Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Full Time RVers

McKinley Chalet

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The views, loved the lobby
Cons: More reasonably priced food options. Small refrigerators in the rooms.
Location: Denali National Park
I liked the hotel. The rooms were nice for the area and I thought the views were terrific. My only complaint was that we ate at the Steakhouse onsite and the food was overpriced and mostly not that great. The staff is friendly, the area very clean, but the prices were high considering the hotel was more than half empty the night we were there. I would recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

not a fan of this hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: very nice servers in the restaurant, convenient location although super crowded with all of the tour groups.
Cons: the entire room. linens, entry and add ac or at least a fan
Location: some restaurants nearby
We did not realize that this was Cruise trip hotel. Our room had paint peeling on the door, no AC, cramped drab space, looked out to a road going away from hotel, very tired linens (especially the towels) looked like they had been second hand and after they room was made up we only found one towel for the three of us,, poorly made up bed. We asked to change and an effort was made but the hotel was completely full. We did find that the staff behind the desk were nice as were the servers in the restaurant. I wouldn't recommend it unless you were able to be assured of a newer room and better location, and that you could bring your own towels.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

清潔で広く、レストランにも近い。駐車場も無料で便利です。

Posted Jul 20, 2016
部屋は水回りも清潔で快適です。 シャワーの水圧が少し不満になる方もいるかもしれませんが。 敷地内は広々としており、ロビーの近くにスターバックスも併設されています。 駐車場は無料なので出し入れ自由で便利でした。 レストランやお土産も近くにあり、とても楽しく過ごすことが出来ました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel needs change management

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Specifically asked about the room condition upon check-in if the end-unit room (assigned to us) is not going to be noise and request for a different room. Staff, Emily, told us the room is quite and no other room available. However, the room is disturbingly noisy as it is next to the stairs(wooden construction)that is the only access to upper floor. request to change to another room (1 HR later), we have been signed to a "clean" room filled with trash. Then, we have been assigned to another room, when we got there, we have been informed it has already been checked in by other guests. Lastly, we moved us to another room... We didn't manage to settle in until 4 room exchange and over 3 hrs after the check-in. After complaint to the "manager", they presented one breakfast voucher to us. Whoever is reading this post, make your own judgement if you would like to stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great hotel near Denali National Park

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Rustic look was very appealing.
Cons: A sign on the outside of the "Lodge"
Location: Many outdoor excursions are available within a couple minutes for booking such as rafting, fishing, flying to a glacier, and of course going to Denali
Nicely kept hotel with friendly staff. Everything was really good with the exception of having to park in a central lot and take a shuttle to the room. Inconvenient but the shuttle ran by every 15 minutes so that helped a lot. Initially drove to the "Lodge" to drop off our luggage and couldn't find it as it had no sign on the outside of the building. Seriously.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great location! Expect large crowds.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean and comfortable (though not especially large). The prices in the on-site restaurants were competitive and the food was fine.
Cons: Tourists arriving in personal cars would benefit from parking spaces near guest rooms. Wireless internet in guest rooms would be a plus.
Location: The Denali National Park Visitor Center is barely five minutes away. There are also gift shops, groceries, and restaurants very close by.
My wife and I stayed for two nights at this facility during our recent visit to Denali National Park. We slept and ate breakfasts at the resort, but spent most of our time in the park itself. We did not participate in any activities or tours provided by (or arranged through) the resort. We ate two meals in one of the restaurants and browsed in the gift shop briefly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit,MI

Hotel close to Denali park

Posted Jul 4, 2016
The hotel is closed to the Denali Natl. park. The staff for check-in is an old gentleman without any knowledge of that hotel. He gave us wrong information on the map and we couldn't figure out which cabin or building we should stay! After other staff helped us to find the building and I found the key didn't work. We drove our car three time around the hotel site since there is one way around all cabins, lodges and buildings. This is the worst experience in traveling I got so far!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birchwood, Tn

DISSAPOINTING EXPERIENCE

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: See above experience space.
Location: Lodging too expensive, outside food pricey. Denali park was beautiful, didn't see any animals. That's ok it's not a zoo.
When we got to the rooms they were roasting. I called the front desk and was told " no they did not have air conditioning, this was Alaska." The attitude did not make me happy to say the least. I was told there was a fan in the closet but we had already found it. They could at least close the windows and blinds and curtains on a hot day to keep it from being hot. One chair was stained. No small refrigerator or micro either! We had 3 in our room and had to hunt room service for enough toweling. The second room seemed ok. We were told upon registering there was a restaurant in our lodge in the complex, there was not, so we went off property. Next morning they didn't have enough cups in room for coffee for the 3 of us. We headed to the lobby to get some & had to purchase it. They do not even offer complimentary coffee to guests in the lobby?. I expect much less from a more reasonably priced hotel. Never, in my life, have I spent so much for 2 rooms!, not worth it but we wanted it to be a special treat during our visit with family. It was NOT! I did make the staff aware of all the shortcomings we encountered; they said they would pass them along to the manager They were very sympathetic and nice. I was not the only visitor upset with the facility. A lady I rode the elevator down with was dissatisfied also. It was a very disappointing end to an otherwise great stay with our family in Anchorage.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Firebaugh CA

Nice hotel, great steak house restaurant on sight,

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Good food available, great gift shop, great view & convenient location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Sauna in the mountains

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed. Peaceful surrounding. close to National Park.
Cons: Internet in all the rooms and a mini fridge for travelers
Location: Denali National Park
I saw online that there was free on premise parking and also free internet. I must have over looked the fact that it is only in the central area. The issue with this is that after check in you do have to walk or drive to your room so if you need to check the internet for travel updates, etc you will also need to drive up to the main chalet in order to get service. For as much as they charge to stay here there is no reason they can't have it accessible in the rooms. Quite an inconvenience to say the least. Then upon entering my room , the heat was cranked so high I had to strip down to a tank and shorts. I tried to adjust the floor heaters but some of them were not working and it was making me ill. I called the front desk and she said she could send maintenance who never came. She suggested I open the windows which I had to do, but staying alone and seeing solo men wandering about, it made me uncomfortable as there is nothing regulating any person from wandering about the resort. Luckily I travel with a small fan for white noise which was my only comfort. The actual room itself is nice. I was hoping for a mini fridge to keep my food for my excursion the next day and they also did not have that. I only spent the one night due to budget, but for a hotel that charges that rate a night to stay there, there should be more basic amenities available in the room itself. I know there are not many options in the area, but it was a tall price to pay for not providing some basic amenities