Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stuart , Fl

Great old Hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The ambiance
Cons: Staff needs to be more up to speed on where to eat / activities. Staff needs to get off their cell phones / texting, Especially Mr. Bartender !
Location: Everything is close by, all the shopping, eating , and the beach.
Stayed here for my wife's birthday, the hotel gives you a feeling that you are in the Bahamas with all the ceiling fans , interior /exterior painting, old wood floors and furniture throughout the lobby. You can also sit out on the porch and people watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

This hotel is a throw back in the best way!

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: The decor, the staff and especially the Cabana Beach Club.
Cons: I think the lighting in the hotel needs a little updating:)
Location: You are literally in the middle of everything. Walk to shops, restaurants, galleries, the beach. Take a cab from the airport to hotel, no car needed.
The Colony hotel is a really quirky old style hotel. The decor is true to its 1926 time but super comfortable and inviting. Nothing is over the top or too pretentious. Great bar area, free good breakfast. Walking distance to everything downtown has to offer. While the pool is not on the premises you will be pleasantly surprised at the beach club a short distance by car or hotel provided transport. The saltwater pool is one of the most beautiful I’ve ever seen. The beach is great with plenty of chairs and umbrellas. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone that wants to recharge and feel human again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional and friendly in great location

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Lovely cabana and facilities, super nice staff. Bathroom dates but very clean and pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Intentionally dated. No a/c in lobby. Elevator is old style and requires an operator. Buffet is underwhelming. Not the best place to stay for business travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach

Great Downtown Landmark Hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Check in was a breeze, the staff is helpful and kind. After a lovely afternoon and evening on Atlantic Ave, we enjoyed a nightcap at the lobby bar. Rooms were clean, comfortable, bathrooms were well appointed with plenty of hot water. Breakfast in the lobby was hot and fresh and a trip to the beautiful private beach/pool completed a great birthday celebration!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Close to shops, restaurants and the beach.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The bathroom tub desperately needs resurfacing in that the center of the tub is mostly chipped off. One of the telephones in the room did not work. The morning yoga classes in the hotel are not complimentary. There's no air conditioning in the lobby. The cabaña advertised is driving distance away not on same hotel property grounds.These are just some minor set backs but I would expect better paying $185 per night plus taxes. Having said all that, I would still recommend this hotel because of the friendly desk staff, the convenient location to everything, complimentary breakfast, the exceptional Saturday night complimentary jazz guitar in the lobby, and mostly, the historical and colorful era the hotel diaplays of the 1920s.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Hotel Staff very nice and professional. What a historic building with a comfy feeling. Rooms were very spacious and very clean. Location of the hotel is outstanding. I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Old style classic

Posted Sep 30, 2017
This was my second stay here. It is a very charming old style throwback Florida hotel. It is not a new glitzy hotel but a more private cozy experience. The elevator can only be used with an operator.The front porch and bar are a great people watching spot. The lobby is brightly colored and plantation style decor. Free breakfast and coffee in the morning and a beach club as well. Nice for a change...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Awesome! Old Florida Charm!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Old Style Florida Charm!
Location: There is anything that you want to do within steps of the hotel.
We had an amazing visit to the Colony Hotel. Our room was beautiful with southern Florida charm. It was clean and spacious. The breakfast was awesome-A+ to the chef. The coffee was amazing-strong and smooth and plenty of it! The staff was awesome. So attentive and friendly. The pool and Cabana club was amazing! So beautiful, quiet and like being in paradise. We highly recommend this Hotel and will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from the villages, fl

SO convenient to all things on Atlantic ave

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Free parking, breakfast, bar, outside tables and location.
Cons: Staff is not friendly. They go out of there way to avoid eye contact. Only person to show any friendliness was one of the ladies cleaning in lobby.
Location: Eat and drink
We try to get back to Delray Beach each year and will always stay here. Walking distance to great restaurants and your beach area is wonderful