Ratings based on 524 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Room 125 had a terrible odor

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The location and it was quiet.
Cons: Check the rooms on the ground floor for a foul odor.
Location: Del Mar
Room 125, on the ground floor facing the pool had a terrible odor. At first we thought we could just air it out. After returning from dinner we opened the sliding door and kept it open all night long. In the morning I asked other 2 customers from upstairs if their rooms smelled and "No" was the answer from both. So, from our experience, in room 125, we cannot recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anacortes, WA

Nice hotel close to town and the beach

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Shower could've been cleaned better. Better communication between Hotel mngmt and cafe staff. Hotel needs a little bit of repair on structure
Location: Restaurants and shops nearby, nice walk to the beach.
Great check in experience! Cafe closed early, we were told they were open until 9:00pm Cafe staff said they were told to close at 8:00pm. Bed was very uncomfortable! Hotel was reasonably clean. There are some definite deferred maintenance issues. All in all a good place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Exceptional value for location in Del Mar. Walking distance to beaches and restaurants. Has all amenities on site. Small, charming feel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Overall very pleased

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The hotel is significantly nicer than three years ago. Clean with a great modern shower, great location Hotel is significantly nicer than three years ago. Clean with the great modern shower, great location and you can walk to almost anywhere in Del Mar. Main complaint is that attached café. Go to Stratford or somewhere else instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tijuana, Mexico

Nice and comfortable hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice Beds, clean room, good location. Pool & Spa closes too early at 9:00 PM Front desk staff was not available 24 hours as they mentioned at check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Clemente, CA

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Much better than our expectations, great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Hotel, Better Value

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Really great stay. Convenient walk to anything you could need/want. Room was nicely appointed and very clean. Ocean view from the balcony was great. Staff was friendly and helpful. Overall package is hard to beat at price point. Highly recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Doors need rubber stoppers or something

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our room was located on the first floor. The door banging starts at 7 am. I think it's the employees getting in and out of a supply room. Also you hear them talking in the hallway. Their doors need more reinforcement at least in closing the doors, as it bangs loudly. The place is great without that noise early in the morning. Bring your ear plugs you will enjoy you stay better. Also pool hours needs to be open a little longer at least on weekends, it closes at 9 pm everyday. They charge $250 for incidentals I thought that was a lot most hotels put a hold on your card but not that much. More often than not people don't usually have incidentals. Otherwise the hotel location is their best asset.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by thomas mackey, Hotel Management
Dear Joyce: Thank you for your comments on Expedia, we'll investigate your noise concerns, especially in the mornings. Regarding our $250.00 Incidental/Security Authorization, it's only that, we don't charge your credit card. Thank you for your comments. Sincerely, Thomas Mackey Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calabasas, CA

Nice, Convenient Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Location, affordability, and comfort. Also, the bathroom was brand new and very nice.
Cons: The smell in the room of hotel deodorizer - I think. Had to open the window to freshen up room, but that was it. Everything else was fine.
Location: Close to everything - beach, town, racetrack, freeway.
My Expedia check-in was great! All the staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was comfortable and the mattress was excellent. The hotel is very convenient if you are going to the Del Mar Racetrack. I hope to be able to stay there again sometime for the same occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NM

Lovely setting, ocean views

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Wainscoting, crown molding, good location, nice rooms. Very updated and charming
Cons: Staff at onsite cafe ignored me when I tried to get in to dinner 5 min early. Housekeeping was loud despite my do not disturb sign. Parking.
Location: Del Mar Racetrack, beach, quaint shops and restaurants.
I was very impressed with the care taken in designing/updating this charming hotel, which is close to "downtown" Del Mar, and provides balconies overlooking the pool or the ocean.