Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gone downhill

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was awful and good really mediocre. I stayed here a couple of years ago, but it has really gone downhill since then
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Historic inn in small town

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff and comfortable room. Good wifi.
Cons: Couldn't turn the tv on, so I just streamed things on wifi.
Location: Quiet, very small town in the Welsh countryside. Great if you like the outdoors.
Very well located inn with rooms in the small town of Denbigh. Quiet pub and decent rooms. Very approachable staff. Set in rolling hills so great for walkers (I imagine - not that I walked anywhere as I was on a business trip). A high point was the Welsh breakfast - great local bacon, sausages and black pudding.
4 out of 5
by Mr J a

Good place to stay in north wales

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Very good hotel. Food was excellent. Hotel and room very good and comfortable. Nice location
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Burnley

Interesting/quirky historic coaching inn

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
A really interesting old coaching inn with lots of period features and quirky details. Most of the service was first class, although there was a mix up over breakfast. Evening meals served in the bar, reasonable range geared to meat lovers, was OK. The Full Welsh Breakfast, comprising locally sourced ingredients was amazing!
5 out of 5
by lee from Hereford

Great hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic food. Always return to this hotel when working in the area
4 out of 5
by Marilyn from Bawley Point, Australia

The old Bull

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Was a decent enough stay right in the heart of Denbigh. Was a little worried as there is no way of stopping the general public leaving the bar and walking up to the rooms but all was well. The rooms are well presented but up a few flights of stairs if you're elderly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good value

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Location: Centre of medieval market town in North Wales. Plenty of sightseeing opportunities available. Makes a good base.
Good room, very pleasant staff, excellent and filling cooked breakfast. Other food-- good bar food. Hotel has lots of character and real coal fire!
3 out of 5
by john from Caernarfon

Disappointing.

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
Wasn't there much as I was working, but it was fine. From what I saw, the price didn't reflect the quality of the hotel. It was a bit dear for what you got. Parking was terrible, and cleanliness and quality of the breakfast room wasn't very good. Clean cutlery was hard to find, and grotty sticky tables. Bedroom wasn't much better. They've tried to be fancy by putting a bath in the bedroom, but if you're six foot tall and above you can't fit in the bath. No option of a shower, or shower head either.
5 out of 5
by Corinne from Melbourne, Australia

Pleasant hotel, good value for money.

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay in a very interesting and old hotel. Nice room with character and comfort and in the town centre. Restaurant food was typical pub grub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad but could be better

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
I stayed there for business and while on ghe whole the hotel was adequate the reception and communal areas seemd tired and in need of some attention. My room was very comfortable and clean the bed was very comfortable . There were still issues with it the bath tap was faulty and could only work via ghe shower and the windows seemed draughty. The breakfast was adequate but nothing special and i wasn't impressed with most of the cold selection still had cling film covering including all fruit juice , fresh fruit and milk suggesting it wasn't exactly fresh. All in all it could be improved and as such slightly over priced