Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you can, try to avoid this motel!!!

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We booked this motel for three days during our trip to Banff. It is not too far from the Banff national park, but that is where the terrible experience began. First it has a very out-dated facility, but if you keep it clean, that will be fine. The towels in the bathroom have strange dark spots, we found out that the motel clean their towels on site, not sending out for cleaning. Secondly, any vessels in the small corner called kitchen were full of dirty, not been cleaned at least over months. We decide not to use any of them. It was cold in the night, and there was no blanket at all, no heat at all. I have to use bed cover... Next day,we asked the front desk if we can cancel the other two days, and moved to other place. The manage refused, saying they could not sell the room to others (of course, who would come?). We can expedia, and they tried to communicate with the manager, still they refused to cancel the other two days left. Finally, expedia gave us some credit, and we moved to the hotel next door (almost the same price, but feel like in heaven) without getting any refund from the motel. That is the worse experience we had ever. Hope it won't happen to you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from

Hotel with no air conditioning...on a busy highway

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Yes the place was clean but that is about it. Terrible sleep because the room was too hot and had to sleep with the window open across from #1 highway. States it has satellite tv but only 5 channels worked. So not worth the money. I will never stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Adequate when no other rooms available

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Location: Banff is close by as well as Calgary. There is really nothing in Dead Man's Flats.
This was a last minute deal in an area where everything else was sold out. Not much to offer other than the room was clean. The beds were not very comfortable. It did have free wifi and a kitchenette if you were lucky enough to bring your own food but you have to do you own dishes or they charge you a fee. There is only a gas station next door to buy any food, otherwise you have to drive to a different town. It is not the worst place I have stayed so we were happy to get it, but we stayed at much nicer hotels on our trek through Canada at much lower prices than this room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Medicine Hat

Outdated, paper thin walls

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Not sure how they can justify charging $180 a night for a basic room that is in desperate need of repairs and updating. You can clearly hear the neighbours TV and full conversations. You can also hear all aspects of other activities (use your imagination) as though you were in the same room. I always thought this place was a dive when driving by on the highway, but now I know for sure. The only reason they are in business is due to their location. Room had weird DIY fixes and clearly hasn't seen an actual contractor in quite some time. Looked like the ceiling leaked at some point so they scraped off part of the popcorn ceiling and left it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel - 1 Star

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Noisy due to being next to Trans Canada Highway. Very Basic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the sayings

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The atmosphere of the hotel was that of a shady, dangerous downtown hotel in a big city somewhere. Sounds strange but no other way to describe it. The beds and pillows are uncomfortable and the bedspread, sheets and curtains were old and dingy . The room was not dirty but it was generally uncomfortable. The town and it's services left little to be desired.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for one night

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Room was in good condition the bed and furniture little bit old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff. Clean. Outdated. No air conditioning

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Slept well. Sheets, washroom clean. Staff friendly. Cheapest in area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
There is no A/c. They have only one table fan. its a 2 star hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weird place

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The room was ok. It was clean. The furniture look like 80's furniture and the room itself look like it was never renovated since the place open. To check out you juste have to drop the key into a box outside of the lobby. It is not reasurring since the have youre credit card number.