Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Great place to stop

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Please see above.
Cons: not sure.
Location: Spearfish is an interesting community.
The Super 8 was efficiently run and everything was in order. I had a quick check in and was able to have a peaceful night in no time at all. Driving a truck and towing a trailer are not easy. this hotel was a snap. Breakfast was also good -- better than many. All in all I was pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RC,SD

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Very cozy and clean. Definitely would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rural dwellers

Best value for the dollar!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location, pool, staff & wifi.
Cons: Parking
Location: It's spearfish! Terry peak skiing, the canyon, parks, pumpkin patch, rafting, hiking, eating,shopping downtown. Just walk a block & talk to the locals
We've stayed on every hotel in spearfish & surrounding area. We have family up there, but we come with a lot of baggage! My family of 5 fit in their two queen room. We stayed 2 nights, & were out and about all day. Super 8 is in a great location. Off the interstate a ways, but easy to find. No blaring lights or city noise (we're from the country, so this was a plus!). The wifi was adequate for movie streaming, and easy to login. Check in was a breeze, finding our room was easy. The indoor pool was fabulous for kids 3, 8, & 11. We also had cousins 7 & 9. There is no elevator for the 3 floors, do please tip your housekeeper! Could you imagine lugging up all that stuff 3! Floors!? Decent breakfast, the coffee was weak. It was a standard waffle breakfast but with excellent pastries. Totally family friendly & easy on the budget. Now that we have stayed in every hotel, we'll use this one from now on!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in Spearfish, SD

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Pros: pool, hot tub
Cons: no exercise room, breakfast could be a little better, some updating in the rooms is needed
The hotel is a little bit older and a little dated but it was clean. The pool was a good temperature. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tremont, IL

Typical Super 8. Some things never change

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Stayed there, it was cheap. One lightbulb was out. When I got back to the room in the evening the clock alarm was buzzing, was set to noon.But the alarm switch was in the off position, good god, really? Room got hot so i turned on the air. Sounded like being inside a plane taking off. No timer on the bathroom fan. After the maid service comes in, they open the curtain a foot, but you don't realize it until you come back and are in your underwear in front of the parking lot. Breakfast was good, can't go wrong with the diy waffles. Again, the price was cheapest in the area, I was not expecting the Vegas Cosmopolitan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, easy to find!

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Continental breakfast, easy to locate, and the pool was great!!
Location: Lots of things nearby. They had construction going on the main streets during our stay but was easy to navigate.
Wonderful place to stay. My children loved the pool. We enjoyed the continental breakfast that was provided. Nutritious food. Great stay, great place, great value!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenmare, ND

Nice hotel good breakfast

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Easy to access
We were down for the bike rally, they go out of there way to accommodate you from wash buckets and rags for the bike to tables and chairs outside to visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Cons: Having a Elevator would be a huge improvement along with providing luggage movers.
The main item is that there is no elevator and when your on 3rd floor it is a workout when bringing in luggage to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Decent 2-3 star hotel in a convenient location

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Nice pool and hot tub. The hotel is a bit smaller than I am used to, but it was quiet and clean. The breakfast was adequate - not much variety.
Location: Close to the highway, on the Devil's Tower scenic loop, close to Spearfish Canyon. Easy access from the Interstate
We were on vacation in the Black Hills and wanted a hotel that was closer to Devil's Tower. This hotel is on the smaller side, quiet and clean. The staff were exceptionally friendly and went out of their way to assist us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Summer trip

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Pool, hottub
Cons: bigger bathrooms with more counter space
Hotel is clean, a/c was annoying very strong fan that was loud, bathroom was very small with no room to set personal items on the sink.