Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Family of 4 from Miami, FL

Best hotel in the area

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Pros: The view
Very well run....accommodations don't get better than this in Alaska. The view of Mt Mckinley was phenomenal!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami and Palm Coast FL

Not too bad

Posted Sep 14, 2011
Not really in Trapper Creek proper. 30 miles or so north of where I thought it would be. Overall, a decent place to stay but the beds need to be thrown away and replaced with all new mattresses.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Olympia wa

Wonderful trip

Posted Aug 9, 2011
We lived in Alaska for 30+years and have always enjoyed staying at the lodge. It a wonderful place to explore and go to Byers lake for a hike. Good food and fun.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Lacks some basic amenities

Posted Jul 28, 2011
We booked last minute as a change of pace from staying up near Denali Park. The hotel is pretty basic - very clean, friendly staff. And although we didn't see Denali because of bad weather, I'm sure the view from the property is awesome. The hotel lacks basic amenities I would expect for the price: there are no coffee makers in the rooms. No microwaves or access to any (I just wanted some hot water for tea late in the evening). While there are many food options, it would have been nice if there were some healthy snacks available for purchase - there were a few oranges/apples at the coffee shop, but everything else was high carb, high sugar, even the yogurt had a lot of sugar in it. No stores nearby, so if you do stay here, pick up some things before you get here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Latrobe, PA

Princess Wilderness lodge was a wonderful surprise!

Posted Jul 26, 2011
The lodge was so warm and welcoming. We could have sat by the fireplace for hours. However we had too many things to see. Excellent view of Mt Mckinley from the lodge. The rooms were spread out around the grounds. Which meant you had to walk a litte to get to the lodge. After flying in a plane for hours and driving in a car we were happy to walk for awhile. I wish we could have stayed longer. The lodge is about l 1/2 hours from Denali. This is the one drawback if you are planning on visiting Denali. There isn't anything near the lodge except excellent views of some awesome scenery. Good hiking area also. Would love to stay here again and enjoy some of the trails.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Pretty area, but too remote and service is lacking

Posted Jun 7, 2011
The hotel offers some nice things like a few great restaurants and a good gift shop, but the location is far more remote than I understood. If Mt. McKinley was out, the location would be spectacular, but it was cloudy the week we were there, so no benefit to being at this hotel, it was just too out of the way for me. Also, my son caught the stomach bug from one of the cruise ship groups that flock to the hotel, and while the hotel information book in the room claims that they will offer extra services when this happens if you let them know, when I let the front desk and housekeeping know, the front desk acted indifferent and housekeeping told me that that meant they could not service our room. So, I had to do my own housekeeping for the duration of our stay, which I understood, but it contradicted their claim of providing extra services when this occurs, so I was not impressed. The staff was mostly all college students who were new to the area entirely, so were not familiar with much about Alaska or the area, so any questions I had about things in the area were met with blank looks. They were friendly and nice, but not well informed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland oregon

Amazing

Posted Sep 15, 2010
Awesome hotel in the middle of nowhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Beautiful suroundings, Log cabin effect

Posted Aug 12, 2010
Being a Princess hotel it was top notch. It is right off the Parks Hwy at mile 133. It can be over run by tours coming through but it is large enough to work around. It has a great view of the south face of McKinley. The food was good and the whole atmosphere was warm. All the amenities in the wilderness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mission Viejo, Ca

Great Scenery

Posted Sep 30, 2009
The rooms spacious enough, but pretty simple. The real attraction is the views of Mt. McKinnley from the Hotel. They are magnificient. A good place to stop for a night on the way to Denali.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laneville, Tx

will go back

Posted Sep 23, 2009
everything was great, good service, easy check-in and check-out meals were very good