Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Susanne from Austria

wie zuhause...

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
sehr nette gespraeche gefuehrt mit den hosts. das fruehstueck war sehr liebevoll hergerichtet worden und super lecker!
5 out of 5
by Meryl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Needs renovation

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Located in the heart of the San Luis Valley, it has incredible views.
Cons: The whole place needs to be done over. They have been running it for 17 years and it hasn't been upgraded since they opened.
Location: Stunning area, 1/2 hour drive from The Great Sand Dunes, The Scenic Rio Grande Railway and several national forests.
We felt like we were staying at our granparents' house; our host was friendly but everything in our room was a bit musty, the bed was lumpy and a bit saggy, there was not enough hot water to even use the whirlpool bathtub, and the breakfast was composed of canned and frozen ingredients, which we had to eat under our kindly hosts eye. This included having to down the absolute worst coffee ever!
5 out of 5
by Mike from Arvada, CO

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great little house with very nice hosts! Personal touch and a yummy breakfast. Very peaceful and relaxing setting, and a super comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

close to the wildlife refuge

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: It was close to the wildlife refuge. Comfortable at an affordable price. Mark fixed great home-style breakfasts.
Cons: The shower didn't really work right. The TV should be updated. Although the place is up for sale so the owners may not want to do anymore.
Location: I went there for the Sand Hill Crane festival. But the Sand Dunes are close by as well as the mountains and several ski areas.
Mark and Judy were very hospitable and friendly. Very helpful in suggesting places to eat and other activities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place on the edge of town

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Caretakers, Mark & Judy were excellent hosts. Room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast of eggs, juice, toast & coffee was well presented and a great way to start the day. Can't forget their dog Hazel!
4 out of 5
by Kurt from Yulee, FL

Railroad partnership

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Mark and Judy could not have been nicer! The room and home were first class - above what we have come to expect from B&Bs. The breakfasts were wonderful with local fresh fruit and well cooked menu. Our only demerit was the property next door. While the owners can do little about neighbors, they were a drawback to our stay. We were in the area for the Rio Grande Railroad trip and concert and we must say, the combination rated a big A+!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small Town, Great People!

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
We had a wonderful time at the AppleLodge Bed and Breakfast! Beautiful location, relaxing atmosphere, amazing food and great hosts!
5 out of 5
by Michael from Littleton

Small town hospitality

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
The host's were very freindly and hospitable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

First timer Satisfied

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Excellent customer service! Comfortable bed and great breakfast! So helpful and caring. We would recommend to anyone. It was like staying at a very good relatives home.