Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, helpful and friendly staf.

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
Nice and friendly staf and guards. Very polite. Beds were good. The breakfast room was not so attractive. But they are in process building a restaurant on the deck. The wifi code had to be changed every 24 hours.Little bit irritating. Near to shopping area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, friendly staff

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
I chose this hotel after recommendations to stay in Karol Bagh. However, we found that there wasn't really much in the area and it was extremely difficult to get anywhere on foot. The hotel is located very close to the Metro though, making it quite accessible (day pass on the metro ~100 rupees). Breakfast was very simple with not much choice. Whilst we were there, the hotel was undergoing renovations which meant that the corridors were sometimes covered in sheets/general decorating stuff. One time, the smell (from refurbishment) in the corridor was so strong that we had to rush into our room in order to breathe. However, I realise that this was a temporary situation and imagine the hotel will look very nice when complete. The wifi code renewed each day, meaning you had to keep going to reception to ask for codes (one for each device). Some of the codes didn't work, so I gave up rather than repeatedly going down to reception. Room was nice, comfortable and nicely decorated. The fridge was a bit dingy and the door to the bathroom squeaked incredibly loud every time it was opened. Ordered room service a few times, mainly because it was such a hassle to find anywhere nearby to eat. Food was great and reasonably priced. Sofa, chairs and table in the room. Did a tour to the Taj Mahal via the hotel - probably overcharged and the tour guide took us to shops, obviously on commission (felt like we were being taken for mugs the entire time).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill, NC

Nice people, but not a great place

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The people are nice, for the most part, but the restaurant isn't very good, nor is it clean, and they are obviously doing repairs on the walls because there was newspaper all over it. The room was nice, and very welcoming, but that was about all that the hotel had going for it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you fro taking out the time to post a review for our hotel. We are extremely disappointed to note that your stay was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the same. We had received similar feedback with regard to our restaurant and for this reason only we had undertaken the current round of renovations. We are happy to inform that the renovation work has been successfully winded up. After the completion of this we are now equipped with a beautiful roof top restaurant, a better elevator and overall improved hotel interiors. Thank you making a special mention of the rooms and their cleanliness. We hope you would provide us with another opportunity to prove that we have improved.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chennai

Central location and near NDLS . Dinner was good

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Local travel service was good
Cons: Restaurant facility
Location: Hot water shall be made available on all days
Lots of construction activity was underway. Restaurant is pathetic
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking out the time to post a review for our hotel. We are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. We had received a lot of negative feedback about our restaurant facilities. Keeping this in mind our renovation work was undertaken. We are happy to inform that the same has been successfully winded up. After the completion of this we are now equipped with a beautiful roof top restaurant "TerraSKY", a better elevator and overall improved hotel interiors. Hot water is available on all days. Unfortunately on one of the days that you were staying with us there was maintenance work being conducted on the water pipeline due to which we had to shut supply for hot water for about 2-3 hours. Please accept our apologies for the same. Thank you for making a special mention of our location, food and travel services. We look forward to welcoming you back to an improved Suncourt Yatri. Best Regards, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Prior to leaving Canada ,I had emailed the hotel to confirm our reservation and late arrival. When we arrived though, we were told that because we had not responded to their emails while on our 14 hr flight, our rooms were gone. They found us a room for 3 people in a sister hotel but they could only have us for one night not 3 as booked. In the morning though, we could stay there or return to hotel #1 which we opted for because we could have 2 rooms. That evening, when we went to hotel #1, our luggage was still at hotel #2 and indeed we were not staying there but going to hotel #3. It was older, noisier and less clean than the other two. Then there was an issue with the rate because hotel #2 charged us more than our confirmed rate but that did eventually get resolved. Even our confirmed rate upon arrival was different then when I booked. We could not call hotels.com toll free line as the hotel could only handle calls within India. We are experiencing rate differences as well as we move in our travels and it is frustrating that we cannot be in contact. We are even using the correct conversion rate as posted on your website. I had stayed at Suncourt Yatri a decade ago and was satisfied then but I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you. Prior to releasing your room I had personally checked your mail conversation and there was no mention of a late arrival or your flight details. Only after 10 pm a decision was taken to release your booking as it was a pay @ hotel reservation. The room allotted to you on the first night could not be continued as they only had 1 room available and not 2 as per your reservation. The second day the manager had informed you that we were trying to locate rooms for you and if possible we will accommodate you in the hotel that you were initially booked in. Unfortunately the hotel was sold out for the day and you had to be provided rooms in another hotel. With regard to the pricing the same will have to be discussed with Hotels.com as we don't have any part to play in it. We only charged you what was intimated to us via Hotels.com. Also your reservation with us was for 4 nights but you only stayed three nights. We only charged you for three. We would again like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you. Best Regards, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
Attentive and friendly staff. The food was good. Overall a very good and reasonably priced stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Nice staff, really helpful. Lovely area to explore

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location
Location: It is just a great place to walk around in safety and integrate with everyday life.
We had an early morning flight but the hotel staff let us use a room to freshen up. The staff were really helpful and keen to advise. We also hired a taxi via the hotel which was very reasonable and the driver really went out of his way to give us a pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap but you end up paying the price of it.

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Unfortunately, our experience wasnt good at all. To start with, the pictures were deceitful and the room was dirty and had lots of humidity with an unpleasant permanent smell. Also even though the bathroom was in good shape, the shower had almost no water pressure and had to use bucket to shower. As of the services, the wifi was on and off all the time and we had to ask the front desk to give you the password and username every day. Breakfast is all Indian food and was on a dark basement, therefore we had to get breakfast outside everyday. Lastly, please do not use their tour services. Unfortunately, we did not have time to plan the trip, therefore we used their taxis and tour services. The drivers do not speak any english therefore wouldnt take you to where you wanted to. It s also pricey for Indians standards, and they charge you extras for absolutely everything. I understand it is budget hotel, however it was a big turn off to our getaway weekend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience faced by you during your stay with us. The humidity and odor issue in the room was because of a water seepage issue. The issue has since been rectified. The water pipeline for the room was chocked and a new one has been laid to ensure proper water pressure. Wi-Fi passwords can be requested by calling the reception they have a validity of 30 mins within which they have to be activated. We have taken up the issue faced with regard to the driver with the travel desk team. The driver has since been barred and they have tied up with better service providers to ensure quality of service. The hotel has also conducted renovation to include a beautiful roof top restaurant, a better elevator and overall improved hotel interiors. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to prove that we have improved. Best Regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
by John from India

Good but aged hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Although the hotel was close to the metro station, we would always prefer to take the cycle rickshaw to the karol barg station. Staff was very good and always helpful for any request. Room was very comfortable for a budget hotel. Only negative point i would give is that the hotel gives a very aged look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We have recently undertaken renovation work at the hotel and have taken care of your suggestion with regard to the aged look of the hotel. We are now equipped with a beautiful roof top restaurant, a better elevator and overall improved hotel interiors. We look forward to welcoming you back to a renewed Suncourt Yatri. Best Regards, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A GOOD BUDGET HOTEL

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: LOCATION.
Cons: HOTEL NEEDS TO BE REFUTRBISHED. DARK COLOURS TO BE CHANGED TO NEUTRAL COLOURS.
Location: Lot of eating places near by. Market just nehind the hotel.
Good location, metro station 5 mins walk, very dated , crying out for refurbishment, breakfast room dreary and gloomy, ( in the basement ) no ventilation, very stuffy in the summer ( visited in Apr/May). Helpful staff. Airport transfers provided at Rs. 650 per transfer. A/C noisy. We had 2 rooms on the 1st and 2nd floor. single room smelt and was damp. After complaint room was changed. Asked for non-smokimg rooms.Rooms smelt of nicotine. rooms had ash trays ,so obviously not a non-smoking room. Staff were very helpful which mitigated for shotcomings!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking out the time to post a review for our hotel. We are disappointed to note that your stay was not up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the same. We have already planned a renovation for the breakfast area and are looking at options of relocating the same from the basement. All our rooms are non smoking rooms but that does not prevent certain customers from smoking inside the room. In order to prevent damage to the room furniture an ash tray has been supplied. The rooms are opened up and sprayed with disinfectants so as to remove any unwanted odors but clearly the same wasn't effective in your room. We will certainly get the same checked and assure you that the same would not be repeated. Thank you appreciating the effort put in by our team and our location for its close proximity to markets and metro station. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you on your next visit to Delhi.