Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Hotel close to Denali park Alaska

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Very well maintained and within good locations based on where we were going for the day. Would recommend to other.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor reception service

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The stay is good. However, the staff couldn't print the receipt, neither send in email when I check out. I still don't know how much they charged as of today.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wasilla, Alaska

Decent place to stay

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to Denali, shuttle service among buildings, friendly staff.
Cons: Better towels and mattresses! Wi Fi in the room. Make sure the coffee bar is stocked with enough coffee and cups for all occupants.
Location: Right around the corner from Denali National Park. 'Nuff said.
Staff was generally friendly and helpful but busy. The room's amenities aren't all that great; no fridge, no Wi-Fi in the room, etc. Towels were scratchy and small but did the job, and the mattress was way too soft for our comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Central location in city

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: 24-hour helpful staff, variety of food at breakfast, good location for us.
Cons: Can't think of anything right now.
Location: We had rented a car and we were able to get around easily. This is a small city. There are highways to take you places easily.
The location was good for us. Some pretty good restaurants in walking distance. We had rented a car and it was easy to get to the major tourist attractions like the museum at the University of the North, hiking trails, Chena Hot Springs, the pipeline, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well maintained resort for the remote Denali

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Very well maintained resort for the remote Denali national park. A bit expensive and breakfast is not included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Excellent place in a beautiful setting. Wished we could've stayed longer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Kristi Salonen Hotel Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your input! We hope to see you soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ky

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: It had a private balcony overlooking a river
Cons: Price was high
our particular building was hard to find and no place to drive up and drop off luggage
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Kristi Salonen Hotel Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your input! We will look into more cohesive directional signage! We hope to see you soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Terrible place.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
My family is four. Four people were booked at the hotel and paid service fee, taxes. When we entered the room, there was one double bed and one single bed. It is too cramped for sleeping two people on a single bed. We ruined our mood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Kristi Salonen, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at the McKinley Chalet Resort. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the overall accommodations. We strive to provide an excellent experience to all who visit and Denali. I apologize for your the miscommunication on your bed type. If you have the opportunity to visit our beautiful area again, please let me know, I would like to personally supervise your experience. Again, I apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Thank you, Kristi Salonen | Hotel Services Manager | McKinley Chalet Resort
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, although.....

Posted Jul 4, 2017
We only stayed one night, but I did notice the great location, the room was very clean and the staff was terrific! There were shuttles to take you places, although I dont know how often they came. Loads of tour buses. If you are expecting amenities because of the high price, don't. It's all about location! No refrigerator, no iron, no A/C. The ice machine was all the way at the next bldg! If not for the nice rustic look ok outside, it looks basically a motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what it is

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Rooms are terribly outdated. For what they charge per night, they could at least freshen up their decor. However, the grounds themselves were very nice and well maintained. Very nice staff.