Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Hahaha not good the roon smelled bad and onow fridge .small room .the bathroom was really to small to shower and get dressed in
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

AWFUL

Posted Sep 5, 2017
A/C didn't work. Bugs everywhere. Staff was extremely rude. Wouldn't recommend to my worst enemy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manitoba, Canada

Old place with tiny uncomfortable rooms.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Everything mentioned lacking in above comments.
Location: Locale was Ok. Recommended restaurant,Silverado was overpriced buffet.Old West show not available on Sunday. Saw Mt Rushmore,Wow, Crazy horse,uh.
We checked in and had to pay before we even saw the room. Saw the room and disappointed immediately. Whole room was maybe 12' l x 8 ' w. There was no fridge or coffee maker and free wifi was unavailable in room. No discount given. Continental breakfast was very minimal. We had just come from a motel in Keystone that was older but had a room twice the size, had above amenities and was much better value. Only positive was friendly hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean. Trolley access to downtown wadgrea

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Trolley access was great. No microwave or frig. Clean. Staff was nice. Quick check in. Good parking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Old, old rooms

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Availability
Cons: Everything
We stayed at this motel because it was the only one available since the Sturgis crowd was in town. It is a very old motel with really small rooms. There are absolutely no amenities in the rooms and breakfast is also very limited. But the room was clean for the most part. The trolley is supposed to come to the motel and pick you up to take you into town but it never makes it to the motel before it fills up so don't count on it for transportation. There is really nothing to do at the motel so only plan on using it to sleep and take a shower. The internet does not work most of the time and when it does it is very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Helpful staff

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Some rooms could use updating but comfortable and clean.
Location: Great location from Lead and Deadwood with picturesque setting and wildlife surrounding the inn. Loved that there was a foot trail to get to Deadwood
Enjoyed my stay and would go back. The price is reasonable and the rooms are no frills but have everything one would need.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, Minnesota

They made a mistake and wouldn't fix it.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Cons: The staff, the crappy buildings, and the closed after hours. The wouldn't own up to a mistake they made.
Location: Mt Rushmore, Deadwood nights, Crazy Horse Memorial.
I called to let them know we'd be late for 1 rooms, and they said they'd leave the keys on the counter since they would be closing. Ok, no problem. Upon arrival there was only 1 key on the counter. We reserved 2 rooms and required 2 keys. I called the after hours number and the guy that answered was upset that we woke him (at 10:30 at night) and was rude the whole conversation. My common last name got rolled into a group with the same last name, and that group cancelled, so they rolled my room into one of the ones that cancelled. I told him that I wasn't part of the group and he said the office is closed. I told him that this was their mistake and I'm calling the after hours number, to which he said to just go somewhere else. I told him I didn't want to separate my party and it was passed the cancellation time and I didn't want a fee. He yelled at me "Fine, just leave already!" so I lost my cool and yelled back Fine! So we left. I called the regular office number and left a message for them to call back to work it out and to advise that the overnight person was so rude, but the office lady never called and they lost our repeat business.
3 out of 5
by Donald

Total Ripoff for the Cost

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Got a simple room with one queen bed for two nights! Room was worth maybe $50 per night but they charged me over $215.00 per night--gouging me because it was Sturgis Rally Week. No room amenities. Had to go to front desk to get additional toiler tissue and kleenex because room not supplied with that. Housekeeping was bad--didn't even make up bed after first night. So called breakfast was pitiful! No WIFI in room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Necessity

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Orbitz
It was clean & had what we needed for the night. It was ok for an overnight but not sure I would stay more than one night.
4 out of 5
by Stacie Moberly

Worth the money during tourist season

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Went to Deadwood for a concert. The trolley had just started not picking up at this hotel. That was the reason that I booked there but a taxi was only $7 each way. Breakfast was bagels, cereal, juice, milk and toast. The staff was wonderful and I have never stayed in a more peaceful room. Beds could use some work but for the price it was amazing.