Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Freeport , Bahamas

Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood.

Posted Oct 25, 2017
I have my doubts about extended stay hotels from previous experience but this one was different. Nicer all around than the others I stayed to in the past. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was really nice! The location, the end of a street, is great and maintains a quiet atmosphere since there's no through traffic. There's a convenient store across the street for all your last minute or late night needs and wants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Carlton, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America and for letting us know you liked our convenient location. It's also nice to know you found your suite comfortable and were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

won't stay their again

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: clean the rooms
Location: i only slept there. it was a business trip
the room was dirty. dirt in the corners of the bathroom. Hair in the bath tub :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for not living up to our commitment to clean, fresh accommodations during your stay. We are working with our housekeeping department to make sure all procedures are being followed so this does not happen again. Please consider giving us another chance to provide you a much better stay the next time your travels bring you back this way. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville TN

Filthy!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Front desk was friendly, nothing else!
Cons: Try cleaning the rooms!
Location: Not too far from beach. Cracker Barrel right next door.
Room was disgusting! Mold in toilet, dirt and food behind chair, food in crevices of stove, green mold growing on windows. Had to ask front desk for pillow cases as room service never finished making the bed, just left the bare pillows stacked on desk. Awful, just awful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Kim, thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post your review. On behalf of our entire staff, we sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. We have procedures in place so that this does not happen, so we will investigate where we fell short. We only wish that we could have addressed these issues while you were here so that you didn't leave the hotel with a negative impression. We assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and ask that you give us another try whenever you return to the area. We look forward to having you visit again so that we can provide you with a better stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: This is a nice hotel.
Cons: housekeeeping
Location: Upgrade the breakfast and the housekeeping
Nice hotel, poor service. housekeeping is very bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Hotel Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay. We apologize for not living up to your expectations, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide specifics about the problems that inconvenienced you. Your valuable feedback will be shared with our team to prevent such mistakes going forward. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we can do better on your next trip to this area. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Reserved a non smoking suite got a basic room that smelled of smoke with a missing smoke alarm and a 22inch TV called down stairs no one answered go figure
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience.We apologize that your non-smoking room had a smoke odor. Our housekeeping supervisor has been made aware of your concerns, and we will be addressing this with our entire cleaning staff. We are committed to providing a clean and fresh guest suite for every incoming guest, and we are sorry that this was not your experience. Additionally, we apologize for the maintenance issue in your room. Our goal is to get everything repaired and in working order once we are made aware of an issue, so we thank you for letting us know. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider giving us another chance to make a better impression in the future. Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from georgia

Clean and quiet

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Close to the highway for easy traveling, quiet, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Roy, thank you for being our guest and taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America. We are so pleased to read that you loved our courteous associates and convenient location. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to have you back with us soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Close to restaurants, or you can Uber to the pier like we did The hotel was nice but the complimentary breakfast is muffins and coffee and ends at 930 if you get there at 932 you can't have any
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Extended Stay America. We are glad you had an overall nice time with us and that you liked our location which was perfect for your needs. That being said, we are sorry if any inconvenience was caused while you were here. We hope you will give us another chance so we can serve you much better. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Roof construction. Half the parking is roped off

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: Proximity to where I needed to be while working in Deerfield.
Cons: Make arrangements with the neighboring business for overnight parking. Fix the room lock/key issues.
Location: I was there for work, so...
Parking was miserable due to the roof construction. Additional comment: Issues with room key everyday. It was recommended that I not take my key with me when I left the building. What?
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to read that you liked our location which was perfect for your needs. However, we are sorry for the issues you had with the parking and your room key. Your concern has been shared with our respective teams to ensure a better experience moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance so we can serve you much better. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Need to be updated!!!!!! Bathroom moldy and room smelled really bad. Great price you pay for what you get. Basicly its a truck and worker stop.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We apologize for the issues you encountered in your room and regret for the inconvenience this caused to you. Your concerns are taken seriously and are shared with the appropriate individuals in our organization. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance to provide the stay you desired this time. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Always fiendly to stay,good location.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Staff very helpful and friendly,when im in area wiill always stay there.great location,and room very clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
David, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Extended Stay America. We are thrilled to know our courteous associates and convenient location helped make your stay a memorable one. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to your return visit soon. Sincerely, General Manager