Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carnation WA

Great place for Sturgis Rally

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: The Hotel was completely booked. However the staff made me feel as if I was the only guest they had. Very impressed once again with Holiday Inn,
Cons: Better restaurant staffing. Way to few made for long waits for service.
Location: Great country to ride a motorcycle.
Staff is friendly, rooms are clean & quiet. Nice bar & restaurant.
Comment from EPC
Aug 17, 2015 by Eric Schmidt, Director of Marketing, EPC
Dear RDR- Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during the the rally this year and I'm very happy to read our staff took excellent care of you during your visit. We appreciate your business and kind words and I hope you'll be back to see us again next year. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thornton, Colorado

Nice Hotel, going through some renovations.

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Pool, hot tub area. Clean rooms.
Cons: WiFi, and offer a free continental breakfast that is consistent with other larger chain Hotels. No recycling service other than a cardboard bin.
Location: Good central location to Spearfish.
Overall experience was nice, excellent pool, hot tub area. Clean room, ventilation in the bathroom is 1970s vintage. Kid's only eat free for breakfast (at restaurant) with adult purchase - they need to step the game here. Our room was located in the back of the Hotel and in the room the WiFi signal was unusable. You can go outside your room, or other areas of the Hotel for better signal, but this fact was a pain point with 3 younger kids. Shore up on your Data plan before relying on the WiFi here. The staff said that they were upgrading the service so hopefully this is fixed for future customers. This next comment applies to not just this Hotel, but all Hotels/regions outside of larger cities; GET WITH THE RECYCLING PROGRAM!!! I find it amazing that in 2015 the only recycling this Hotel offered was cardboard - which was a single bin in the back of the Hotel. WOW.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent visit. I apologize for not having a continental breakfast as other non-full service express hotels provide to their guests. As a full service hotel, we provide our guests with all amenities such as a onsite restaurant. & bar, room service, pool and hot tubs, exercise rooms and etc. I would also like to apologize for the internet issues you experienced during your stay as I know how frustrating this can be. I am happy to report this has been an area we've addressed and as of today our newly installed state of the art internet system is now up and running and our guests should not experience any issues with our internet service moving forward. We have several recycling options for our back of the house operations , but I certainly appreciate your feedback to have these options available to our guests and this will be brought up at our staff meeting tomorrow. Thank you so much for the great feedback and I hope you visit us again soon to experience the upgrades to the internet and to see if we've implemented a new recycling program. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Justin from Bismarck ND

Adequate

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
Room was adequate - clean. I looked at the " fitness" center that looked to be a former room that was converted into different use - had 3 pieces of cardio and was extremely limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear Justin- Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We certainly appreciate your feedback and I'm happy to let you know our fitness center will be one of our future upgrades. I hope you visit us again in the near future. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Winter fun trip

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and quiet stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear Guest- Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your fun winter trip and for taking time to give us a great review. We wish the the best on your travels and hope you visit us again soon. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by thomas from Yankton, sd

top notch

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Overall an excellent stay with a great restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear thomas- Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and choosing to stay with us. I'm very happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our great restaurant. Thanks again and I hope you visit again soon! Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Brrrrr

Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was fine. Only complaint, we arrived late in the evening and our room was FREEZING! Took hours into the night for the heater to warm the room to satisfaction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2015 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear traveler- Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to review your experience. I'm happy most of your stay went well but I do sincerely apologize for the temperature of your room upon arrival. We do work hard to make sure our rooms our comfortable for our arriving guests and I apologize for missing the mark for your room. Thank you again for your constructive feedback as we'll work to make sure this does not happen in the future for our guests. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Quiet, clean, comfortable. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear valued guest- Thank you for taking the time to give us a review after choosing to stay with us. We certainly appreciate your kind words and hope you are able to visit again in the near future. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Linda from South Dakota

Comfy beds

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean with nice soft, comfy beds. We had a birthday party and we had to "rent" tables at $10 each. I thought that was ridiculous, since we paid for 3 rooms for 2 nights!! The hotel was very clean and the restaurant Lucky 13's has wonderful food! Overall, I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2014 by Eric, Hotel Management
Dear Linda- Thank you for choosing to stay and host a birthday party with us. I'm very happy to read you thought our cleanliness was exceptional along with our very comfortable beds. It's also very nice of you to comment on how much you liked our restaurant. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and taking time to review our hotel. Sincerely- Eric Schmidt Director of Marketing