Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good place to stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The facility is clean and it is a separate building from the casino.
Cons: The coffee in the lobby dose not taste good.
Location: There are a main street of Downtown Deadwood across the street from hotel. Some shops still open even it was a winter evening. A lot of cansino.
The hotel lobby is very warm and well decorated for the season. Business center is convenient. Hotel room is nice, especially the bath tub shower room. Wow! There are even two pillows either soft or hard well marked for us to choose.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent area

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Location and value for price
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Did everything that there is to do in the Rapid City area. This hotel was centralized for all attractions we went to.
This was a nice hotel in the middle of the tourist attractions. OK casino for the area. Bigger than some of the other ones at other hotels. My only complaint was that we were missed one day for housekeeping and reported it to the front desk when we came back that evening. One other day we did not get refill of coffee pods, used washcloths were not taken and sink was not cleaned. Sink did not drain very well, so my husbands shave cream was still around the drain when we came back. Bed was comfortable and room size was very spacious. Would go back again and hope housekeeping is better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean large rooms. Wonderful food.

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time. Everyone everywhere was so nice, courteous, and caring. We felt at home. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Great stay, right in the heart of Deadwood-Lead.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
We really enjoyed our two-night stay. The hotel décor has an upscale rustic lodge-type feel, with slate flooring, timbers, etc., but with an updated flair, not a cabin-in-the-woods sense. It's clean, in good condition, nice bathroom and toiletries, beds are comfortable, and staff very helpful and accommodating. We ate twice in the sports bar area, and had excellent sandwiches. Breakfast in the Grille dining area was plentiful and promptly served. We didn't use the pool or the hot tub, but both looked clean and inviting The location is great for strolling the downtown area. We toured Mt. Rushmore and Jewel Cave, and much preferred the Deadwood-Lead area for access to those attractions, instead of larger and more commercialized Rapid City. The hotel does have a casino on the ground level, which is the only 'negative' comment I would have. While not opposed to gambling, it was a bit of an inconvenience to have the only entrance to the hotel be through the casino, and to use the casino elevator to get to the hotel lobby, and then the hotel elevator, to get to and from our room. There are luggage carts to use, and valets to assist with getting baggage to rooms. Very nice that the hotel has an on-site covered parking garage, particularly as it dusted sleet/snow on the second night we were there. If we are ever in the area again, we would choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Grand again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent Deadwood Stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very good location near everything there is to see in Deadwood. Free self parking is nice compared to all of the valet hotels in the center of town. The employee at the Ore Cart was very friendly and customer oriented as were the bartenders at the restaurant. Some of the front desk staff were not the friendliest. Also the paid breakfast was of rather poor quality and would have been better in a buffet. The gift shop and cafe both closed all day Sunday which was pretty inconvenient. Overall a good stay but could be improved.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wifi never worked in hotel, but could connect in the casino.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just plane nice...so refreshing.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
The staff was super friendly and accommodating. We were traveling for a family wedding. Their common area was great for us to stay up late, have fun and not bother other guests. Perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chokio, MN

"Best Hotel in Deadwood"

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was so clean, spacious, and had a great bathroom, refrigerator and safe. Loved it!
Cons: I can't think of anything - it's that good!
Location: It is within walking distance to main street Deadwood if you want to check out shops, restaurants, and casinos. And across the street is the museum.
This is the second time we have stayed at the Holiday Inn Resort Deadwood Mountain Grand. Both stays we were so pleased. It's such a great experience staying there. It's a great hotel. The lobby is beautiful - warm atmosphere and beautifully decorated. The rooms are wonderful - clean, spacious, great bathroom and shower, and with a refrigerator and safe. The hotel we stayed at in Denver after our stay in Deadwood had neither of these, and we were a little disappointed. They have a very nice restaurant and lounge in the hotel. And a very nice gift shop. They also have a pool, fitness center, and spa. All the staff that helped us were great. Very good customer service! And it's just a short walk to the main street in Deadwood if you want to check out shops, casinos, and restaurants. We will always stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Deadwood Mountain Grand when visiting in Deadwood. It's the best!