Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manhattan, KS

Great Property at a Great Value!

Posted May 27, 2017
Traveling for business and needed a room for the night. The staff was very friendly and the the room was very clean and well maintained couldnt be happier woth my stay. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by T. Maple, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Hawthorn Suites in Decatur, Illinois. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the future! I will make sure to share your review with my employees. It will make their day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel at a great price

Posted May 21, 2017
We were looking for a hotel close to our kids' home, so we booked a room at the Hawthorne. It's a beautiful hotel, very clean, with friendly and helpful employees. Our room kind of took our breath away. It was a two room suite, complete with a kitchenette. We were so pleased because we hadn't expected that, and at the affordable price we paid. I would highly recommend this property as a place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by T. Maple, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review concerning your stay at the Hawthorn Suites in Decatur, Illinois. I am so pleased you were so happy with the accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again on future visits to Decatur.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The free continental breakfast was great!
Room was sparse, but adequate.Good room for the price and suite set-up is perfect for families.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by T. Maple, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hawthorn Suites Decatur, Illinois. I am pleased you were happy with your stay and I really appreciate your positive feedback! We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Decatur.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from STL, MO

Nice for Extended Stays

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I always stay here when I visit which is about every other week. It's nice and accommodating. Also centrally located which is very convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by T. Maple, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at the Hawthorn Suites in Decatur. I appreciate the positive feedback and I am so pleased we are your hotel of choice while in Decatur. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit.
5 out of 5
by John

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Was in town to attend funeral so I basically slept there. Overall nice room and good breakfast. Thanks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I really appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
There were dirty tissues stowed away in the fold out couch. It made us feel that the sheets were dirty, too. It repulsed us. We got new sheets for the bed when we went to the front desk, but no one offered to help us. Then at breakfast, the staff was eating and literally cut in line in front of us to get food and juice. Very unprofessional.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I am extremely upset to hear about the issues you experienced while staying with us. I have addressed both the employee breakfast issues and the cleanliness issue and will guarantee that there will not be any instances such as these in the future. I hope if you are given the opportunity you will try staying with us again.
4 out of 5
by Carla

Good Night

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room and breakfast served was fantastic. The service was ok if not a little cold. But, I was there for only one night so it served it's purpose
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Kevin Dandrea, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I am glad you were happy with your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on future visits to Decatur.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Comfortable Visit

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Location, appearance, amenities.
Cons: Refrigerator in the second room we were given was and older model and very loud. We did not complain about it but mentioned it when we checked out.
Location: The location is across the lake from the college and most of Decatur. Not a lot to do, but large variety of places to eat and shop.
We were visiting a student at Millikin University and the Hawthorn provided a convenient, comfortable place to stay. The seating area in our room made it possible for all three of us to relax together a few times and for her to stay with us one night. Breakfast was satisfying and convenient. When we had a plumbing problem in our bathroom, the staff quickly enabled us to move to another room because maintenance was not going to be available until the next day. Overall I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by T. Maple, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
5 out of 5
by Ellen

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
it was exactly what we needed, the room was convenient and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay the continental breakfast was excellent in taste and selections.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the wonderful review of your stay at our hotel! We look forward to seeing you on future visits to the Decatur area.
5 out of 5
by christina

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Needed a room for 1 night and it was clean, quiet and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel! I am so pleased you were happy with your stay! We look forward to seeing you again on future visits to Decatur.