Ratings based on 408 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

On The Beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
This motel is a gem. Located next to two of the finest restaurants in Del Mar, and 30 steps from our room to the sand, it's a fabulous location. Next to lifegaurds. Clean rooms with free parking. We loved the complimentary boogie boards, however they do need to be replaced as they get used heavily and were all pretty worn. Still, it was so nice to have them available! The rooms' walls are rather thin, but the staff is responsive to loud guests and we had no trouble sleeping. Limited laundry facilities (4-7pm only) made it impossible for us to use this service, as it's when we typically walked into town to eat. I suggest expanding these hours to include a morning or midday option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

On the beach!

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Great location! Nothing fancy but it was clean. Close to everything & steps to the beach. Front desk manager was very nice & very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Rodney

Great weekend get away

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous location right on the beautiful white sands of Del Mar Beach. Next to great beach side restaurants and short walk to many others. South facing rooms do get some noise in the am from deliveries to the restaurants but that was a slight inconvenience...get up and go to the beach for a walk! Rooms recently redone with hard wood floors, huge televisions, and free Wi-Fi. I definitely would stay here again. Why spend $500.00 a night at Auberge which is behind this hotel on the other side of the strete and not on the beach!! Be sure to book close beach restaurants in advance as the best seat fill up early!
4 out of 5
by Rhonda

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
We liked the spacious room, access to the beach, the patio and bbqs, the sitting area to watch the ocean. You should mentions the shops and restaurants that are walking distance so guest have other restaurants options. We felt the room was a little pricey.
4 out of 5
by amber

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Great Location, great views, had a wonderful time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sun City, CA

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: The Poseidon Restaurant next door and the Americana up the street are both great for the food they serve.
They up charge you for a ocean view and the only way to see it is by sitting on the front edge of bed. Very disappointed and the charge was ridiculous for this. Rooms are from the 50's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Fantastic, low-key spot at the beach

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Took a one-night staycation here for my husband's birthday and it was perfect. Steps from the sand, lounge chairs, fine dining and more. Rooms were nice enough, especially considering we were coming in from the beach and sand inevitably gets everywhere. Rates were so reasoanble for the area and location. We'll definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: It overlooks a nice beach. Is very close to excellent restaurants and shopping.
We were there for the La Jolla 1/2 Marathon. The route goes right by the hotel, which was great for us. But the hotel did not inform other guests that they would not be able to leave the hotel between 7:30ish and 8:45ish because the road would be closed.
5 out of 5
by pamela

staycation

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
great place to stay,and great location