Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canton, mi

Posted Sep 28, 2017
At check-in time, the line was out the door and there was one hotel staff person checking everyone in by himself. It took a very long time and was not acceptable to not have enough personnel; people were complaining and it was hot in the waiting area to boot. We found mouse droppings in our room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: room cleanliness
Location: ford museum and Greenfield Village is walkable
Hotel is well located for visiting Greenfield village and the Ford museum. Rooms quite small bathroom corners not clean Staff pleasing Food ok Beautiful grounds
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad service.,hotel over booked,

Posted Sep 1, 2017
bad service.,hotel over booked, gave away my room.. said they would pay for my taxi to and from new hotel.. never happened..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Hotel!

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent, what more do you need? The location is convenient to anything worth seeing in Detroit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Poor service from front desk staff

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Housekeeping staff were friendly, attentive, responsive.
Cons: Inform guests of potential difficulties of which staff is well aware.
Location: n/a
We checked in at 9:00 p.m. on Wednesday night after a flight from California. We were assigned room 520 in the Luther Burbank building. We were thus placed as far from the hotel facilities as is physically possible: a full city block away from main building. We were not informed of this pertinent fact. Nor were we told that room 520 is on the second floor of a building with no elevators. If we had been told there were no elevators, we would have either requested another room or asked for a valet to assist with our luggage. Room 520 is less than 30 yards from ongoing construction on Oakwood Blvd. There is also construction on the Ford property across Oakwood from the building. The dust emanating from these projects blew straight towards us. Each time we stepped outside the building on Thursday and Friday we were subjected to thick clouds of dust. Our rental car was covered in a thick coat of dust. The construction on Oakwood Blvd. continued sporadically on Saturday. Front desk personnel created the situation by failing to inform, failed to address when brought to their attention. Treated us as second-class citizens. Stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by Kathleen

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
It was the most relaxed mini vacation I had in years
5 out of 5
by Peter

Dearborn Inn

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Its the Dearborn Inn man....old school Ford family, historic site, etc., etc.. Marriott does a great job as always. More expensive than I'd like but so what, life's short. Right next to the Ford museum and Green Field Village. For a hotel restaurant, Edison's was very good and both food and wine list were actually pretty fairly priced. Had a $40.00 bottle of zinfandel that was very good. I hadn't been there since 1980 when the Ford family was still running it. As I'm spending more time in Detroit, probably will continue to be my choice.
3 out of 5
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel in beautiful location

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We stayed in one of the king suites in the Patrick Henry House behind the main hotel. Nice quiet alternative to the regular hotel rooms. Unfortunately, they are in need of updating. Headboard was just leaning against the bed frame. Furniture is old and the sofa bed my 10 year old son slept on was terrible. I called housekeeping to make up the sofa bed and it took 2 hours for them to come and then they just handed me the sheets. Considering what they charge to stay there, I expected more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in the Walt Whitman cottage. The room was very small, and the bathroom even smaller. That being said, the worst issue was the smell: very strong "mildew" smell common in older buildings. The odor was so strong that I didn't go "nose blind" to it. The hotel is in a Ford office park area with few amenities nearby (i.e., restaurants), consequently, we were stuck to the hotel services.