Ratings based on 1,433 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Housekeeping let it down

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Having visited the Midland countless times over the past 28 years this weeks overnight was far from terrible but equally it was The worst stay. The rooms bins had not been emptied and were quite dirty. The toilet needed bleaching or a more thorough clean. Prior to check out I always strip the bed and put the used towels together, father my trash and tie it up in a bin liner to make housekeepings job easier. I've worked in the industry for decades and now what a difference these few minutes of my time can make. When stripping the bedding, the mattress protector was heavily urine stained, of the 4 pillows only three had protectors, the bare pillow was stained and one of the protectors was covered in hairs and very dirty. The throw which goes at the bottom of the bed had toothpaste smeared on the underside. Perhaps an over reaction but I felt like I needed to shower again. On check out I passed these comments on to the front desk and was asked had I mentioned them to anyone - yes to you right now. Obviously I was unaware until actually stripping the bed. Over the years I've ventured away from the Midland only once to stay at Gotham which wasn't for me. But I'm now questioning if I will ever return. Cleanliness is incredibly important to me as it is to most guests which is why I choose a premium product as they have the budget in the room rate to maintain standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Washington

Excellent stay!

Posted Jan 17, 2018
I had an excellent stay. It smelled amazing when I walked in, and I have been in love with that fragrance since. The staff were all very helpful and kind. When asking for assistance with either a place to go to eat or needing warm clothing for a game, they were able to point me in the right direction. The room itself was spacious, with a large bathroom (with heated towel rack!) and a sitting area. There was plenty of storage space, a desk that converted to a makeup application space thingie, and big heavy drapes that shut out all light making for a very peaceful sleep. The only negative was that I sleep hot, and could not get the room cold enough. But that was a minor inconvenience compared to the sheer luxury of a place like this. Did a mini-spa day on my second day. Received an excellent deep tissue massage from Mini, and a manicure from Sarah. All of the staff were pleasant, professional, and knowledgeable. The relaxation room was my favorite part, especially the four hanging tents in the middle. I only wished that my girlfriend was with me so we could have enjoyed a spa day together. I highly recommend taking the time to visit the spa, as well. Ate most of my meals in Manchester at the bar or restaurants at the Midland. The food was perfect, and the staff were kind and accommodating. This hotel is located in the heart of Manchester, so it is easy to walk to shopping and restaurants. The central library is across the street, and so is a tram stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Marcus, Thank you for taking the time to share such a brilliant review; I am so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. The staff and I all hope to welcome you back soon, Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Gorgeous upgrade

Posted Jan 15, 2018
I booked the hotel for my boyfriend's birthday as this is our favourite hotel. I left a comment when I booked and when we arrived the hotel had upgraded us to a suite, got my boyfriend a card and a cake and gave up drinks vouchers! I could not believe how much effort the hotel staff had gone to, had an amazing time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear Kati, Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review; it is appreciated by the whole team. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay for such a special occasion and we look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from barrow

Lovely night away for my wife's birthday.

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Lovely night away for my wife's birthday. The hotel is a little dated but the staff and good vibe atmosphere more thank compensate. I'd stop here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear jamboree joe, Thank you for sharing you review; I am so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your night away! We all hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wirral

Excellent location of Hotel.for most attractions

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Very helpful, happy staff. Nothing appeared too much trouble. We decided to have a meal at Mr Coopers. Beautiful setting and fantastic tasting food. Compliments to the staff and chef/s
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Dear johnno, Thank you for your compliments regarding Mr Cooper's; I will be sure to pass your compliments onto the staff and chefs directly as they will be thrilled. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poulton le Fylde

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Mentioned to the receptionist I was celebrating a big birthday. Next thing there was a bottle of presecco sent to my room followed later by a birthday card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your review I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay for such a special occasion. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Friendly Staff and You’ll feel good away from home

Posted Dec 28, 2017
My 12 years old son and I arrived around 9 am on Christmas Day and hopefully can get a room early than the regular check in time. Yes, we got the room for shower and take a brief nap avoiding jag lag with a smiley face from Ms Wong. As well as other staff. Everything else is good except the closure of restaurants and gym... but we come here for Man U. It is Great already. Recommended. Thanks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for sharing this 5 star review; it is appreciated by the whole team. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Christmas Day! I will be sure to pass your compliments onto Debbie Wong as she will be thrilled! We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Luxurious, comfortable, quiet and central

Posted Dec 27, 2017
Pros: central, luxurious, comfortable, quiet, safe
Location: Right next to the Central Library and the metrolink station, plus coffeeshops, the Town Hall, restaurants, cinemas, Galleries
central, luxurious, comfortable, quiet, safe. The Expedia VIP perk of late check-out hadn't been registered with the hotel, but they applied it immediately without any questions. Breakfast was sumptuous (huge buffet). And the price was not as high as I had feared for a hotel of this calibre.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, Thank you for sharing this 5 star review; it is appreciated by the whole team. We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location for all things Central Manchester

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: good decor, I would highly recommend this location, Access to shops, good bars and restaurants on foot and parking close by.
Cons: bar could be a bit more special
Location: Access to shops, good bars and restaurants on foot and parking close by.
A lovely Comfortable room in this heritage hotel with very helpful and courteous staff. Our short weekend stay to watch the PSA world squash finals was enhanced by so many famous names in squash staying at the same hotel and frequenting the bar in the evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear sahax, Thank you for sharing this 5 star review; it is appreciated by the whole team. We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

City centre break

Posted Dec 18, 2017
A top class hotel in the heart of Manchester City centre. Superb room, really comfy bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2018 by Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Steve, Thank you for sharing this 5 star review; it is appreciated by the whole team. We all hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Guest Relations Team