Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2013 on Hotels
room a little tight, wish they had a frig or microwave....nice view on river
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to Denali

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Pros: Lodge and made to order omelets.
Cons: More and closer parking.
Location: Denali NP is 5-6 miles up the road.
This hotel is located just down the road from Denali NP. The room is a little small with two beds, not much left over for luggage and such. The main lodge is very nice with plenty of places to sit and relax. The dinning room and bar are co-located in one large room. The breakfast we had was very good and the omelets are made to order. The only complaint I had was the lack of close by parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor service

Posted Sep 10, 2013
great location and facility; very poor customer service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by JMF from Washington DC

Overpriced and overrated Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels
At almost $550 for two nights, even in Alaska, you expect a little more for your stay. Both days I could only get lukewarm water from the shower. Many Visitors, as I did, get a view of a parking lot for garbage collection trucks and tour buses(building 7 rooms even with balconies to see this more comfortable!). The diesel engines start at 6 am and buses run frequently all day long. Restaurant is expensive and your other choices are 6 miles away
3 out of 5
by Kimberly from Jacksonville, FL

OK Choice But Isolated Location

Posted Aug 22, 2013
We stayed in Bldg. #2 which is OLD and in need of updating. Try to get a room in Bldg. #7 which is newer and MUCH nicer. (It also has a laundry room available to guests). It appeared that all the rooms in Bldg. #7 were occupied by guests on a packaged land/cruise tour while we were there so these rooms may be difficult to get on your own. This hotel is located about 5-7 miles from the center of the small town, so it is an OK choice if you have a car, but not if you are traveling by train and are dependent on the hotel's shuttle. Hotel is in an isolated location so your food choices are limited to the restaurant/bar on site. Food and service here were very average. The large deck off the back of the lodge located along the river was a nice place to enjoy a cocktail and the best spot on the property. We spent our first night at the Princess Lodge in Denali and enjoyed that much more than the McKinley Lodge where we spent our last two nights ( Princess was fully booked so we had to move to the McKinley Lodge). Room at the Princess was much nicer with better choices for dining available on its property and across the street. Try Prospectors for a great meal! Very good! Would probably not stay here again unless we could be assured of a room in Bldg. #7 and had are own transportation. Know that the choices for accommodations in Denali is very limited so you have very few options. We spent most of our time outside and very little time in our room anyways! :)
5 out of 5
by Tlf from Minneapolis

Beautiful!

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels
Our room was beautiful and clean. Bed was on the small side but who wants to sleep in Denali! The property was beautifully maintained also. Only dislike was the breakfast. Quite expensive even for Alaska and just a small buffet. Lunch and dinner at the lodge were great though!
5 out of 5
by MKR from California

Nice Hotel close to Denali

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: location and services
Cons: Wish it was Cheaper ;-) ?
Location: Deanali NP related activities
It is a Good facility and good location close to Denali. River is right behind hotel and grounds are extensive with all sort of services including Denali Tour connections. Staff is friendly and knowledgable.
5 out of 5
by Kel from KCMO

Perfect location for visits to Denali

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Close to the park. Also close to McKinley Village, but far enough away from the touristy shops to be able to enjoy nature.
Location: Denali National Park.
Stayed at the lodge for 3 nights. Room was nice and clean. Tour buses picked up at the main lodge which was very convenient. Great trails just across the bridge. The staff was very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Flyby757 from Tulsa

Great place to vacation

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels
Absolutely loved this hotel, will definitely stay there again when I return to Denali. Great location, great view.
4 out of 5
by Sharon from New Mexico

Much better than I expected.

Posted Jul 26, 2013
Pros: Location.
Cons: Dining prices were high, but are high all over Alaska.
Location: Denali is a beautiful national park. With all the sightseeing available, you don't need anything else to do.
Had a great time, weather was fantastic, scenery was everything that was promised and more, staff very courteous and competent, buildings were older, but nice. There was nothing worth griping about here.