Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Close to Canmore.
Okay, looks like effort has been made to upgrade hotel. One night and close to Canmore at this price is good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016
It was only for a night. we stayed night here after staying at banff for the wholle day time period.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saskatoon

Posted Sep 29, 2016
It was a decent escape from the cold and the rain when we got snowed on in our tent. The room was clean, the bed were comfortable and it was nice and quiet. The staff were very helpful as well.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ad

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Very unhygienic linen ... staff nt at all friendly.. they behave as if they r doing a favour
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Excellent hospitality. Near to the High way. Eassy to find the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington state

right on the highway

Posted Sep 24, 2016
he said he had no rooms except in the front of the hotel - which faces a busy noisy highway. no air conditioning and noise prevented us from keeping windows open. very basic and dated room, only hot water provided in a side lobby - no coffee or tea. Noise from other travelers very apparent from our room. Hated it from the time we got there but we had prebooked the two nights and were stuck.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good proximity to Canmore, but a very dated hotel.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
No blow dryer, or coffee maker- just a snarky note telling you to wash your own dishes (yet there's no soap provided) Very clean room, but very dated, mattress was brutal. Toilet made noises like it was flushing itself every hour- so it's like sleeping with an infant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if there is no other alternative.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Very slow internet, no heater. Choose this only if there is no other alternative.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 9, 2016
We stayed here primarily because of the lower cost versus competitive hotels near Banff. For the money it was OK. However we did not have heat, had to ask for a hairdryer, had very few and poor quality TV channels, no burners on the stove top, and essentially no silverware in the kitchenette. There was a nice view of the mountains! You do get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What you expect

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Coldest beer I ever had from that fridge
Location: Yamnuska hike, Banff, Lake Louise, White Water Rafting, Grizzly Paw Brewery.
Staying at the Big Horn I read such awful reviews I was worried about staying their myself but having no other choice we had to find refuge here but I was pleasantly suprised. I don't know what people expect when staying in Dead Man Flats, this place is somewhere to stay when you can't afford the resorts in Banff. Don't come here expecting to get pampered. The room wasn't dirty, it was cleaned everyday. The fridge was cold. And the location is only half hour from Banff. Looking to save a buck? Big Horn Motel. Want a 5 star hotel? Keep looking.