Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel. Good access to Denali National park.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Close to Denali National Park
Cons: It may be nice to improve their parking infront of the cabins.
Location: Hiking
We stayed end of September so that most of the service including Denali National Park tours are all closed but we had a good time to drive with my own car to see the wild animals and flowers. We also enjyoed hiking around the hotels and National park area. Overall this hotel's facility and foods were very good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Big Lake, Alaska

Excellent service and great facilities.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The price was reasonable, the accommodations were very nice and a close drive to Denali Park.
Location: Located in McKinley Village so close to all the gift shops and restaurants. Just 5 minutes from the entrance to Denali Park.
We drove up from the Matanuska Valley and arrived late for our one night stay and were greeted pleasantly by the staff and escorted down to our parking area then taken to our building. The rooms were clean and we had a view of the river. There were two restaurants and a bar, as well as other accommodations on the property. We had an excellent breakfast the next morning in their restaurant with professional staff and pleasant views. It was only 5 minutes from Denali Park so very convenient for our visit there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chugiak, AK

Older, clean, nice view

Posted Sep 25, 2016
We had an amazing view of the river but the room had a strong bad smell & the bed was hard. An inexpensive mattress topper would have made a huge improvement & we couldn't quite figure out the strange odor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kasilof Alaska

Expected better

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Shower was good.
Narrow room. I asked for a queen bed but got a double and twin, which were against opposite walls, so I had to climb over my gf to get out of bed. Guests above us must have walked back and forth 50 times starting at 3 am, squeaking the floor/ceiling with every step. Kind of tacky: the pictures were attached to the walls with drywall screws through the frame.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Got the job done.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: convenience, price
Cons: update in rooms.
Location: Denali National Park
A little worn out in the older rooms, lumpy beds, etc, but great location. Plenty of drinking and eating options, convenient to the park. Would stay here again....Not the Ritz, but comfortable enough and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Spot- no traditional Amenities

Posted Sep 23, 2016
A "cruise line" owned facility. No hot tub, pool, steam etc. Good food service and strong quality.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Resort in scenic location

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Scenery, quiet location, beautiful building.
Cons: Offer an economical dining option.
Location: The main attraction is natural setting - hiking in summer, skiing in winter. Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center is a few miles south.
We got a great deal on Expedia due to it being late September, which is after summer season and before ski season. It was cheaper than even most budget hotels in central Anchorage (and far nicer and more scenic). Beautiful grounds and all rooms have mountain views (which are on both sides of hotel). If you go in winter it will be expensive because it is a ski resort with a chair lift and gondola right at the base of the hotel. Only downside to a resort is that meals are expensive - even the breakfast buffet is twenty bucks. The very few restaurants in Girdwood are pricey as well (though there is a Subway and a pizza place where the road meets the main highway).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Nice hotel with many amenities

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: It was clean, modern and offered a great rate for its location.
Cons: More sound proofing around rooms.
Location: We went into Denali National Park and ate at some of the local restaurants.
We stayed at the McKinley Chalet at the very end of the tourist season at Denali National Park and we were pleased with the accommodations. The room was clean and modern and ours offered a separate sitting and bedroom which was nice. This hotel is definitely touristy and caters mainly to cruise passengers and I would imagine would be very crowded and hectic during the summer but we would definitely consider saying here again in the fall. Our only complain was that the rooms are housed in separate buildings with eight or 10 per rooms per building and it didn't seem like there was much sound proofing done in between them, you could hear people coming and going and moving about at all hours of the night and I could see it not being enjoyable if you are a light sleeper.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wasilla, AK

Nice hotel but lay out is confusing

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Nice hotel. Close to Denali Park entrance. Very large property, so grounds & layout are bit confusing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

A forest setting getaway

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I liked the forest setting and the size of the rooms.
Cons: Customer service. Offer to wake people up if the Aurora is visible.
Location: The hotel is very near the entrance to Denali National Park. The town is small and expect to pay an extremely high price for food and gas.
We were in the registration line and I expected a registration clerk to say "I can help you" or at least acknowledge me. They just starred at me so I went to the station closest to me. Customer service is lacking which is surprising because the hotel is owned by a cruise line. The rooms are scattered around the property and there is a shuttle to get around although I waited a while for one in the evening. We stayed just one night and the stay was pleasant enough and the rooms were nice. We stayed in the Cottonwoods area and had a nice view of the river. We were going to the park and bought the box lunch at the hotel for $15.00; it was the best price in town. Bring snacks and drinks with you if you can or you'll be paying $6.00 for a small box on Cheesit's in town. The breakfast buffet at the restaurant near the fire pit was pretty good and your beverage is included in the price.