Ratings based on 2,528 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dearborn

Close to shopping

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Room wasn't 100% clean, flying moth problem in my room. Complained to management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anaheim, CA

Wonderful Stay

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We ended up being a day late for our check in. They went ahead and canceled the first day on both rooms without charging us and they were so accommodating that they let us check in at 7am so we could get a couple hours of sleep before our meeting. Everyone we spoke with was excellent. The room was clean and everything was in working order. I loved the convenience of the little stores, restaurants and Starbucks!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vallejo, CA

Dismal customer service

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Rooms and facilities are generally excellent.
Cons: Staff attitude needs addressing. There seems to be a general notion that Edward Village hotel guests need to be kept in their place.
I have stayed at this hotel since it changed from the Hyatt to the Adoba and finally, Edward Village. I have used this facility every time I travel to Detroit on business. For the most part, the rooms and facilities are excellent. However, I have noticed a gradual decline in customer service, where the front desk staff have lost their friendliness. In its place is a new grating attitude that they are there to keep hotel guests in line, rather than to serve them. This visit, my check-in took over fifteen minutes. There were no staff in the lobby, security desk, front desk or bell counter. No message was left at the counter. Eventually, I went looking for help, and even knocked on the door of the front office. The counter staff, who eventually turned up, never once apologized for his absence, but launched into threats about hotel security arresting me for knocking on the front desk door (even though I waited almost fifteen minutes). Good luck on that. Anyone could have set fire to the lobby and there would have been no security. A simple apology would have defused the matter. Instead, the front desk clerk, droned on and on about security. I guess it was more important to show hotel guests who is in charge than show courtesy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

A dissapointment

Posted Sep 16, 2017
This is a nice looking property and the hotel staff were very friendly. Unfortunately when I attempted to check-in the front desk had no record of my Expedia booking. Showing them my fully-confirmed and paid trip from the Expedia app did not help. I was finally able to get a room, for which they charged me again. The room itself was fine but upon returning to it after 5:00 PM the next day I was dismayed to have received no maid service. Also, the only full-service restaurant attached to this very large hotel is horrible. I had shrimp scampi that was a gelatinous mess and not really edible. I would strongly advise dining out if you are brave enough to stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Front desk clerk terrible

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Asked for detroit view and put on opposite side with obstructed view. Hotel was more than half empty. Made no introduction. Acted as if doing him a favor checking in. Terrible people skills and customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Convenient to The Henry Ford

Posted Sep 13, 2017
We have stayed at this Hotel a few times over about 30 years and it has gone from a great hotel to an OK hotel. The rooms are fine but the carpets in the halls and the little things like the uneven concrete on the outside need addressing. Overall, we will be back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portage, MI

Posted Sep 11, 2017
This has been one of our preferred hotels when we stay in the Detroit area. The hotel is the 2nd largest, in terms of rooms, in Michigan. It's changed hands at least three times in the last dozen or so years and has struggled at times. The newest owner is making an effort to improve the condition of the hotel. But the rooms appear to still have some work to do. In our room we noticed that there was what appeared to be a linear "grease" stain on the carpet, the lamps over the nightstands were missing shades and the deadbolt lock handle inside the room was missing. We still liked staying there and the price point was one of the best in the area, but it's still a bit of a work-in-progress.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sturbridge, MA

Nice, quiet hotel close to shopping.

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: Excellent Sunday breakfast buffet and brunch
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Close to shopping
Very nice and courteous staff. The hotel is huge and probably the most quiet hotel that I stayed at.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only hotel available during flight cancellations

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: It was fairly priced
Cons: The room conditions
Location: Nearby airport ~25$ taxi ride away
The airport lobby looks very nice, but the rooms are extremely outdated. This hotel is nothing special, but it is nicer than a motel. Step above a motel, but now much nicer - but its a safe place to stay and if the price is right - beats sleeping at the airport...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Room was nice and spacious and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Wait at counter
Location: Mall nearby and quiet location
Up to date, modern spacious huge hotel that was clean. It's not small and cozy so expect a lot of people. Yet it was beautiful for price and I would return.