Ratings based on 526 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Posted May 18, 2018
I love the ambiance at L'Auberge. It's a lovely, romantic property with views of the ocean and greenery of Del Mar. The staff is warm and welcoming (got a glass of prosecco at check-in) and the beds are very comfortable. Be aware that there are no grocery stores or convenience stores nearby so you may want to plan on stopping somewhere for bottles of water, snacks, etc. to avoid the hefty mini-bar charges. That leads me to my main complaint about the hotel – there are charges for everything. In addition to the $39 a night resort fee, there is an additional $39 a night parking fee (there are not really any other parking options nearby, most are 20 minute or 2 hour parking spots). I was charged more than $4 for a drip coffee in the morning and while I know room service is always somewhat pricey, there is fine print that there’s a $10 surcharge for all room service orders. I was really disappointed by all of these charges at such a nice resort where you’re already paying a premium to stay. Also, I had booked my mom and I mother’s day massages at the spa and my experience was not the best. My massage therapist seemed new and did not know how to give a hot stone massage (thankfully my mom’s experience was much better). My room was close to the lobby and it was rather loud both at night and early in the morning. All in all, I would stay here again as the location and views can't be beat but I would be better prepared next time for the lack of nearby amenities and extra charges.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2018
Clean, friendly and accomodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skaneateles NY

Wonderful hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 8, 2018
Excellent in all respects and in such an ideal location! We highly recommend the L’Auberge Del Mar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from HB, Ca

Lovely Stay, Great Service!

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: Coastal location, excellent service from the staff and management.
Cons: Bedding could be more comfortable.
The service is so wonderful here, it got us off to a wonderful weekend of fun and partying. Great job, everyone!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: pool area bartender that can make drinks well. non drinkable martinis
Hotel very nice, rooms nice, service was very good. Disappointed in pool area. Need of an update. Hot tub tiles missing. Furniture worn and tattered. Never saw anyone come out to pick up area. Dirty towels not picked up, food left out. Birds were dropping food allover furniture. Drinks at bar sub par
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Perfect Beach and Del Mar Walking Location

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Pros: Location, cleanliness and pleasant staff.
Cons: Attention to the pool area in the off-season.
Location: Convenient to the beach and the town of Del Mar. Close to local attractions and great dining.
We absolutely enjoyed our Del Mar vacation at L’ Auberge. Perfect location and view. Our room was clean and the staff are professional and friendly. We liked walking the beach and the town of Del Mar right from our hotel. L’ Auberge breakfast lunch and dinner have fresh and creative choices, all were delicious. We look forward to staying here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2018
Room decor was good. However food service situation not good. Only outside deck available. Breakfast coffee not available. Only low cost items available for fee. Restaurant only on weekends. Menu expensive and limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018 on Orbitz
Great service, great location, highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

It was fine

Posted Jan 25, 2018 on Hotels
Stayed for one night and paid $50 more for a cabana room. It was located right next to the restaurant and while my cabana area was nice it was too close to people having dinner so I couldn’t take advantage of it without feeling like I was sitting at someone’s table. Inside with the door closed was a little loud- also found a dirty wash rag that was left outside near the door to the cabana, probably left by accident by the cleaning crew.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, QLD Australia

put it onto your to-do list

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Wotif
from the moment you enter the drive way and walk into the lobby we knew it was everything we hoped for and so much more...the location is incredible, far enough from the hustle and bustle yet just a 20-30 minute drive to San Diego. this is certainly one place to return to for us and one that if you are after something relaxing and romantic, well that's your spot and it won't disappoint. great property and the detail and feel is just something different and unique to any other place we have stayed over the years. put it onto your list...for sure!