Ratings based on 256 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great place to stop

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: not sure.
Location: Spearfish is an interesting community.
The Super 8 was efficiently run and everything was in order. I had a quick check in and was able to have a peaceful night in no time at all. Driving a truck and towing a trailer are not easy. this hotel was a snap. Breakfast was also good -- better than many. All in all I was pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RC,SD

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very cozy and clean. Definitely would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rural dwellers

Best value for the dollar!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, pool, staff & wifi.
Cons: Parking
Location: It's spearfish! Terry peak skiing, the canyon, parks, pumpkin patch, rafting, hiking, eating,shopping downtown. Just walk a block & talk to the locals
We've stayed on every hotel in spearfish & surrounding area. We have family up there, but we come with a lot of baggage! My family of 5 fit in their two queen room. We stayed 2 nights, & were out and about all day. Super 8 is in a great location. Off the interstate a ways, but easy to find. No blaring lights or city noise (we're from the country, so this was a plus!). The wifi was adequate for movie streaming, and easy to login. Check in was a breeze, finding our room was easy. The indoor pool was fabulous for kids 3, 8, & 11. We also had cousins 7 & 9. There is no elevator for the 3 floors, do please tip your housekeeper! Could you imagine lugging up all that stuff 3! Floors!? Decent breakfast, the coffee was weak. It was a standard waffle breakfast but with excellent pastries. Totally family friendly & easy on the budget. Now that we have stayed in every hotel, we'll use this one from now on!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in Spearfish, SD

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: pool, hot tub
Cons: no exercise room, breakfast could be a little better, some updating in the rooms is needed
The hotel is a little bit older and a little dated but it was clean. The pool was a good temperature. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tremont, IL

Typical Super 8. Some things never change

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Stayed there, it was cheap. One lightbulb was out. When I got back to the room in the evening the clock alarm was buzzing, was set to noon.But the alarm switch was in the off position, good god, really? Room got hot so i turned on the air. Sounded like being inside a plane taking off. No timer on the bathroom fan. After the maid service comes in, they open the curtain a foot, but you don't realize it until you come back and are in your underwear in front of the parking lot. Breakfast was good, can't go wrong with the diy waffles. Again, the price was cheapest in the area, I was not expecting the Vegas Cosmopolitan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful scenery!

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stay here frequently. Love this little hotel. The price is great, the staff is friendly and the area is just spectacular. Live it here in Spearfish!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
They should add some docking stations or at least some electrical outlets that are accessible. Breakfast was rather disappointing. We had decided to stay in Spearfish 1 more night, original location was full, so chose this one for just one night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older but decent hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
The Spearfish area is spectacular. The hotel was okay. There was hair on the bathroom floor that was left behind by the cleaning people. Also some crumbs on the night stand. I would stay there again but don't expect too much. Love the area!