Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good value in Central New Dehli

Posted Jan 11, 2016
You can tell that the Vivanta was a spectacular hotel in its heyday in the first half of the 20th century. Today, it is a good - not great - hotel. It is clean and the staff offers superb service, but it has not been thoroughly modernized. The paint peels in some areas, the shower/bath is a tub that requires a large step up to access (and slippery large step down to exit), the carpet is faded in some spots, but in general, there is nothing really wrong with this property. It is one block over from the Khan Market, which offers some quality shopping and dining that would appeal to Western tourists. The hotel restaurant is Chinese and is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not quite what we expected

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Pros: Front of house staff. Location.
Cons: Service in the restuarant and a little less noise in the bar, theTV was so loud we couldn't stay there.
Location: Near the Khan Market. A hire car was easy to obtain to take us around Delhi. Taxis obtained by the hotel were cheap if you wanted to go somewhere spec
The hotel is old but renovated and quite up to a high standard. The front office staff and door staff were very polite and welcoming. However we didn't get the room we booked which was a Queen with a city view. We just looked into an internal courtyard. Otherwise the room was fine and the renovated bathroom was lovely. The staff in the Yellow Brick Road restuarant were indifferent. The service was slow, table not cleared, tea/ coffee / water were not offered and had to be requested every time. We got the feeling that service was beneath them. I think women staff would have been more attentive. It was all male. The Khan Market was close by and we found a nice restuarant The soda water bottle opener wallah which was quirky but fun and the beer and wine from the Wine store was massively cheaper than the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: The overall ambience and style of this old this hotel is appealing. The quirky dining room decor and menu added to its charm.
Cons: The very slow dining room service should be improved - especially when delivering pre meal drinks to the table and responding to other requests.
Location: Location is excellent as it is within short walking distance of Kahn Market
The female reception staff were extremely efficient and obliging .. both with wake up calls and when finalising our check out the night before our early morning flight from Dephi . It meant we had time for a quick breakfast before leaving for the airport at 7am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

British Delhi Location

Posted Oct 23, 2015
This hotel is an older building (1949) located in a clean area of Delhi with wide streets. It is gated with guards upon entering the property and scanning before entering the hotel. Our room was a double bed with a large sitting area and a long bench for opening two suitcases. The café has a buffet or menu breakfast and serves lunch and dinner also. It is in walking distance of several points of interest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by EriChang from Taipei

一嚐大使的古典體驗

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
酒店前身是大使館,旁邊就有一個購物與餐廳並存的市場,購物飲食都方便。酒店唯一缺點就是可以帶寵物入住,感覺很不衛生。我的床上還有兩根頭髮還是毛?
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Excellent location, excellent service

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The service and staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Khan Market & Lodhi Garden within walking distance Great Kailash markets and Connaught Place within a few miles Best location in New Delhi
This has become my 'go to' hotel in Delhi. Prior to discovering Taj Vivanta, I stayed in many hotels in Delhi, and once I stayed here, I knew this was it. The location is amazing--Khan Market and Lodhi Graden within walking distance, and other central areas of New Delhi within a few miles radius. You cannot get more centrally located that this. The service is outstanding: The staff go out of the way to make you feel comfortable and 'at home' The rooms are very spacious, some of them with wide balconies. The hotel's Yellow Brick Road restaurant is one of the best in Delhi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by rafael from Sao Paulo

Check if the refurbishes are done!

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was being refurbished... No dome, no pool, not many things to do in the hotel. :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by XERXES

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2015 on Hotels