Ratings based on 139 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ransom canyon tx

clean, cozy and economical

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: family owned, lives at property. Microwave, fridge, big shower. Local artwork in lobby. fast wifi. clean and cozy.
Cons: coffee maker in room. couldn't find the ice machine.
Location: Right on the main drag in Del Rio so everything was very conveniently nearby to walk or a short drive.
last minute booking for a friends funeral, reserved on expedia via internet. Cheaper than the chain hotels but right on the main boulevard in Del Rio tx. Special request for two rooms next to each other was honored and reservations were ready with a smile even with a late check in due to unforseen delays on my part.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2016
for the price the room was very good. Very neat and clean facility. Disappointed in their continental breakfast choice. But there are restaurants near by. The only negative might be the strong smell of the soaps and cleaning solutions used in laundry of sheets and pillow cases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A surprise! Great room!

Posted Oct 17, 2015
The hotel signage is a little bit bland and do not have curve appeal. But the rooms are renovated, clean and great value for the price. Pool looked nice and clean also. I recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by joe

one night

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
not a bad hotel to stay in. Seemed clean for the most part. However, cockroaches always seem to dispute that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jaime from Austin

Check up on your guests every now and then.

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
We rented 2 rooms for the weekend while we were in Del Rio attending a family reunion. The entire hotel has been remodeled and you can tell quite a bit of money has gone into the renovation. With that said, anyone that has been to Del Rio or West Texas during the dog days of summer knows that a properly working A/C is vital to sleeping well. We typically do not care so much about room size or decor as we do being able to sleep comfortable at night. Beds and a properly working A/C does it for us. Well, let me get to the bottom of things. Though our A/C was cooling properly it seems the blower was not. Friday night when we checked in we left the room with the A/C running only to come back around 12 midnight and noticed the room was somewhat warm. I called the front desk and asked if they had a fan. The gentleman promptly brought one to our room which we kept the rest of the weekend. I guess my grip would be that not once after he dropped off the fan did he bother to inquire about our comfortableness or to offer to move us. We did alright considering we were outdoors all day at the family reunion but it sure would have made it a more enjoyable stay here had the staff been a bit more attentive about our A/C dilemma. Other than that the hotel is a nice place to stay for a couple of nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from College Station Tx

Good Night

Posted Sep 4, 2015 on Hotels
Old hotel with new remodel and good clean rooms and bathrooms. Good beds! Don't be fooled by the old sign - this is a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James from Georgia

Nice little hotel in downtown Del Rio!

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
A nice privately owned hotel in main downtown Del Rio area. This is the first hotel I've stayed at in Del Rio so it is hard to rate against others but it is clean and comfortable. The staff was nice and overall the place is decorated very well and welcoming. I was happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by David from Los Angeles

Comfortable Room and Friendly Staff

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
The Whispering Palms is run by a wonderful family who are putting their heart and soul into the property. There is nothing they won't do for their guests. They are in the process of refurbishing the property, which has great potential. There isn't much to choose from in Brownsville, and I found the Whispering Palms to be a charming stop on my cross-country trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Very clean and nice basic hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Very clean. Good location.
Cons: The towels were very hard. The wifi was extremely slow.
Location: There is a good restaurant, Manuel's, next door. Del Rio is not a very big place so you are close to just about everything.
Friendly staff and clean room. The wifi was very sow so do not plan on using it for work. The breakfast is generally just sweet rolls and toast but one day the manager cooked eggs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to the dentist

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Great stay! The room was clean with lots of room. Sam, the owner's son, who was usually around to help at the desk, is a great guy, very personable! Enjoyed the stay.