Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quaint and authentic feeling of old time inn.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Felt very welcomed and owner Sue is very personable and attentive lady. Our stay was most enjoyable and food was fresh and well presented. Will definitely visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sudbury

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Location: A little off the beaten track but about 3/4 hour to Llandudno and several National Trust properties
Excellent accomodation, plenty of hot water and heating and a good menu. The owner was very helpful, and despite being a public house the bedrooms were very quiet with far reaching views. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Lovely warm welcome good food

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Arrived late at 8pm and was greeted with a beer and some lovely home cooked food. Place was lovely
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not as good

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Great setting
Cons: Needs a bit of TLC
This was our second visit to Hawk and Buckle and I don't think it was a good. It's looking a bit tired and attention to detail isn't good the jacuzzi bath in our room didn't work, the seal around the bath needs re doing as it black u dee Seth the toilet there was rust marks which could easily be removed by been given a proper clean. There is no lock on one of the doors in ladies toilet. Although these didn't affect our stay it just little attention to details that are letting it down.
5 out of 5
by Joan

A great find, will defiantly be back.

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
On a visit to family in the area, very good choice, overall an excellent stop, could not have made a better choice. The room was spacious and clean and comfortable, the bed was one of the best we have experienced, pillows were comfortable, a little difficult to find initially but that was down to the sat nav. Great landlady, very friendly and very helpful and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rotherham yorkshire

Nice inn

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Enjoyed this inn very relaxing place to stay, lovely breakfast ample parking at the rear just be careful on the roads as its in a remote area in the countryside, for a relaxing getaway its perfect.
5 out of 5
by Michael

welcoming and clean

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
accommodation very comfortable and clean, excellent hospitality from the staff. very scenic and peaceful location but not too distant from all necessary amenities
5 out of 5
by Angela

Great country retreat

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very friendly family owned Pub and nice clean accommodation. The Pub had a wood burning stove and food served. The owner made me feel very welcome and always addressed me by my first name, which made me feel not just a number.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, welcoming hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel - warm, welcoming, comfortable and clean. Delicious food (products are supplied from local farms) - and the chips are to die for! Siwan went out of her way to make our stay happy (thank you!). We're hoping to go back again in Summer so that we can sit outside on the terrace. A really friendly place - no wonder it's so popular with the local people...