Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy access to C470

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: The hotel is close to the highway and Red Rocks. Everything was clean and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The fitness center and indoor pool were disappointing. Not very much equipment and not good quality. An outdoor pool would be great.
Location: Red Rocks and downtown Morrison. I would get some Menus for the Aura Spa next door and restaurants nearby/
We enjoyed a week here.The room was very clean and thankfully did not have the nasty bedspreads that some hotels continue to use. Breakfast was decent and there was plenty for everyone. I never felt rushed. The atmosphere was calm and quite.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for the positive comments you have generously made on our behalf. We are extremely happy that your stay with us was a pleasant experience and we look forward to accommodating your needs in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, IL

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Like Holiday Inns Express
Location: Wish we would have had more time to check things out in Littleton. We traveled to other places that we wanted to see and did not get enough time to s
Everyone at the hotel was great! Expedia had the king sweet listed as 2 bedroom so we were disappointed when it was not a two bedroom. The manager and workers at the desk were very understanding and worked to make things right. The hotel was nice and breakfast was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with other travelers. We are glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Poor internet connection

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: The location was great for my purposes and it was clean, but the cleaning lady skipped me one day! My family and I enjoyed the pool each afternoon.
Cons: Internet
Location: It was fine for my purposes - a family visit.
I really enjoyed the hotel but I could never get logged on to the internet. After putting in the password, the login page just recycled. I could see the Wi fi connection on my devise, but then the error message said the hotel wasn't connected to the internet. When I asked at the front desk, the clerk told me to try different corners of my room! I never got it to connect and I was there four nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We would like to apologize for any issues you have encountered with the internet during your stay. We always strive for excellence, and I am very disappointed you did not get that experience. I hope next time you are in our area you will give us another chance to provide you with our top not service and amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location at the gateway to CO RT 285

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location and upgraded rooms
Cons: All Good\!
Location: Foothills location, near RT 285 / easy access to Denver and outdoor Rocky Mountain activities.
Carol at the front desk is simple the best! Always helpful and welcoming.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
We greatly appreciate your generous comments and we thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences with other travelers. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was average

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Hotel was ok, rooms seem to be clean , free wifi, indoor pool was really small, good location for what we were doing. Breakfast was terrible , stayed two nights nobody cleaned room in between. But it wasn't a bad hotel just nothing special.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very sorry your stay was anything less than exceptional; we will work hard to address the issues you experienced.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 26, 2016 on Orbitz
The mattress was in need of replacement. The complementary breakfast was subpar. The staff was helpful in allowing me to check in early
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We would like to apologize for any issues you have encountered during your stay. We always strive for excellence, and I am very disappointed you did not get that experience. I hope next time you are in our area you will give us another chance to provide you with our top not service and amenities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Nice hotel in a good area

Posted May 24, 2016
Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast also. It was conveniently located for us to attend our grandson's graduation.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves on our amenities and service and truly believe you will not find a better and more conveniently located hotel in the Littleton area. We look forward to serving you again in the future
5 out of 5
by Shawn

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by J Baca, Hotel Management
Thank you for the amazing 5 stars, we appreciate it. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from West Jordan UT

Yes!

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable clean room with good breakfast. Courteous staff. I would stay here again even though it was far away from my appointments. I was ready for a nice hotel room to relax in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves on our amenities and service and truly believe you will not find a better and more conveniently located hotel in the Littleton area. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Hot Water

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The manager gave me a great room rate for an extra night. Now that is service.
There was no hot water for a shower. I called the desk and the clerk said that is correct no hot water, just keep running the water and maybe it will get warm. This is totally unacceptable for a hotel. All you would like from a hotel is a good bed and a hot shower. Is this asking too much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2016 by J Baca, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We would like to apologize for any issues you may have encountered. We always strive for excellence, and I am very disappointed you did not get that experience. I hope next time you are in our area you will give us another chance to provide you with our top not service and amenities.