Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Location. Good complimentary breakfast facilities. Nice pool...appeared well maintained. Nice facility for people with kids.
Cons: Provide extra blankets. Address thermostatic control system problem.
Location: Good restaurents near by.
Staff was very pleasent and accommodating. Room temperature was uncomfortably cool and unresponsive to thermostat adjustment, inspite of intervention by a member of the cleaning staff . No extra blankets or quilts.
4 out of 5
by Margery

Reliable

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at The Black Horse Lodge a few times. It is nothing to write home about, but cheap and comfortable. The rooms are old and look it, but they are clean. If you are just looking for some place to sleep and nothing extra this is the right place for the right price.
4 out of 5
by Stacey

Super basic motel. Needs some love yet safe.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
We stay here fairly often, it's okay for what it is... a circa 1950´s former Howard Johnson's motel. The decor is really dated and everything needs a degree of maintenance and love. That being said, the staff is nice and it's a safe place to stay. The non-smoking rooms smell like old cigarettes. I usually bring a candle or febreeze if we stay here. The restaurant on the property was outstanding, but it's now out of business which is a bummer. Would stay there again, I just know what to expect.
4 out of 5
by Steven

Clean friendly Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
My stay at the Black Horse was peaceful and relaxing! Clean rooms good location!
5 out of 5
by Shannon

Hotel of choice when in PA

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
This is the 2nd thanksgiving I stayed at this hotel. Perfect for pets owners. Field for walking dogs right across from front door. Back door has a covered patio that opens to a field to let pets out in case it's raining. Hotel is older but clean, convenient to everything, and staff has always been friendly. Will be staying here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: Green dragon farmers market only 4 miles away. Tons of antique shops in 5 mile radius. The diner within walking distance is very good!!
The room was surprisingly comfortable for an older motel! They had switched over to heat so a/c wasn't available! There was a window above door to open for veneration and a door in front and back that provided a great breeze. Nice property, buildings need some TLC. Staff were great. No extra charge for our small dog which was great!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not good!

Posted Oct 17, 2016
I was not at all impressed with this hotel. We killed stink bugs which were all over the curtains, my husband stepped on a fake nail in the carpet that didn't belong to us and even though we booked ahead and told them there was 4 of us,there was not enough towels. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and the mini fridge froze everything. We will not stay here again. Next year we will book somewhere else.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel especially if you are in the area

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great area for antiquing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms look like they were furnished in the early 80's and not updated since then other than a flat screen TV. Lots of scratched woodwork and some fraying fabrics. Pillows flat and hard - like they had been slept on too many times. Phone broken and when I reported it is was not fixed. Room smelled musty. Sheet came off mattress during night and maid did not even fix it. Bed barely made by maid and fresh cups not left. Said breakfast was included in price- 4 bagels, OJ, vanilla yogurt and only caffeinated coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Started out as a reasonable room but with all the taxes and fees the total was more than the room was worth.