Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as good

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Great setting
Cons: Needs a bit of TLC
This was our second visit to Hawk and Buckle and I don't think it was a good. It's looking a bit tired and attention to detail isn't good the jacuzzi bath in our room didn't work, the seal around the bath needs re doing as it black u dee Seth the toilet there was rust marks which could easily be removed by been given a proper clean. There is no lock on one of the doors in ladies toilet. Although these didn't affect our stay it just little attention to details that are letting it down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rotherham yorkshire

Nice inn

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Enjoyed this inn very relaxing place to stay, lovely breakfast ample parking at the rear just be careful on the roads as its in a remote area in the countryside, for a relaxing getaway its perfect.
5 out of 5
by Michael

welcoming and clean

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
accommodation very comfortable and clean, excellent hospitality from the staff. very scenic and peaceful location but not too distant from all necessary amenities
5 out of 5
by Angela

Great country retreat

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly family owned Pub and nice clean accommodation. The Pub had a wood burning stove and food served. The owner made me feel very welcome and always addressed me by my first name, which made me feel not just a number.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, welcoming hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel - warm, welcoming, comfortable and clean. Delicious food (products are supplied from local farms) - and the chips are to die for! Siwan went out of her way to make our stay happy (thank you!). We're hoping to go back again in Summer so that we can sit outside on the terrace. A really friendly place - no wonder it's so popular with the local people...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Terrible. Dodgy food and who serves breakfast from 9am during the week? Pokey room, scruffy building, vague service. Avoid
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Single night stay while cycling

Posted Oct 12, 2016 on Hotels
Booked in advance for one night whilst on a mini cycling tour. Really enjoyed the stay. Could not have felt more welcome. Room and facilities were excellent as were the evening meal and breakfast. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Friendly and very comfortable.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Very quiet location and all of the above.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Wonderful view from the gardens. Lovely location if you enjoy walking in the countryside.
Food was lovely, we had dinner and breakfast. Room was very spacious, comfortable and clean. Staff were welcoming and friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing 2 day break

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Great inn great staff an owners room comfortable shame jacuzzi didn't work though food delicious steak an ale pie mmmmmmmm