Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands / India

Staff ruins a nice hotel

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The cleanliness of the room in general were ok besides the fact that we had dirty bedsheets (with bloodstain and yellow spots). Other blankets were delivered... they also had stains but did smell "fresh". The main issue was the staff... only one member of staff greeted us throughout our stay!! The uniforms were also very dirty and in general the male staff just looked scruffy. They have many names from regular guests on the doors, but for sure we will never return!
4 out of 5
by Sunil

Pleaser to stayed

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Very central, surprisingly quiet room, great staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Centrally located, quiet room if at back of hotel. Lots of lovely snacks in the mini bar, chocolate, crisps, biscuits! Tea,Coffee & Water etc.
Cons: All was fine for me.
Location: Parhargang has lots to offer as everything accessible by taxi/tuk-tuk and for me, as mad and chaotic as it gets, it feels very real and alive.
Pahargange is one of the noisiest, busiest areas in Dehli as it's so close to the main railway station, but as a solo female traveller I have found it very comforting and safe to walk around for that very reason..lots of people, lots of tourists, and the Hotel Ajanta, although really central, had amazingly quiet rooms. I had booked a room with a window, but on arrival (late after 10pm) was given an internal room with no window but I was tired and it was late so I accepted it. However, next morning, even though I'd had a good nights sleep, it did feel a little claustrophobic for me, so I asked for a window room and was happily taken around 3 different rooms and given a choice. I actually decided to upgrade, for not a whole lot more money, to a larger 'suite' with a lovely balcony on the 4th floor as I was going to be there for 4-5 days. It was great. Staff on reception extremely helpful, as were all the other staff. Will definitely use again.
4 out of 5
by Narmal

Worth every penny.!

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
Stay was good.. staff were nice and pleasant. The food was very good and tasty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Useful for short stopover

Posted Mar 7, 2017
This hotel was handy for walking or a tuk tuk to the New Delhi Train Station where we purchased train tickets from the Foreign Tourist Office upstairs. We stayed 2 nights. The breakfast was good, the restaurant food very good and the coffee shop opposite was good for people-watching. Our room was located above the coffee shop and was not as well kept as similarly priced rooms from experience. The housekeeping staff knocked on the door at 5.50pm and we felt this was too late to clean the room. There is a travel advisor who gave us good information but 3 times tried to convince us to use a private car. The street outside the hotel is very busy and noisy with horns, shouting and dogs barking. This reduces considerably between 2am-5am. Definitely the noisiest road I have ever stayed on. It was handy to have the restaurant and coffee shop there but I would recommend looking for a more modern hotel that is looked after well with better windows even if they are not double glazed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Team Ajanta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Our endeavor is to provide the best of all services to all our guests. While we are happy to know that the various facets of our hotel gave you a comfortable stay, we regret the glitch you had to face during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you soon with improved services and a glitch free stay! Best Regards, Team Ajanta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Good location and good food at the restaurant.

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Hotel was clean and basic which was great for the price. Only downside was we all got bit by bed bugs. The duvets were stored in a cupboard and I don't know if it was that or the pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Team Ajanta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Guest feedback is very important to us and we take your feedback very seriously. Our excellent services have always garnered us positive reviews from our guests. And we are elated to know that your stay was par excellence as well. Looking forward to your continued patronage and many more enriching stays! Best Regards, Team Ajanta
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice hotel close to Train station

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Close to train station and main shopping market
Cons: Furnitures and beds are old fashioned and needs to be replaced
Location: Train station is nearby and main market is only walking distance
Nice hotel close to train station and main market is withen walking distance. Food was okay sometimes the water pressure in the shower will decrease but not an issue. Staff were friendly and always willing to help. I did few toll calls but the reception did not charge any money. Will come back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Team Ajanta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Guest feedback is very important to us and we take your feedback very seriously. Our excellent services have always garnered us positive reviews from our guests. And we are elated to know that your stay was par excellence as well. Looking forward to your continued patronage and many more enriching stays! Best Regards, Team Ajanta
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great Hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Staff has an attitude. Restaurant is too small for the no of rooms. We had breakfast standing. No windows in maximum rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by Team Ajanta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Guest feedback is very important to us and we take your feedback very seriously. Our excellent services have always garnered us positive reviews from our guests. However, we were not able to achieve the same during your stay which we deeply regret. We assure you of a flawless stay in the future. Looking forward to your continued patronage and many more enriching stays! Best Regards, Team Ajanta
3 out of 5
by ashok kumar

Hotel building was good condition and near to rail

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Room was small ,no ventilation or fresh air In the room my booking was included breakfast & dinner but hotel was refused to Provide food but we paid in the booking pl. check your record
4 out of 5
by John

Great location, average room.

Posted Feb 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, staff and restaurant. THe hotel offered a free airport pick up which was great. I opted for room plus breakfast and dinner which was great as it saved me having to look for somewhere to eat each night. Food choice was great with excellant service. The hotel owns the coffeee shop opposite which was great for a afternoon coffee and cake if required. The location is great if you are planning an onward journey by train as it is on minuted from the train station. A small complaint was a leak in the toilet area, which they did attempt to resolve by putting sealer on the base of the toilet bowl, however i later discovered that the problem was the overflow which i resolved myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 30, 2017 by The Hotel Ajanta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, At our hotel, guests’ feedback is treated with utmost sincerity. Our excellent services have always garnered us positive reviews from our guests. However, your experience wasn’t the same during your stay which we deeply regret. We assure you of a flawless stay in the future. Looking forward to your continued patronage and many more enriching stays! Best Regards, Team Ajanta