelli restaurant on the ground floor of the hotel. Overall a good pick.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Braunfels, texas

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: Nice, New (remodeled), staff
Location: Good location, near to museums and restaurants
It is a very nice small hotel, the rooms are all different and the staff is always helping. I'm not giving 5 stars on facilities and condition because when we arrive they had a problem with the A/C in the first floor and one of our rooms was in that floor, they told me that they could put a portable A/C in that room, the only thing was that I had to leave the door open while the A/C was working, so I told them that there was no way to stay in a room like that, without any more talking, they went downstairs and change my room to one on the second floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester uk

lovely friendly clean hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The staff were so friendly and accommodating. The first night when we got to the hotel we were shown a room that had a tiny window on the top of a very high wall, so you couldn't even see out. The room was also too small for three people so they promised us that they would give us another room for the rest of our stay. They upgraded us to a junior suite which was a lovely room with three large windows so that we had a view. The staff called for our connection bus to fetch us. They also gave us a voucher for welcome free drinks which we all enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The hotel itself was beautiful, just a shame it did not have a swimming pool. Great location too. Trams and buses outside the door.
5 out of 5
by Lindsay

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel in a location just outside the main hub of the city. Friendly attentive service and extremely comfortable and quiet rooms! We didn't eat in the restaurant but the food did look amazing and there was a great outdoors area for drinks! Would definitely recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Nikki

hotel with character and good service

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
Always a lovely hotel in a great location with very helpful staff and good service. The only thing that lets it down is the wifi and not having desks in every room. I was there for business and had to move rooms as there was no desk in my room, then the next room I was in had no wifi. Staff had to move me again the next day when I finally got a room with a desk and wifi working.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Nice hotel to Musuem, shops and restaurants

Posted Mar 12, 2017
They did free upgrade. Room was big enough. Free water, Coca Cola, tea, espresso, mineral water. Bathroom is large. Staff were excellent. They said the hotel hire college students as 50% of employees to support. They were all trained well, handsome and respectful.