Ratings based on 3,745 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great boutique hotel in the heart of dntn Denver

Posted Apr 20, 2017
A great alternative to the more corporate style hotels. Boutique with friendly staff and nice suites at a great price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Very comfortable and clean. Modern upgrades in the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from F. Palm Beach Gardens, Fl

Nice yet Incompetant Staff! Noisy Landmark Venue!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
When making our reservation at the Magnolia, we specifically requested a very quiet room. Upon arrival we were given a quiet room with no refrigerator. At that time we called the front desk who offered us an upgrade for a higher room rate. We accepted & were moved to a room that was facing Stout St. Being on a higher floor and tired from traveling all day, we decided to give it a try. Huge Mistake. Before we even went to sleep, we heard everything from trains, trolleys & fire engines. We called down to the front desk & requested a transfer for the next day. After attempting to sleep with ear plugs, the next evening we were again moved to a "quiet" room. Tired from being out all day, although hearing a loud fan & some street noise, we attempted to go to sleep. When we awoke in the morning and opened the shades, we had been relocated to room 642 which is located at the top ramp of a multi level parking garage, which also housed large commercial Air conditioning equipment for the hotel. My husband and I could not believe that after everything, this is the room that the staff would assign us. The funniest part of the story is that we found a bottle of champagne & a nice card from the front desk staff. Unfortunately when you can't get any sleep at a hotel, not much else matters. We recommend that when in Denver, you book a newer venue with windows that seal tight, no landmark buildings. The Renaissance is one of the better hotels & it is just on the next block.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pineville, LA

Nice hotel convenient to conference centers

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The Magnolia Hotel was quite nice. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. There was no mini-fridge in the room, which was a little inconvenient, but manageable. If you are allergic to down, be sure and request no down; I didn't know to. All in all though, a great choice. The staff was very polite and willing to be of assistance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Solid hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Staff. The team working in Harry's is especially nice.
Cons: More extensive dining choices.
Location: Good location for downtown business but that end of 16th Street looks pretty dead. All the nice retail, etc... is in the Union Square area.
Hotel has been redone. Big rooms. Good condition. Very nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Close to 16th St. Mall

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Great location to walk to shops and restaurants, and close to I-70. Shower flooded the bathroom, but engineering quickly came up and fixed the problem. Miss the cookies and milk. Either I missed the breakfast or they don't have it anymore- not really sure. Front desk and valet staff super friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Steven H. , Hotel Management
Dear S, Thank you for the positive feedback. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our location. I'm sorry about the issue you had with the bathroom, but it's good to hear that our engineering team was quick to respond. Unfortunately, we do not serve complimentary breakfast but Harry's serves an a la carte menu which I highly suggest. If there is anything I can do please don't hesitate to ask. Thanks,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Beautiful hotel nestled in the best part of Denver

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Any time we need a vacation this is our go to hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Heidi, Hotel Management
Thank you Jess, for taking the time to post a review! You made our day and we look forward to having you back! Warm Regards, Heidi
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Wish we did more research

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Well, we initially chose magnolia because of its ratings and location to downtown Denver. Also, because Expedia listed it as a four star. However we wish we would have stayed elsewhere. I'll start off with some positives, the location of the hotel is near 16th street and very close to all those downtown activities. The room itself is pretty spacious as well. The staff is for the most part friendly, there were times when coming in and out of the hotel they would hold the door open for you but other times they would watch you open the door and not greet you. No big deal, but then we'd sit in the lobby for a few moments and see people in business suits walk in while the employees would quickly open the door and greet them with a smile. Perhaps they stay there more often and are entitled to better service? I don't know, but I felt spending a week would give us consistent results like those on business. Now a few minuses.... The bathroom lacked a vent fan. So all noises are easily heard through the walls. In the shower they have a spot that runs the length of the tub with lighting. That area was pretty caked up with dirt and dust, which was pretty gross. They do not have free breakfast. When we were looking at places to stay we planned on finding a place with free breakfast, they apparently did away with it a couple months ago and now offer free milk and cookies between eight and ten pm. The cookies are decent but breakfast would have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Heidi, Hotel Management
Dear Cotraveler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and my apologies that your stay did not meet your expectations. We have changed our amenity program to include spa products in the bathrooms, an enhanced cookies and milk program and night, and have added the Starwood Preferred Guest loyalty program. Our changes were based on guest feedback about what was most valuable to the majority of our guests. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location, and the friendly staff. We will address the lack of greeting at the door that occurred several times, and the light fixture issue immediately. All of the bathrooms have a continuously run vent that is usually very quiet, and often overlooked. Our goal is to ensure you were satisfied with your stay, please do reach out to me directly if there is anything else that I can do to assist you. Warm Regards, Heidi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay area

Fine older hotel walking dist to Colorado Conv Ctr

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The Magnolia is a renovated older hotel close to the wonderful 16th Street pedestrian mall, several restaurants, and easy walking distance to the Colorado Convention Center. Very nice new bathrooms. Good staff, modest lobby, priced right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Heidi, Hotel Management
Thank you David! Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your business!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Denver, we have a problem.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Nice boutique-y hotel, though our heater/AC unit sounded like it was attempting to launch the room into low earth orbit. Extremely loud! Hard to relax and we slept poorly each night as a result.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Heidi, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the loud heating/ cooling unit and this is certainly not up to our normal high standards. We will be sharing your feedback with our maintenance team to insure the unit is inspected and repaired. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope that we will be able welcome you back. Warm Regards, Heidi