Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Excellent close to all attractions

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Always stay here when I visit Manchester, excellent hotel all round good staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Meh!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: The waiter service in the podium restaurant was great.
Cons: Allow residents priority to bar. Post warning on web that under 18s can't go to bar (if you persist in that policy). Train staff in client relation
Location: It's not that great for central Manchester shops.
I'd been meaning to stay at the Hilton for a long time as I come to Manchester several times a year. I was unimpressed. Check-in took practically half an hour. Why, in this age of computer reservations, computerized key cards and instant everything else, must there be receptionists with angst-ridden faces staring intently at screens, filling out forms, signatures in two places on the same page of the same document - does signing something twice make it more legally binding? (No, please don't answer that one. I'm a lawyer and I can tell you it doesn't). The Hilton knew we were coming that day. We arrived at 6pm in the evening, within a normal check-in time frame. Why does it take so long? Secondly, the hotel literature offers a nice bar on the 23rd floor. It's part of the hotel's offer to its residents. Under 18s are allowed to enter bars in the UK and the laws are more permissive for residents in hotels. But our party of 5 adults and one 16 year old wearing a suit and over 6 feet tall, was not allowed up to the bar and that there was no priority for residents. Not impressive. Thirdly, there was a fire alarm in the middle of the night. No one can blame the Hilton for a fire alarm but I do blame the Hilton for (a) terrible public address system with half finished sentences and total lack of information on the stairs, (b) insufficient thermal blankets for guests, (c) zero information once we were out on the street waiting for 1.5 hours. Staff were ill-prepared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Additonal Charges

Posted Aug 16, 2017
I stayed in the Hilton for my cousin's hen-do and budgeted for the occasion however I was charged 115 pound holding fee for two nights in addition to my room price. However, this was not the main problem the main problem was staff then went to charge me an additional 115 pound the next day which left me short on cash for the hen do. I had to ask staff to remove my card from the system and requested for my funds to be released, however this couldn't happen immediately eventually I got my money back on the next Monday after the hen-do had finished! This situation kinda left me feeling quite frustrated about the trip. Aside from the drama, I used the spa service which was brilliant. They have a therapist who is called Naadia who is so friendly and made my spa experience really relaxing. I think in the future I will come back to the Hilton, however I will pay for my room in advance to avoid all the extra charges!
3 out of 5
by Simon

Location and not much else

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
Valet parking nightmares - took nearly half hour to retrieve my car - good job I wasn't booked on a flight! Hotel - great location, rooms no better than a Travelodge plus in my opinion. There's many better hotels in Manchester at this price point. Oh and my huge bugbear - 21st century - and they CHARGE FOR WIFI!!!! Robbers.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Caroline

Warm and welcoming staff

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
The staff seemed to be really going out of their way to make us feel welcomed two weeks after the concert blast. Very warm and personal. Fabulous views. Breakfast was fine. The rooms beginning to look a little worn.
2 out of 5
by David

Hugely dissapointed

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
I've stayed here many times and always had a good experience, hence why I elected to stay here upon my visit to Manchester again and why i am also a Hilton Honors member, however this time around it was a pretty poor show by the hotel. We arrived 30 mins earlier than the 3pm check in so understandably there wasn't a room available at the time, but we were positively reassured that they would definitely have one ready at 3pm. We decided to go and make use of the pool area and returned an hour later to check in, to which we were told there still wasn't one available and it would be another half an hour or so... normally not a huge problem but we wanted to get showered and changed before we went out! After 20 mins of frustration we were finally given a room, but this is where it really annoyed us... They put us in a room to a lower spec than we had booked even though they reassured us it was the same... no amenities in the room, no iron (and after requesting that it took another 20 minuted to receive it!) and the 'Queen size bed' was no more than a standard double... needless to say, after all of the loyalty i have given Hilton and in specific this hotel I am incredibly annoyed. To finish off, the receptionist that initially checked us in and promised us a room would be ready shied away and ignored us after seeing us return, pretty petty and very poor customer service in that respect. Needless to say i am put off using this place again.
2 out of 5
by Rachael

Dissapointing stay and poor service

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for our wedding night as we had stayed previously at the Hilton in Liverpool and loved it. However this time we experienced a mediocre breakfast and rude staff. We were charged £6.00 for two cans of coke from the mini bar in the room and when my husband joked that could we not have them for free because it was our wedding the woman on reception said "everyone has celebrations" in a rude manner. They are also still holding the £50.00 deposit we had to pay a week later which I find strange and poor service as we were told it would drop back into his available balance after checkout. Overall, considering this was a special occasion, we were not made to feel very special at all and found the customer service a bit of a joke. Will not be recvomending or staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Good central location

Posted May 28, 2017
Good hotel facilities and executive lounge with great views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice clean hotel, close to city centre.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: staff, cleanliness and proximity.
Cons: make the food and drinks a little less expensive
Location: city centre location, excellent proximity to all pubs, shops and restaurants
we stayed overnight and we where well looked after. all the staff where helpful and the girl who greeted us on reception was happy, pleasant and full of life. excellent!!