Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel close to Denali National Park

Posted Jun 25, 2017
My family stayed in this hotel for three nights. The staff was very courteous and helpful to allow us staying in the same room since I booked the hotel via Expedia in separate bookings. The room was not as spacious as what we paid for and it is a little over priced in my opinion. You have to manage your own breakfast. But it is Denali Alaska, where you can find serenity and lots of trail around hotel area. I will definitely stay with this hotel again if I travel to Denali park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by McKinley Chalet Resort, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for completing a review regarding your recent stay at the McKinley Chalet Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

Nicest hotel in Denali with a good location.

Posted Jun 17, 2017
Pros: Architecture and location.
Cons: More help from the staff.
Location: Excellent location on the main street.
Very nice hotel, elegant, good transportation, love the architecture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay outside of Denali and drive in

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Room was comfortable
Cons: Customer service
Terrible customer service. Charged and extra 167$ F&B tax while other hotels charged less than $20.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, Alaska

Located in Glitter Gulch (Denali Village)

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Location good. Karstens restaurant on site had slow service in the morning but the food was great and the prices were in line with the area.
Cons: Communication. Would have liked to know we weren't receiving the type of room we requested.
Location: Many touristy things are within walking distance. Shuttles to restaurants and to Denali Park. Took bus tour in the park and whitewater rafting trip.
We requested one king bed. We received a double bed and a single bed. Too tired on arrival to quibble. The double bed led to uncomfortable sleep, as when one person moved, the whole bed jiggled. The next night we slept separately. Relatively expensive but perhaps not for the location. Would have been nice to have microwave and fridge, which we have received in other hotels that charged far less. Very clean, nicely decorated rooms and buildings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Nice rooms if you can get into one of the refurbished lower cabins by the river. Terrible staff and private tour booking system.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too touristy.

Posted May 28, 2017
Congested area with bus traffic to Denali park. Not much in the way of shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Good location for visiting Denali NP

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Lobby area, location and views are nice.
Cons: Check in process, employee training, and especially the quality of restaurant food.
Location: Denali is the obvious major attraction nearby. Prospector's Pizzeria and Alehouse across the street from hotel has great beer selection and good pizza
Check in was not crowded but still took a really long time. Nobody seemed to know what they were doing. In fairness, it was I think their first or second day open for the season, so still learning I guess. Rooms old and dated, but pretty clean (except for a few dead bugs) and comfortable. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant down the hill by the rooms. Ordered beef brisket. Was terrible - probably 70% fat - sent it back. Even the waiter said after he looked at it "I can't believe they sent that out"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 23, 2017
Very nice stay - would recommend to anyone looking for the closet thing to 5 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Beautiful view of the river.

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Centralized location and with in walking distance to gift shops.
Cons: It would be nice if you could offer package discounts for Alaskan Residents.
Location: There was a lot to do nearby. Shopping was close, there were a lot of available tours.
We stayed at the building close to the river. We had a balcony you could see and hear the river from there. It was just beautiful. It was a short walk to the fire pits and the nightly entertainment was great. The hotel staff were very friendly. I enjoyed my stay. I would go again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

Location good - service delivery terrible!

Posted May 20, 2017
Stayed here first week it opened 2017. Staff didn't know what they were doing - no one was trained. Shuttle driver didn't pick up at train station, room keys not assigned correctly and took 30mins to fix because room is so far from front desk. Luggage took over 2 hours to get to rooms. Tried to buy a snack, literally took employee plus manager to ring up sale because they didn't know system and worst of all - we stayed at hotel for on site excursions, when we show up at excursion desk the THREE we wanted to go on were canceled! Very very very disappointing and a total low point in our trip. Don't count on anything working as expected here.