Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Great stay, right in the heart of Deadwood-Lead.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We really enjoyed our two-night stay. The hotel décor has an upscale rustic lodge-type feel, with slate flooring, timbers, etc., but with an updated flair, not a cabin-in-the-woods sense. It's clean, in good condition, nice bathroom and toiletries, beds are comfortable, and staff very helpful and accommodating. We ate twice in the sports bar area, and had excellent sandwiches. Breakfast in the Grille dining area was plentiful and promptly served. We didn't use the pool or the hot tub, but both looked clean and inviting The location is great for strolling the downtown area. We toured Mt. Rushmore and Jewel Cave, and much preferred the Deadwood-Lead area for access to those attractions, instead of larger and more commercialized Rapid City. The hotel does have a casino on the ground level, which is the only 'negative' comment I would have. While not opposed to gambling, it was a bit of an inconvenience to have the only entrance to the hotel be through the casino, and to use the casino elevator to get to the hotel lobby, and then the hotel elevator, to get to and from our room. There are luggage carts to use, and valets to assist with getting baggage to rooms. Very nice that the hotel has an on-site covered parking garage, particularly as it dusted sleet/snow on the second night we were there. If we are ever in the area again, we would choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Grand again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chokio, MN

"Best Hotel in Deadwood"

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was so clean, spacious, and had a great bathroom, refrigerator and safe. Loved it!
Cons: I can't think of anything - it's that good!
Location: It is within walking distance to main street Deadwood if you want to check out shops, restaurants, and casinos. And across the street is the museum.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Deadwood Mountain Grand. Both stays we were so pleased. It's such a great experience staying there. It's a great hotel. The lobby is beautiful - warm atmosphere and beautifully decorated. The rooms are wonderful - clean, spacious, great bathroom and shower, and with a refrigerator and safe. The hotel we stayed at in Denver after our stay in Deadwood had neither of these, and we were a little disappointed. They have a very nice restaurant and lounge in the hotel. And a very nice gift shop. They also have a pool, fitness center, and spa. All the staff that helped us were great. Very good customer service! And it's just a short walk to the main street in Deadwood if you want to check out shops, casinos, and restaurants. We will always stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Deadwood Mountain Grand when visiting in Deadwood. It's the best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing that I can think of.
Location: Easy access
We had an excellent service. Very friendly. Very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingman, AZ

The views from our balcony were amazing.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Lovely on site restaurant. We enjoyed quiet, relaxed dining after our days of sight seeing. Like the option of valet or covered, reserved parking.
Cons: Entrance in proximity to registration is quite a distance. Relocation of one or the other would be a nice improvement.
Location: The town itself, breakfast downstairs at Legends in the Franklin Hotel, Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse Monument. Gorgeous scenic drives.
There was a noise issue outside our room. The staff quickly moved us up 2 floors. 'Handicap' room was less than accommodating for handicapped. The balcony off our room made up for a lot. Extremely irritating to be required to request fresh bed and bath linens on a daily basis. I am guessing I must be behind the times, past travels, these items were automatically taken care of in my room rate.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable, clean rooms.
Cons: Better direction signs.
It was a great location within walking distance of downtown. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and clean. It was a bit frustrating that we had to walk through the casino and go up an elevator to get to the check in desk and then take a second elevator to get to our room. Otherwise it was a comfortable stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deadwood - Lots to offer Couples, Family -Day/NIgh

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Best location, casino and entertainment. tour buses and other casinos and restaurants one block away. Rooms are quite, spacious, clean, well decorated
Cons: Say how well located the hotel is
Location: Museum 76, Adam's Museum, Boot Hill, Saloon No 10, Celebrity Hotel, Starlight Restaurant, gost tours, tourist shopping, casino's, steak houses.
I wish I had stayed here before Keystone. Lots to do and see in a small area including the evening. Most of the Casinos are inviting and busy. Plenty of eating options such as Kevin Cosner's Midnight Star Restaurant. One hour bus tour is good to give you a lay of the land and point out the places to see. Outdoor music venue right across the street and next to where Wild Bill Hickock was shot. See Museum 76 early - all musuems close at 5PM.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't like the hidden fees!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean and nice!
Cons: The parking/Bell staff could be a little friendlier!
Location: Hotel is located in a good part of town, close to everything!
When I booked the room for two nights the gal said it would be $122 per night plus tax and that was just fine. When I checked out the first night was $149 and the second night was $119 with a $12.95 resort fee charged for each night (what ever that's for)????? Not real happy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Great place tonstay

Posted Aug 8, 2016
They only problem we had while we were there is it is a long way from the parking garage to the check-in desk. I am a disabled person and there was no way I could have walked they far. I luckily had my scooter with me!! I also did not see any valet parking, this was advertised on their section of Expedia. When we were checking out and dragging all of our things on a cart someone stopped us in the hall and asked " don't they have someone to help you with that?" Maybe we weren't talking to the right employees!? I would have loved some assistance! Otherwise the room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was lovely with a walk in shower which is great for handicapped individuals.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fishers, IN

Nice hotel close to Black Hills

Posted Aug 8, 2016
It was a nice hotel. My only complaint is that there were no luggage carts near the parking garage when we got into the hotel late. We had to walk thru the casino to get to the hotel and go up the elevator to get a luggage cart. The staff was not very helpful in retrieving the cart for us at 11pm. Kind of a bummer when you have tired kids. Otherwise, a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Pre week

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Excellent room and very comfortable. I feel housekeeping could have done better, than just changing linens. They could have swept and vacuumed