Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, large room
Cons: Wifi was terrible
Location: Good location, lots of eating places.
Hotel location and outside was nice. Room was big, comfortable bed and great pillows. Wifi needs updating, struggled to get it to work, finally just gave up. Bathroom had some issues that needs fixing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls

Past it's prime

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: the Ground Round restaurant is very good
Cons: the rooms desperately need to be renovated.
Location: The location is good. It's right off the main drag and close to the interstate and close to SDSU.
This place is way past it's prime. There was an unpleasant odor in the hallway. Our room was musty and generally dirty. The heater/air conditioner was filthy and blowing dust into the room. The decor was straight out of the 70's. The toilet rocked when you sat on it and the bathroom cabinet was falling apart. We ate at the Ground Round and that was very good. We didn't go into the Splash Zone, but it looked like it would be fun for kids. We only got coffee in the morning at the free breakfast. The dining area was pretty small and crowded. The food looked like it would be fine. There was something going on in the convention area so we were told to go around that area. There are much better options in Brookings than the Days Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Cons: get some milk in the breakfast room
Older hotel, worked with me after a mess up on the reservation...out of milk in breakfast room....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Mediocre hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel wasn't filthy but not as clean as it should have been. The shower had thick streaks of water stain where it had not been washed down in some time and there was mold around the safety handles. The vent in the bathroom was covered with dirt. All that said, The carpet in the room looked new and the bed was comfortable with clean sheets. My sons sports team was also at the hotel while we were there. His room was only cleaned once in 4 nights and a female athlete said hers was never cleaned and they had to ask for clean bath towels/cloths daily. Not sure what was going on with that... The hotel had a large, very nice inside water park with a lazy river, swimming pool, hot tub and a concession with hot food. All in all, it was not a horrible stay but a small amount of work could have made a huge difference
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dart tournament

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Room seemed small and toilet seat needs to be replaced
2 out of 5
by Theron

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
I thought the rooms were over priced for the condition of the place.
4 out of 5
by Kelli

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Updated outside, dysfunctional inside

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Booked the hotel for a Christmas gathering with the hope of swimming in the water park. Before we checked in the water park was closed and would not reopen until the following Monday. No notice was posted online and no mention of the pool closing was started, only signs on the walls and counter. Pool was dark for most of the night, but people were seen in the pool later with the lights on though the pool was posted as being closed. Room was clean, but cracks in the wall and outdated bathroom looked terrible. No dairy products at the breakfast, no milk for cereal. Hallways were dark and cold, as well as unfinished with missing trim pieces. Strong choline smell in room from pool filled room. No housekeeping in the building until the following Monday.
3 out of 5
by Joseph

Clean hotel fuel station next door nice restaurant

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
I thought the bed was hard as a rock the filter on my heater was full so I cleaned it out. Looked like amateurs laid the floor tile in bathroom the pool seemed more for kids than adults. Service was great everyone was extremely friendly.