Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Barry

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is rather tired, needs refurbishment. Room not properly equiped on arrival and some items not available. Staff tried hard but some were very inexperienced
5 out of 5
by neyvis

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Dear Neyvis, thank you so much for your excellent rating, we really so happy that we have enjoyed your stay with us the fast check in and the room cleanness as well. we are looking forward to host you in the nearest future. best regards, Youssef Reda Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
by Wesa

Wonderful Stay

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
Great located in the centre of Deira very close to the mall and the creek and gold souk , markets and much more. Really fast check in and out, fast wifi, real spacious and clean room with a wonderful view to the creek. Lovely restaurant serving buffet lunch , really cool area. We had a wonderful time .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Dear Wesa, thank you so much for your feedback, we really so happy that we have enjoyed your stay with us the fast check in and the room cleanness as well. we are looking forward to host you in the nearest future. best regards, Youssef Reda Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sucks

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Sucks!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017
Dear our valued guest, thank you so much for your feedback, we really so sorry that we have not enjoyed your stay with us . we are looking forward to host you in the nearest future. best regards, Youssef Reda Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by mohamed

It was good

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
It was good the only one is they changed me twice for a my credit card that is all the food was good the staff is good
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are really delighted to see your high rating for our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the nearest future. Kind Regards, Mena Botros Duty Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2017
The only good point of this hotel is the location , one day night i felt headach , i asked the reception for panadol is not available , room and bathroom and even the bed cover is bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked the location of the hotel and apologize you were disappointed with the condition of your room and bathroom. We value your feedback and have shared your comments with hotel management to review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unsatisfactory

Posted Jan 1, 2017
The hotel was not what I read about or expected. Poor staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Mena Botros, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. We look forward to have the chance of hosting you once again at the nearest future Mena Botros Duty Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We would like to thank you for your rating and we look forward to your next stay. Kind Regards, Mena Botros Duty Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Apartment style hotel near airpo. Good for groups.

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Pros: near airport. Arranged takeway breakfast because of early checkout. Lights were on when I arrived in my apartment. Free wifi. Very spacious. Cons: I could not switch off extractor fan in second bathroom. Made a noise. So closed the door. Main bedroom bed lamp did not work as is the norm in the region . I had to switch water heater on after checking in at 3 am. Would have been very annoyed if I had to wake up early to a cold shower. Bath towels had a long black hair on as I was drying. I don't have long black hair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will review the conditions of your room with our housekeeping and engineering staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Park Inn by Radisson standards. on a positive side we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed the take away breakfast and the hotel location. We look forward to welcome you back at the nearest future. Kind Regards, Mena Botros Duty Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great and hospitable staff. My studio room was upgraded to two-bedroom. Everything is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay especially the room up gradation. We look forward to your next stay. Kind Regards, Mena Botros Duty Manager