Ratings based on 736 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel Valley

Great beach-close hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Biking, beaches, restaurants (casual and find dining), coffee, commuter train that spans Downtown San Diego to Oceanside in the north.
This hotel was booked for my parents (in their 70s) and it was close to the beaches (walking distance), restaurants, shops, coffee, etc. Easily accessible from the Intersate. A $40 uber from the San Diego airport (about 22 miles south). Breakfast buffet was included and had everything you would need in for a full meal.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2017
We arrived a little early but was informed our room wasn't ready, but we were able hang out by the pool and they would call us when it was ready. After a few hours of checking on the status, and watching quite a few people get their keys, I finally questioned it and was told those people had 2 queen bed rooms, whereas my reservatiin was for a king. Had I been offered to switch, I would've done that hours earlier.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stayed in Solana Beach from Lodi.

Friendly staff

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Staff was friendly and nice. Hotel not up to date. Bathroom not very clean. We had 4 people only 3 towels. Ac could not be adjusted room was hot at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Best option for the price. Free breakfast (eggs and pancakes included) and spacious rooms. Very close to beach, shopping, food and grocery. We visit annually and always stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Location: The location was perfect and the main reason we stayed there
The bathroom had a very strong smell and the shower leaked
5 out of 5
by Christopher

Great stay

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and staff were very nice. Breakfast was delicious.
1 out of 5
by chris

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
don't stay here bad hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach-Del Mar was good. Not fabulous, but a good value. Location was good, but did involve a good walk to the beach that included 124 stairs. The free breakfast was adequate - pancakes not waffles as the picture showed. This Holiday Inn is a little more worn than others I have stayed in.
5 out of 5
by Margie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rita

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Pretty nice hotel--breakfast adequate, clean room, comfy bed except pillows were way too fluffy for me as I have neck problems, so had to roll a towel up & sleep with that under my neck. Our cooling unit had an annoying rattle that made it hard to get to sleep my first night, but was used to it by the 2nd night. I told the desk clerk at check out & he called someone to look into it right away. I would stay here again.