Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Quirky with a certain charm

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: The staff, the location and in-room coffee machine.
Cons: The public areas could be tidier
Location: Seafront location overlooking pier. An excellent restaurant a few steps away. Near castle and maritime attractions.
The excellent location with a sea-view room was not for guests unused to traffic noise. The hotel is old and full of history with a quirky layout unsuitable for people with disabilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was an excellent coffee pod machine in the room but the complimentary breakfast provided in the room cake, cereal bar and corn flakes with insufficient milk was disappointing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brighton

Not a relaxing hotel at all

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great location that's for sure. However, not very clean. Pubic hair in the bath, stains on the table and lack of facilities. I except it's a small hotel, but sometimes these chains can be good. Will not return to this hotel. They were understaffed and they seemed more concerned about their bar, rather that the comfort or requests of visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newly refurbished hotel on the seafront

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel room had tea, coffee maker . Very clean and friendly staff. Various restaurants and bars minutes away. Parking in at rear of hotel in public car park. Free on a Sunday
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton,Beds

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly :) their was ample parking but you have to pay for it
Cons: Look out for the Hot water it comes out of the taps near boiling it will take your skin off
Stayed in room 4. nice large room with a lovely bay-window with a view of the sea
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views and friendly staff

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Ebookers
We were later than expected to arrive at the hotel. The staff were lovely and made contact with me for how to get in after hours to the hotel to check in. On arrival when I rang the house keeping phone a member of staff arrived literally moment later to check us in and was so friendly. The room was lovely and clean with tv, tea coffee facilities etc. In the morning when we woke up and opened the curtains the view was breathtaking! Would definitely stay again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Padstow, Cornwall

Nice friendly place to stay

Posted Nov 21, 2016
We only stayed one night while visiting friends in the area, found staff friendly,room was clean and facilities were excellent
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel being renovated should not be renting rooms

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Service, lack of caring for us and our safety.
Location: Thank goodness for the service and caring at the other Hotels around where we ate and spent most of our time. Definately will choose one of them next
We arrived after a long flight, 30 hours up to find the whole hotel under renovations. No restaurant gone, no pub gone and we were the only guests. We stayed two nights. The cups we used the first morning for coffee-we had to wash our selves, we had to make our bed, the shower leaked all over the floor, the second night we were the persons in the hotel- no staff. Not safe- totally disgusted you would recommend this hotel. Feel like they stole our money. Not impressed at all. Will be contacting the Tourist organization and definately will be putting our comments on Trip Advisor. We have stayed there before 7 years ago. It was great. I feel they should paid us to stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient little hotel on the sea front

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is using an automated check in machine that isn't quite right yet but there is a number to call if you get stuck.