Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Dirty and understaffed

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Continental Breakfast was adequate.
Cons: Room cleanliness, pool and hot tub cleanliness.
While on a recent business trip I thought I would try the Howard Johnson due to location. Upon returning to my room the first night - I had not received maid service. The front desk staffer was very cordial in grabbing towels and coffee, during our exchange he told me a maid had quit. Seems the manager should have checked all rooms under those circumstances. In addition I had bugs in my room and the hot tub was dirty - couldn't see the first step.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from wyoming

nice clean hotel - reasonably priced

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, clean rooms.
Location: Golf course closed by. Close to shopping and good restaurants.
We enjoyed our stay. Staff was helpful and friendly. Pool and hot tub were clean and inviting. The room was inviting with everything we needed. Pizza Ranch was good and they brought our pizza and wings to us at the pool. We will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Trip to Spearfish and stay at Howard Johnson's

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Ease of finding it.
Cons: Cleanliness level was okay; however, under the beds were very dirty. Shows a lack of attention to detail, which leaves questions about thoroughness.
Location: Close to shopping and fast food restaurants. Spearfish Canyon was close, as well.
Nice receptionist; noisy building. Could see outside when looking at air conditioner/heating unit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by val

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

went there for Sturgus

Posted Aug 5, 2014 on Hotels
a good place to stay, went there for Sturgus , room was great ,house keeping did good even though a new head band we got almost disappeared after house keeping cleaned room ,good thing it turned up after I went and asked to speak to the manager , pool was cold (water heater didn't work) hot tub worked great, well stay there again
1 out of 5
Recommended
by fran from spearfish sd

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel is dirty and rundown. Nothing in the room worked from the hair dryer to the fridge. Everything was grimmy and the sofa bed was raw springs. We paid an outrageous price for lousy room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great for the money

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
Cl
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jess

Quick night's stop

Posted Jul 4, 2014 on Hotels
We needed a pet friendly, convenient, affordable stay for a single night in this area for our family of 5. This fit the bill. No complaints. Typical lower end breakfast. Quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Off to a bad start.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Not a whole lot.
Cons: A whole lot.
Location: This was a good location it was close to everything we were there to do.
First we were given a room that had someone in it. Then the next room they gave us had a hole in the wall behind the door. The next day they came in to clean the room but only fixed the beds and took the towels but did not leave us any other towels or cleaned the bathroom. They told us they would refund us for our trouble but the day I went to check out I was told they could not give us a refund because we used Expedia. Will never stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Very dirty hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The pool was clean and we could see the bottom of it which was not the case for the Howard Johnson in Billings Montana
Cons: If sheets are old and stained throw them out or bleach them
Location: Plenty to do around the area. Nice town
The price was good but one thing that I always expect from any hotel is clean sheets to sleep in and clean towels. This had neither. We booked two Howard Johnson hotels on our trip across the US and both were disappointments from a cleanliness standpoint. I just can not recommend this hotel or it's chains based on my two visits. One of the wash cloths had brown stains on it and the sheets had yellow stains on them.