Ratings based on 626 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really great hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Keep in mind that the town shuts down at ten pm except for the casinos. So the restaurants store gas stations etc are closed at 10 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Good day. Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to rate and review our hotel. We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come see us again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wy

No contact

Posted Apr 2, 2018
I called to cancel my reservation and was told I didn’t have one, now I receive this? Nothing wrong with the hotel that I know of but either Expedia or Spring Hill needs to reverse the charge since there was a failure in communication between the two of you
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2018 by James, GM , Hotel Management
Hell Irma. Thank you for reaching out and I apologize about the issues you had with your reservation. I always encourage guests to book directly through the property where they wish to stay and not go through a third party, as this will limit mistakes. Please contact me directly to look into this further for you if you'd like. I would love to help out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NE

Good hotel, grossly over charged on St. Paddy's

Posted Mar 23, 2018
Pros: Newer hotel, great breakfast - lots of options and change some of the menu items each day. Nice modern room. Nice pool and hot tub.
Cons: Again only complaint was the gross over charge on St. Paddy's day
Location: Close to Terry Peak Ski Resort - 15 mins away Not all Restaurants in deadwood open everyday the 2 we had planned to go to were closed on Sunday/Monday
The hotel was nice, great breakfast. Nice room. We came in town to go skiing with our family. Close to Terry Peak, about 15 min drive. My huge complaint is the gross overcharge on St. Paddy's day. If we would have know the charge was so high on this day, we would have move our vacation back one day. Hotel total us to speak to expedia and expedia told us to talk to the hotel.. This is the only items to bring our overall/rating and experience at the hotel to a negative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Hi Mark, Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write the review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and your ski trip. We hope you'll come see us again soon and have a great spring. -James and the SHS team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary AB

Good clean quiet

Posted Mar 22, 2018
Easy friendly checkin, room was very nice, clean, New or renovated. Restaurant food was awesome!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Hi Mark. Thanks for staying with us and writing the review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your room, the hotel and the restaurant. We hope you'll visit again soon. Thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious clean room

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Easy check-in, clean and spacious room. Friendly bar tender. Restaurant next door mediocre but handy. The hotel charges for parking but offers the equivalent amount in gambling credit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Good day, Thanks for your recent stay with us in Deadwood! Thanks for writing the review and the rating as well. We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Come visit us again soon! Thanks again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls

Great Place

Posted Feb 18, 2018
This hotel was great. Rooms had good space and were clean. Staff was very friendly. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Hi TJ. Thanks for staying with us and the kind words. Come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Parking lot was too small to accommodate a truck and trailer
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Good day. Thanks for staying with us and for the rating. If you do travel with a trailer again in the future, please give the desk a ring and we'll advise you where there's space nearby for parking. We hope that you'll come visit us again soon and thanks again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Nice hotel, room was clean, bed was comfy. Only problem is walls are kind of thin and rude guests were very loud in the am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2018 by James, GM, Hotel Management
Good day. Thank you for your recent stay with us and thanks for taking the time to complete the rating. We sincerely apologize about the rude guests that were loud near you. We always want all of our guests to get quality sleep in a comfortable environment. We will do our best to limit noise in the future. We were happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel overall and your room. Come back to see us again soon and thanks again! -James & the SHS Deadwood Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sioux Falls, SD

Great place to stay!

Posted Feb 6, 2018
Pros: Free breakfast was very good!
The room was very clean and decor was modern. The staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2018 by DeLana Grimsrud-Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are excited that you enjoyed your stay, and hope we get to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver

At the end of town

Posted Jan 27, 2018
The Hotel was very nice the pool was great the room was not very clean the shower curtain had stains on it the trash can already had trash in it the carpet was not vacuumed the breakfast was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by DeLana Grimsrud-Assistant General Manager, Hotel Management
Rick, Thank you for taking a moment to provide us with feedback on your stay. We sincerely apologize for the state of your room. This is absolutely unacceptable and below our standards. We have shared your feedback with our Executive housekeeper, so that the issues you pointed out can be addressed. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you deserve.