Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Rebecca from USA

Wonderful Surprise

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
Please read this all the way through to get the entire story. The night we arrived at the Hotel Tara Palace (me and my 2 children), I was terrified when the driver stopped in what looked like a slum and said we were at our hotel. The only thought going through my head was, "I have made a terrible mistake. How am I going to fix this?". I thought for sure we would get mugged before getting to the end of the alley where the hotel was located. The next day (in the daylight) we found that the hotel staff was very friendly and reliable, the food was delicious, and the neighborhood was safe. They helped us with everything we needed, including great tours and travel around the region. We hated to leave, and will be back for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Dear Rebecca, Thanks for sharing your opinion and looking forward to see you. Thanks Manager Hotel Tara Palace
5 out of 5
by Patricia from Bowie, Maryland

Great budget hotel with all the services you need

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel Tara Palace received a lot of kudos from budget traveler's and they were not wrong. Located in the heart of Old Delhi down what is an alleyway (your taxi or tuk-tuk will leave you at the end of it; no worries, perfectly friendly alley), this is indeed a cheap hotel with nice rooms and great service. The food is very good and they will carry a table up to the roof if you want your meal overlooking the city. They will book taxis for you, set up a pickup to and from the airport, or book a car and driver for you (which I took advantage of for the next ten days; great driver in Anil Sharma - you won't be disappointed. If you are coming to India for the first time, you can't go wrong booking here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Dear Patricia, Thanks for sharing your opinion. Hope to see you again. Thanks Manager Hotel Tara Palace
3 out of 5
by Suzanne from Montreal, Canada

Convenient for Old Delhi

Posted Mar 14, 2016 on Hotels
Right in the middle of Old Delhi, don't let the old lane way discourage you. That is Old Delhi. Pleasant staff, good veg food and room service. A few problems with wifi when we arrived but was fixed once they put in new routers. I don't think this can be helped but there was constant noise from ongoing construction going on in the hotel. Would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2016
Dear Suzanne, Thanks for sharing your opinion. First of all sorry for the inconvenience but we always try our best to serve our guest and I also assure you next time your visit will be more comfort and pleasant. Thanks Manager Hotel Tara Palace
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

周辺環境はよくないが、観光には便利。

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
世界遺産レッド・フォートまで徒歩5分と近いが、オールドデリーの雑踏の中に立地しているので、周辺の環境はよくない。部屋・設備とも古いが、機能的に問題はない。朝食は、トースト、ジュース、カフェオレ、オムレツ、バナナ付きで十分満足。
4 out of 5
by Irene from Skattkärr.

Perfect location.

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location in Old City. So close to everything. Fantastic street life. Great food. Everyone was very helpful. We recomend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from switzerland

basic but nice

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: felt safe, was clean and the staff was always there to help
Cons: little things could work better, beds could be more confortable
Location: if you love the old delhi feeling, it's a terrific location, right in the middle of the chaos
room was simple but nice and clean. beds were pretty hard but very clean. not everything was always working (wifi,...) but the staff was nice and always ready to help. food in the restaurant was nice.
4 out of 5
by Ciaran from Devon

Good hotel for Old Delhi

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Good stay, staff helpful. Airport pickup handy and waited despite delays. The room was fine, some minor issues but these were addressed by staff after time. Wifi in room not great. Overall though good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grafton, Australia

This hotel is smack in the middle of Old Delhi.

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: It was clean and comfortable respite from the polluted and noisy surrounds.Breakfast was very good. Rooftop gave a snapshot of surrounds and Red Fort
Cons: Signage to find hotel was tricky to find as hotel is along a narrow alley off main road.
Location: Near the Red Fort, mosque, spice markets, etc
If you want to experience Old Delhi, this is a great place to base yourself. It is not 5 star so don't expect it to be... But it is clean, roomy and great respite from the intensity and business of Old Delhi. The staff were excellent in helping us. The rooftop gave us a view into the ordinary lives around us and breakfast was a very decent affair to start the day. We enjoyed ourselves and Hotel Tara offered all that we needed to enjoy the essence of Old Delhi.
5 out of 5
by Sheila from Walsall West Midlands

Tara Palace - a little gem in Old Delhi

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Hotels
Staff were friendly efficient from beginning to end with excellent cheap menu. Everyone we met there was pleased with Tara Palace's situation, meals and particularly good caring service. Our tour has booked the Maiden Hotel but we returned to Tara Palace for our food!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An oasis of quietness in lively Old Delhi

Posted Nov 7, 2015
If you want to visit Old Delhi (the markets, mosques, Red Fort, ...), this is the place to be. A good value for the price: quiet, friendly staff, ok breakfast, all important sightseeings in downtown Old Delhi accessible by foot. The pickup service from the airport worked perfectly. Just don't get a shock from the neighborhood. There is life all over the place but people are friendly and go after their business. It's my second time in this hotel, and I will return.